Homebrew RELEASE pFBA: final burn alpha

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
372
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,312
Country
United States
okay so i got a neogeo.zip, got a unibios 3.2, renamed it to asia-s3.rom, replaced the old one in the zip. now it will load, but only to a 'cross hatch test.' any idea what i'm missing?
 

DrNeroCF

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
97
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
388
Country
United States
okay so i got a neogeo.zip, got a unibios 3.2, renamed it to asia-s3.rom, replaced the old one in the zip. now it will load, but only to a 'cross hatch test.' any idea what i'm missing?

What's the rom filename, I'll check...
 

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
372
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,312
Country
United States
king of fighters '95 "kof95.zip"

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

maybe a bad rom, since all the good sites don't carry 'em anymore
 

enderer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
372
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,312
Country
United States
tried 3 different neogeo.zip files, 3 different neogeo roms, tried removing and reinstalling pfba all have same result of a 'cross hatch test' a white grid, like when an arcade game is booting but the screen never changes
 

cpasjuste

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
1,103
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,206
Country
France
tried 3 different neogeo.zip files, 3 different neogeo roms, tried removing and reinstalling pfba all have same result of a 'cross hatch test' a white grid, like when an arcade game is booting but the screen never changes
You do not have the correct romset for sure. You don't have to zip/rename anything, the "good" neogeo.zip set does have the unibos already.
 

DrNeroCF

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
97
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
388
Country
United States
Yeah I don't know, I just tested it in pFBA and RetroArch, works fine with only the neogeo.zip file. Safest bet is to grab both from a full romset.
 

jacopastorius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2018
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
296
Country
Italy
I put the PFBA folder in the switch folder. Inside PFBA i have rom folder. Do i need to put neogeo.zip into the rom folder in order to play neogeo roms?

EDIT: i got it work, yes, neogeo.zip has to be in roms folder.

Is there a way to close the game whyle playing other than pressing home button?
 
Last edited by jacopastorius,

notimp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
5,782
Trophies
1
XP
4,392
Country
Laos
You could get the answer to this question by reading the first page of this thread. (Thats a yes. ;) )
--

Also I'm always fascinated, by people who recount folder structures like they are gospel. Thats something people learned on android smartphones probably... Because nowadays we live in a world where "specific folders" all of a sudden sometimes matter - which is stragely odd.. ;)

With hbmenu you can put nros into the switch folder, but also in subfolders within the switch folder, for example. No difference. With most emulators, you can put roms wherever, but some have dedicated rom folders usually to make it "easier" for people to get their roms displayed, once they've found out that the emulator comes with a folder named roms.

The thing that matters here is, that yes pfba looks for the bios files (to be ziped and named neogeo.zip) in the roms folder.

But that doesnt mean for example that you have to have the pfba folder named pfba, or that that the roms folder here needs to be in a subfolder in the swtich folder (it doest hurt though.. ;) ).

The entire "filesystem" idea, was initially dreamt up to allow people to create their own structures (before databases took that over.. ;) ) - so the idea of people always asking if they have put stuff in the "correct folder" to me always has that feeling, that they "need a structure" thats not supposed to be there. ;)

Yet, with smartphones that default seemingly has changed. (Have you tried factory reseting it? ;) )

On my next PC I'll make a "Not My Documents" folder directly next to the "My Documents" folder, and put all my documents into there. Just to be a contrarian. ;)

Here is the thing to go by probably. If an emulator release contains a folder named "Roms". You should probably put your roms there. If it doesnt, you can probably put them anywhere.

The emulator also doesnt care so much in which folder it is placed - but the Launcher (structure above it) might to a certain extent. (On Windows that might be different, but isnt it always.. ;) )

There usually also arent "specific foldernames" you have to adhere to (unless there are - currently both with pfba and retroarch ;) ), and there should be no "specific foldernames required", if those folders arent already present in the emulator release package. Although Retroarch currently violates that rule as well. ;) Listen - it was a bad idea to have people rely on "specifically named folders" to put their stuff into, but now sometimes its mandatory.. ;)

For pfba the important thing to know (aside from having your neogeo.zip file in the rom folder) is, that arcade roms come in different romsets, depending on when they were released, and sometimes even with what emulator in mind they were "dumped". So romset version plays a bigger role with arcade roms, than with console roms.

Reason mostly is "jank" (sic?) by the way. :) There were less standards in manufacturing. What contains a rom an what a stray readout - sometimes is interpretation. ;) Earlier dumps sometimes, even missed some files, and somtimes still worked - stuff like that. :)

pfba needs specific (FBA (Final Burn Alpha)) romsets, and if you want to be completely sure that a game works, you go with the latest (year / date) version of the romset the emulator supports.
 
Last edited by notimp,

nintendowii

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
165
Trophies
0
XP
1,080
Country
Germany
i saw that killer instinct is supported but i cant get it to run. i have the kinst.zip in roms folder. where do i put the kinst.chd file?

I put it in the kinst.zip file, in the same folder and the sub folder kinst. Nothing is working.
 
Last edited by nintendowii,
  • Like
Reactions: FanNintendo

falby

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
271
Country
Australia
i saw that killer instinct is supported but i cant get it to run. i have the kinst.zip in roms folder. where do i put the kinst.chd file?

I put it in the kinst.zip file, in the same folder and the sub folder kinst. Nothing is working.

These files don't work because they didn't come from the FBA romset.

To save you time checking the FBA romset, Killer Instinct is not supported.
 

Connorsdad

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
158
Trophies
0
Age
55
XP
633
Country
I've found a bug, pressing "+" and "Y" together causes the switch to crash on chasehq, maybe other games?

Only found this out because I'm changing the gear button in racing games.

Btw, a logitech G29 + Mayflash adapter works brilliantly with this emulator.
 
Last edited by Connorsdad,

geek_76

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
51
Trophies
0
XP
377
Country
United States
Quick question about re-mapping

Hi I recently got a FlipGrip (Litlle shell that let’s you use / attach JoyCon and switch screen in TATE mode. )

I seem to have issues mapping the left joycon analog stick to properly change UP DOWN LEFT RIGHT.

It sorta works, but it is almost seems like newly mapped “right” actually moves diagonal up+right at the same time.

Any suggestions or explanation? Thanks in advance.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lineacero

Connorsdad

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
158
Trophies
0
Age
55
XP
633
Country
Quick question about re-mapping

Hi I recently got a FlipGrip (Litlle shell that let’s you use / attach JoyCon and switch screen in TATE mode. )

I seem to have issues mapping the left joycon analog stick to properly change UP DOWN LEFT RIGHT.

It sorta works, but it is almost seems like newly mapped “right” actually moves diagonal up+right at the same time.

Any suggestions or explanation? Thanks in advance.

Same here, Dpad remap is fine but analogue goes up+left , down+right.
 

ScarletDreamz

[Debug Mode]
Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
3,965
Trophies
1
Location
/dev/sda1
XP
4,268
Country
United States
Hi, i'm not sure anymore if we had a problem on this, but I will refactor inputs in 2 or 3 weeks, I'll make sure it works fine.
Nice seeing that you still here ;D

Btw, i was in an old version, and decided to update to the opengl one, and the single joycons stopped working like they used before, they dont rotate to play with them horizontally, only vertical, so i need to remapthem everytime.

Have not been following this project for a while, is this a common issue? a pending feature? or is this whats included on the refactor?
 

rsn8887

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
938
Trophies
1
Age
45
Website
www.patreon.com
XP
3,260
Country
United States
Hi, i'm not sure anymore if we had a problem on this, but I will refactor inputs in 2 or 3 weeks, I'll make sure it works fine.

To support all possible holding modes and flip grip, I suggest the following.

Instead of the option "rotation", the option could be renamed

Tate Mode: OFF/ON/HANDHELD (or ROTATION: OFF/FLIP GRIP/HANDHELD)

Tate Mode OFF:

tatemode-off.jpg

This is the mode for regular players holding the handheld switch horizontally or playing on a TV.
Vertical games (using BDF_ORIENTATION_VERTICAL, BDF_ORIENTATION_FLIPPED to check) should be rotated in such a way that they have black bars on left and right, and the bottom of the game screen is at the bottom of a normal held Switch (long bottom side of screen).


