Tutorial  Updated

Play .NSP Games for higher Firmware on lower Firmware (ReiNX, Hactool,Tinfoil + extracted NSP)

Hello there! I just found a way to play .NSP games for higher firmwares on my 4.1.0 Switch.

THIS ALSO WORKS WITH ATMOSPHERE /w sigpatches



These methods seem to be obsolete, since the newest Tinfoil builds ignore the "minimum required firmware"-info in the xml-files of any NSP. Just Install any game/update/DLC with the newest Tinfoil and it should just work out of the box! (If the keygeneration limitation is still met!)


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

KEEP IN MIND:
1. only basegames and updates can be installed with newest tinfoil! DLC don't work, yet! But update patching doesn't work with my method (yet?)
2. Not every game can be used with every Switch Firmware! Read the red text at the end of this post for more Information!


I tested this method with Pokemon Quest and Captain Toad, both start after editing the games.

NEW Method for playing games with lower Firmware:

1. Open NSP with Hexeditor e.g. HxD (https://mh-nexus.de/en/programs.php)
2. search for "RequiredSystemVersion" in the file
3. change <RequiredSystemVersion>335675392</RequiredSystemVersion> to all zeroes like that <RequiredSystemVersion>000000000</RequiredSystemVersion>
3.1 Count the digits again! dont forget any of them!
4. save file and install nsp!

That means no extracting anymore! Installable with e.g. Devmenu, too!

Sadly this method doesn't work for game patches/updates: they still force you to update!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Old Method for playing games with lower Firmware:
You need to do the following:
1. extract the .NSP file with hactool in a cmd window:
"/path/to/hactool.exe" -tpfs0 --pfs0dir=GameFolder "/path/to/YourGame.nsp"

keep in mind to change the path and name of hactool.exe and YourGame.nsp according to your setup!

2. edit the ....cnmt.xml file in the extracted folder with wordpad:
change e.g <RequiredSystemVersion>335675392</RequiredSystemVersion> to <RequiredSystemVersion>0</RequiredSystemVersion>

protip: the string is almost at the bottom of the xml file!

3. copy the folder of the game with all the nca, etc. files to
SD:/tinfoil/extracted/GameFolder/....

4. Boot ReiNX and install extracted NSP with tinfoil

5. ????

6. Profit!



___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

If you plan on doing this often, prepare a batchfile:

1. make a new whatever.txt file
2. edit and put in the following command (but according to your setup):

"/path/to/hactool.exe" -tpfs0 --pfs0dir=GameFolder "%1"
pause

3. save the file and rename the fileextension to .cmd.
4. you can now drag/drop any .nsp file on this .cmd file and you will get your game extracted into GameFolder.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


PLEASE HELP ME:

It seems that only some games run on lower firmwares through this method, since the game encryption etc. has changed over time!
The "Keygeneration" in the XML file should tell us which FW is at least needed to play a game!

Keygeneration 0=at least FW ??? needed?, e.g. VOEZ, Mario+Rabbids
Keygeneration 1=at least FW ??? needed?
Keygeneration 2=at least FW ??? needed?
Keygeneration 3=at least FW ??? needed?, e.g. Super Mario Odyssey
Keygeneration 4=at least FW 4.1.0 needed?, e.g. Captain Toad, Pokemon Quest, Octopath Traveler, Limbo, Lego Incredibles, Hello Neighbor
Keygeneration 5=at least FW 5.0.0< needed! e.g. Nekopara Thanks @puppydg68

I need help testing those games on low firmwares! Please tell me on which firmware you are on and what games work/don't work.

If I get enough data (game name+firmware of your switch+key generation of the game) I'll compile a list of compatible games!

When you try to install a game with higher key generation than your FW is capable of the game will install fine with tinfoil (no Error)! But in the home menu you will only have a grey box with a loading circle in it!
We have currently no way to play those games!
___________________________________________________________________________


Get the newest Tinfoil by Adubbz here: Click!
Added old Tinfoil build. Works for me but no updates allowed!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________



UPDATE: Keyfile not mentioned anymore, since it doesn't seem to be needed for .nsp extraction! Thanks @Wizard0f0z for accidentally finding that out!
UPDATE2: Keygeneration in cnmt.xml should be an indicator which fw you at least need for the game to be played
UPDATE3: Newest Keygeneration (5) added. Those games seem to work only on 5.0.0+.
UPDATE4: Error when installing higher key generation game added.
UPDATE5: easier method added!
UPDATE6: Added Tinfoil files! @Adubbz I hope it's okay?
UPDATE7: greyed everything out (methods are obsolete as of Aug. 5th), since Tinfoil ignores the min. Fw. requirement!
 

Attachments

  • Tinfoil works for me but old.rar
    96.2 KB · Views: 871
Last edited by Zocker4444,

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
Okay, I'll try to help you.
You have to change the filenames and paths to your specific case. what name does your keyfile have?


change this:

hactool.exe -k keyfile.file -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder game.nsp

to:

"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe" -k "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\keyfile.file" -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder "pathtoyour game/gamename.nsp"

or in this case:
"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe" -k "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\keyfile.file" -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\_NSPOUT\OCTOPATH TRAVELER [010057d006492000][v0].nsp"

but you still have to change the bold parts according to your filenames and paths!



and like ramoth said, please use cmd!
 
Last edited by Zocker4444,
  • Like
Reactions: Wizard0f0z

Ghassen-ga

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
794
Trophies
0
XP
2,030
Country
Okay, I'll try to help you.
You have to change the filenames and paths to your specific case. what name does your keyfile have?


change this:

hactool.exe -k keyfile.file -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder game.nsp

to:

"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe" -k "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\keyfile.file" -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder "pathtoyour game/gamename.nsp"

or in this case:
"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe" -k "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\keyfile.file" -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\_NSPOUT\OCTOPATH TRAVELER [010057d006492000][v0].nsp"

but you still have to change the bold parts according to your filenames and paths!



and like ramoth said, please use cmd!

Just add some screenshots and create an easy to follow tutorial please ?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zocker4444

Wizard0f0z

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2018
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
63
Country
Canada
The simple answer is don't use Powershell, it's not as simple to run cli programs with.

Use CMD instead
thanks for the fast answer!
trying on that now aside.
about the keyfile.file wich i don't see anywhere, only thing i got similar as i know would be the titlekeys.txt
should i create a text with it and rename it?
or is there anything i miss again?

:unsure::wacko:
thanks in advance!
hope you enjoy helping! :rofl2:
 
Last edited by Wizard0f0z,

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
Just add some screenshots and create an easy to follow tutorial please ?

I'll look into that later :)


thanks for the fast answer!
trying on that now aside.
about the keyfile.file wich i don't see anywhere, only thing i got similar as i know would be the titlekeys.txt

should i create a text with it and rename it?
or is there anything i miss again?

:unsure::wacko:
thanks in advance!
hope you enjoy helping! :rofl2:

It seems you missed something there. And please delete the picture, I'm quite sure it's not good to post it here.

Back on topic: you might already have a file in your folder. Maybe its called keys.ini or Keys.txt or whatever. Or you have to find this file somewhere else :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wizard0f0z

Wizard0f0z

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2018
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
63
Country
Canada
Okay, I'll try to help you.
You have to change the filenames and paths to your specific case. what name does your keyfile have?


change this:

hactool.exe -k keyfile.file -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder game.nsp

to:

"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe" -k "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\keyfile.file" -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder "pathtoyour game/gamename.nsp"

or in this case:
"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe" -k "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\keyfile.file" -t pfs0 --pfs0dir=gamefolder "C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\_NSPOUT\OCTOPATH TRAVELER [010057d006492000][v0].nsp"

but you still have to change the bold parts according to your filenames and paths!



and like ramoth said, please use cmd!

ok! well can't thank you enough for you help
and also thank to ramoth, sure did use cmd from now but here's my up-to-date issue(again)
Capture d’écran (9).png

would be a real less pain in the ass if the hactool.exe would just pop a simple files browser instead:glare:

anyway still appreciate all the effort from community
for helping peoples like me! :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zocker4444

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
ok! well can't thank you enough for you help
and also thank to ramoth, sure did use cmd from now but here's my up-to-date issue(again)
View attachment 137432
would be a real less pain in the ass if the hactool.exe would just pop a simple files browser instead:glare:

anyway still appreciate all the effort from community
for helping peoples like me! :D


please put all the paths in "quotation marks" or else they won't work if they have space in them.
Like this:
"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe"

mind the " "!
 
