Pokemon Black 2 crashes

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by R4Liam, Feb 21, 2013.

Feb 21, 2013

Pokemon Black 2 crashes by R4Liam at 10:15 AM (1,602 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't know whether to post this here or in DSTWO section.

    Basically I was grinding my sandshrew so it would be strong enough to help me beat the electric gym and the it evolved and everything but then the game freaking crashed. This is the second time now as well. I am playing this on my DSTWO and it keeps crashing. I s there some kind of fix for this?
     
  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    you must be using a patched rom then

    make sure your rom is Clean
     
  3. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure it is clean and surely a patched rom would be there to fix the errors? :/
     
  4. porkiewpyne

    Member porkiewpyne Report-er

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,941
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't rmbr the exact details but the DSTWO itself APfixes the file so an external patch will mess with that, hence the crash. Or something along those lines.

    But in response to your question, maybe it's some contact issue or microSD problem? I dunno tbh. You've said that it happened twice. Have you noticed any patterns ie doing a certain action or after X amount of time?
     
  5. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well one time was when I accessed the real time feature i.e. the menu with quick save etc. then the second time was in a random wild battle. Anyway I'll try a different rom I hope it's clean.
     
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    definitely sounds like a patched rom
    which you should not use with a DSTwo

    due to the only release until recently was a P2P rom i would try to find one of the following
    Pokemon_White_Version_2_NDS-frieNDS
    Pokemon_Black_Version_2_NDS-frieNDS
    there the first complete dumps of the roms to appear
    all other dumps are missing data
     
  7. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I thought patched roms work fine if you tell it to run in clean mode
    no?
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    you should never use patched roms on a DSTwo as it fixes AP automatically
    if you use a patched rom it has been modifyied to work on a Flashcard
    Clean mode is trying to make it run as if it was a legit card, not a flashcard
     
  9. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    When I was using a clean rom of W2 it would crash at PWT, but I hex edited it and it works now.
    Is hex editing different from patching?
     
  10. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    the PWT freeze was fixed in an EOS update a while back
    if your hex editing theres your problem
     
  11. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I was getting the freeze before hex editing. It's fine now.
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    yes but if you update the EOS files on your DSTwo you will not longer get the freeze
     

Share This Page