Tate Mode ON:

tatemode-on.jpg


This would be the flip grip mode, or for players playing on a rotated vertical cabinet TV. BDF_ORIENTATION_VERTICAL and BDF_ORIENTATION_FLIPPED should be used to ensure vertical games are always displayed with the correct orientation for Flip Grip. This means the bottom of the game screen should corresponds to the left side of the Switch screen. The Flip Grip only supports this one orientation.


Tate Mode HANDHELD:

tatemode-handheld.jpg


This is the mode for players holding their Switch sideways with docked Joycons, similar to the old Lynx handheld (see image).
The same display rotation should be performed as when Tate Mode is ON. But now, the controls should also be rotated so that right on the left stick becomes up. This will allow players to hold the handheld Switch sideways with Joycons docked, and use the stick on the bottom left (left Joycon) to control vertical shmups. Similar to the Lynx:

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Btw, i was in an old version, and decided to update to the opengl one, and the single joycons stopped working like they used before, they dont rotate to play with them horizontally, only vertical, so i need to remapthem everytime.

This has been fixed in Libnx 1.6.0. There is a new function to ensure proper rotation. It is called hidSetNpadJoyHoldType(HidJoyHoldType_Horizontal);
Example code to make single joy cons work now:
Code:
if (splitControllers) {
        for (int id=0; id<8; id++) {
            hidSetNpadJoyAssignmentModeSingleByDefault((HidControllerID) id);
        }
        hidSetNpadJoyHoldType(HidJoyHoldType_Horizontal);
        hidScanInput();
}
When
Code:
hidSetNpadJoyHoldType(HidJoyHoldType_Horizontal);
is used, SL/SR automatically register as L/R, buttons and stick directions are also automatically rotated. For example on a left single Joycon, the "dpad left" registers as Y, and "dpad up" registers as X in this mode. On a right single Joycon, B registers as Y etc. The only thing that is not automatically adjusted is the Plus/minus buttons. E.g. on a left single joy con, the minus button registers, and on a right single joycon, the plus button registers.
 
Last edited by rsn8887,
  • Like
Reactions: cpasjuste

TheRocK

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2003
Messages
373
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
760
Country
Gambia, The
Quick question about re-mapping

Hi I recently got a FlipGrip (Litlle shell that let’s you use / attach JoyCon and switch screen in TATE mode. )

I seem to have issues mapping the left joycon analog stick to properly change UP DOWN LEFT RIGHT.

It sorta works, but it is almost seems like newly mapped “right” actually moves diagonal up+right at the same time.

Any suggestions or explanation? Thanks in advance.

I also noticed that, and I always have to manually set the controls as the directions also flip when the view is flipped.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lineacero
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    My life isn't proper
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    first of all, there should be exactly zero reasons to place your sweaty balls on any of the equipment - generally you are supposed to wear clothing at the gym
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    You aren't going to the right gym if you need to wear clothes
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Ball sweat drops down like normal sweat if your balls are always dry I'd recommend a doctor
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    We're talking about exercise balls of course
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    what to do if I am a doctor
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Re-read WebMD articles
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I got myself a cheapo steering wheel cover here's to hoping the sun doesn't burn my finger tips over hot steering wheels
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    I have never experienced that
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    just where do you live mate
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Midwest weathers been like 90 all week
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    We don't have garage parking areas at the apartment either so my car bakes in the sun
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Midwest weather is so bipolar in the summer
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    also in midwest, and today at least was really nice - in the 70s with light drizzle and good cloud cover
    Gift
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    have been quite a few scorchers this year tho
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Depends on the area I'm more up north
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Supposed to be in the 80s all next week
    Gift
  • Mariposa @ Mariposa:
    hiii! how's everyone doingg
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Hi, I'm fine, how are you?
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Good morning folk
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Everyone is sleeping, I wonder if it's a holiday in the other countries as well
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    no, it's just the universal internet dead zone
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and a monday
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    It's a holiday in a lot of countries, I checked in the meantime. This is usually one of the most moved periods of the day
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    It marks the death of Shmi, Anakin's mother
    Gift
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: It marks the death of Shmi, Anakin's mother