Last edited by Zocker4444,
  • Like
Reactions: Wizard0f0z

Wizard0f0z

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 28, 2018
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
63
Country
Canada
please put all the paths in "quotation marks" or else they won't work if they have space in them.
Like this:
"C:\Users\YourUserName\Desktop\Pack CDNSP\CDNSP-GUI-Bob-v3.5.3\hactool.exe"

mind the " "!
i just love you now:bow:!
ok! so, it seems that it worked.
Capture d’écran (11).png

only things maybe you can tell if it matters or should i do it again,
just after i did it on cmd, i saw that keys.txt file you where talking.

now should i do it again only changing the \keyfile.file" for \keys.txt"
and if so, do i need to go and delete something before redo it?

man! this is awesome, i'm so close!!! :yay::yayswitch:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zocker4444

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
i just love you now:bow:!
ok! so, it seems that it worked.
View attachment 137434
only things maybe you can tell if it matters or should i do it again,
just after i did it on cmd, i saw that keys.txt file you where talking.

now should i do it again only changing the \keyfile.file" for \keys.txt"
and if so, do i need to go and delete something before redo it?

man! this is awesome, i'm so close!!! :yay::yayswitch:


This looks good, keep it that way. maybe you don't need a keyfile at all :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wizard0f0z

raphamotta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
685
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,231
Country
I need to pack the nsp again to install the update game with devmenu, since the update requires higher firmware. Anyone knows how to do it?
 

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
i'll give it a try, well maybe if it work, would be worth to try reduce a little the cmd line..!?
thanks again Zock..

You're the man!
:hrth:
i'll let you know if i manage to play it!


Thank you! I updated my OP!!!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I need to pack the nsp again to install the update game with devmenu, since the update requires higher firmware. Anyone knows how to do it?

There are programs that can do that, but AFAIK the built .NSPs won't install.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
12,212
Trophies
2
XP
34,157
Country
Mexico
Oh damn!
Can this be done to bring any higher fw game to play in something ike a 3.0.0 fw?
Or does it have certain restrictions?
I'm interested in trying Odyssey, Doom and Crash, but I'm on 3.0 unfortunately.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zocker4444

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
Oh damn!
Can this be done to bring any higher fw game to play in something ike a 3.0.0 fw?
Or does it have certain restrictions?
I'm interested in trying Odyssey, Doom and Crash, but I'm on 3.0 unfortunately.


I assume that this indeed does have some restrictions, since new masterkeys were added to later firmwares. AFAIK 3.0.0 FW doesn't have all the Masterkeys and thus most new games probably won't work (since they can't be decrypted by your switch) - But we need someone to test this Assumption.
 
  • Like
Reactions: loler55

loler55

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
1,045
Trophies
1
XP
1,911
Country
Gambia, The
I assume that this indeed does have some restrictions, since new masterkeys were added to later firmwares. AFAIK 3.0.0 FW doesn't have all the Masterkeys and thus most new games probably won't work (since they can't be decrypted by your switch) - But we need someone to test this Assumption.
i hope i get the xecuter Os today then i will try some games on 3.01
in the future it gives emunand and we no need this anymore
but a few games more to play in the meantime is better as nothing
 
Last edited by loler55,
  • Like
Reactions: Zocker4444

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
12,212
Trophies
2
XP
34,157
Country
Mexico
I assume that this indeed does have some restrictions, since new masterkeys were added to later firmwares. AFAIK 3.0.0 FW doesn't have all the Masterkeys and thus most new games probably won't work (since they can't be decrypted by your switch) - But we need someone to test this Assumption.
Maybe extracting the newer games with their respective masterkey, and once making the modification encrypting them witn 3.0.0 masterkey?
Dunno, I might be spouting shit and all lol
 

Garou

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
1,213
Trophies
0
XP
1,667
Country
theoretically yes! but...

the repacked packages won't install, since they are not well made.
and AFAIK Tinfoil will only install extracted base games (no Updates or DLC)
actually I'm using SX OS to install nsp ^_^
too bad then. was installing bunch of updates and apparently those don't work on 4.1.0
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zocker4444

Zocker4444

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2013
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
220
Country
Germany
actually I'm using SX OS to install nsp ^_^
too bad then. was installing bunch of updates and apparently those don't work on 4.1.0

Does the SX OS installer also install extracted NSP games or only packed NSP files? And does it install Updates and DLC, too? I'm just curious
 
Last edited by Zocker4444,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Lmao that sold out fast