Hacking Please read ASAP, Re-hacking wii From the complete start.

DaPumpkinGR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
46
Country
Greece
So hello there! thanks for reading my post.
So i need help rehacking my wii from where it all started, but i dont have a backup from so much time back. I Know, i should have one, but it was so many years ago and the nand backup was accidentally deleted. My brother wanted to redo everything from the start to clean it up, and now he is on vacation and he really is tired the last month because not many things have been going well for him, so i want to fix the wii to play with him and make him happy. I Have experience with homebrewing wii. If you want for me to post syschecks and other stuff, please let me know. I Just want to get this done and i know that this is THE place which is going to help me.

EDIT:And if that is not possible to make the wii from 0, at least i want to see how to be in the place where i had only hbc and BootMii. Thanks :D

Thanks,
Angel The Pumpkin
 
Last edited by DaPumpkinGR,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,373
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,076
Country
Norway
So hello there! thanks for reading my post.
So i need help rehacking my wii from where it all started, but i dont have a backup from so much time back. I Know, i should have one, but it was so many years ago and the nand backup was accidentally deleted. My brother wanted to redo everything from the start to clean it up, and now he is on vacation and he really is tired the last month because not many things have been going well for him, so i want to fix the wii to play with him and make him happy. I Have experience with homebrewing wii. If you want for me to post syschecks and other stuff, please let me know. I Just want to get this done and i know that this is THE place which is going to help me.

EDIT:And if that is not possible to make the wii from 0, at least i want to see how to be in the place where i had only hbc and BootMii. Thanks :D

Thanks,
Angel The Pumpkin
Just start from the beginning with ModMii, you don't need to wipe anything beforehand.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DaPumpkinGR

DaPumpkinGR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
46
Country
Greece
Just start from the beginning with ModMii, you don't need to wipe anything beforehand.
Ill go read about modmii, Im going to ask questions here, Thanks! :D

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Just start from the beginning with ModMii, you don't need to wipe anything beforehand.
Soo uuhh because i dont wanna brick anything, can you post me instructions?
 

KJ1

Old Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Messages
1,060
Trophies
0
XP
1,966
Country
India

tswntk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
1,009
Trophies
1
XP
1,976
Country
Switzerland
Is your Wii still working?
If yes, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"
If no, what is the problem? A syscheck log is always useful.

You can format your Wii to factory settings and then rehack but you risk bricking it - mishaps, followed wrong guides or not following guides to the word etc...
 

DaPumpkinGR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
46
Country
Greece
first KJ1, please help, i mean that i dont want to update because ModMii says to UPDATE, not RE-HACK.

Second Of all, the thing is that me and my bro think that something from the homebrew stuff is making problems with our disc drive in the wii, so i want to clean things up and install only needed stuff, because trust me, there is some messy stuff in there. THATS why i wanna cleanup. Sorry For sounding a little bit aggresive its just that i want to do this fast before my bro returns.
 

tswntk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
1,009
Trophies
1
XP
1,976
Country
Switzerland
update or re-hack overwrites old softmod. There is no apps to "clean up" your Wii.
You may try to determine and delete whatever you think that messed your Wii up but one wrong move and you got a brick.
Format your Wii from Wii settings menu is a bit safer than that but don't say I didn't warn you.

Your best bet is to state your problem in detail and see if anyone can help you to fix it. And there is nothing wrong to update your softmod if it is outdated.
 

KJ1

Old Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Messages
1,060
Trophies
0
XP
1,966
Country
India
first KJ1, please help, i mean that i dont want to update because ModMii says to UPDATE, not RE-HACK.

Second Of all, the thing is that me and my bro think that something from the homebrew stuff is making problems with our disc drive in the wii, so i want to clean things up and install only needed stuff, because trust me, there is some messy stuff in there. THATS why i wanna cleanup. Sorry For sounding a little bit aggresive its just that i want to do this fast before my bro returns.
Well, if you want to clean up your wii, that is, delete all the hacks, then just format your wii from the system settings. It will delete all the channels including homebrew channel, etc. It might be risky, but, do that. And, then follow a guide to hack your Wii. Also, what does Modmii say exactly? Does it say something like "Update your Wii to latest firmware" or something else? In my opinion, you should just follow this guide:- http://gbatemp.net/threads/beginner...g-wiiware-vc-vackups-gamecube-backups.400975/ It is very well written plus, it won't need an update iirc..

Also, just in case what is the firmware of your Wii?
 

DaPumpkinGR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
46
Country
Greece
the problem is that i think something from the softmod is breaking our disc drive, because as time goes, even more games are unplayable from the disc-drive.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,723
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,466
Country
France
if it's "as time goes", it looks more like a lens issue to me. lens, or hardware issue with the disc drive maybe, or disc getting scratched, etc.
a softmod doesn't affect compatibility with time.

You said you were ready to post a syscheck if asked.
That will help to see what you currently have, and from here we can advise what to do. No need to "re-hack" from scratch, as usually a re-hack is only one file replaced manually to get the same result!
 

tswntk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
1,009
Trophies
1
XP
1,976
Country
Switzerland
lasers are subject to wear and tear. The more you use it, the faster it will be weaken. You may try re-calibrating the laser but that will only lengthen its life a little bit. "Modern" lasers are even built not to last if you know what I mean.

If you have softmod your Wii, why not use a USB or SD to play backups?

Part of the reason for softmod is for the convenience of using a mass storage device and another is to avoid problems like wear and tear of the disk drive.

Trying to "fix" your softmod while the real problem is your hardware will lead you to nowhere and even brick your Wii to an ir-repairable state.
 

DaPumpkinGR

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
46
Country
Greece
okay, ill post a syscheck, but please tell me any other problems you find in it except the disc drive thing, because i want to fix ALL the problems, and have a nice clean softmodded wii. Also, in some discs (most of them) which are bought, and original, (not burned on a cd) it reads them, and when i try to start the game from the disc channel, it gives me a somewhat-wii bluescreen, saying ERROR #002 Please press the eject button to eject the disc, and then press the power button to turn of the console. Refer to the wii operation manual for more information. Since it reads the disc but doesn't start it, i think it is a softmod doing something, but maybe not because i can boot those discs when i have them inserted in the disc drive through Configurable USB Loader. On-to SysCheck!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: