1. PIXeL_92

    OP PIXeL_92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey all,

    Sorry if this isn't the correct place to post, I have checked a few of the sticky threads and can't see any answers and sorry if it sounds stupid.

    Just to say I have done it I have done my first 3DS ntrboot mod and installed Luma, I put a cia file on to play a game and it worked. What else can I now do or are there any recommendations for any further steps ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,301
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Play games and emulators. That's the biggest reason people hack their 3DS.
     
  3. PIXeL_92

    OP PIXeL_92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok sweet, so that is it. For console hacks it is one of the easiest, I guess I was expecting to have to do more to unlock it full potential. Do you know if Retroarch for 3DS is a thing I have it installed on my Vita.

    Cheers

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    @Kubas_inko Also, I did the hack with a 4GB card as it was the only spare I had at the time, I ordered a few 128GB ones that turned up today, can I just drag and drop everything to the new one with "show hidden items" checked ?
     
  4. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,301
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Yup. Make sure the SD cards are fat32 formatted and then just copy paste everything.
     
    Quantumcat and PIXeL_92 like this.
  5. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,291
    Country:
    Canada
    GBA VC injects are known to have problems on 128GB cards unless they are formatted with a small cluster size. But if you are not planning to run GBA games, then that is probably not a concern.
     
  6. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,137
    Country:
    Germany
    You can now do whatever you want with your 3ds ;)
     
  7. PIXeL_92

    OP PIXeL_92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apologies if this isn't allowed to be asked. Where can I get game files cia or 3ds extension ? Am I right if I get .3ds I need to convert them to .cia ? Thanks
     
  8. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,137
    Country:
    Germany
    You can do this yes. But otherwise you can download games in .cia format
     
  9. PIXeL_92

    OP PIXeL_92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have managed to find a 160GB archive of .3ds files and think I have found some instructions on how to convert;

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/3ds-to-cia-converter.529353/

    Is it as easy as it seems ?
     
  10. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You can use GodMode9 - even easier than you thought. https://3ds.guide/godmode9-usage

    Edit - oops I didn't realise that link you gave advises using GodMode9. Those instructions will probably work, but GodMode9 may have been updated between then and now so better to do what it says on 3ds.guide in case any of the instructions from the thread are outdated and you get confused.
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, May 31, 2019
    PIXeL_92 likes this.
  11. PIXeL_92

    OP PIXeL_92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am having issues with getting the games to convert to CIA. I think it is because they are all decrypted. I have been googling on how to encrypt them but can't find anything. Is this possible ? Just GM9 and 3ds to CIA don't like these files. Thanks
     
  12. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,137
    Country:
    Germany
    Your question here is off topic a little bit. It doesn't matter when the roms are decrypted or not iirc.
     
  13. PIXeL_92

    OP PIXeL_92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers for the above help. Turns out I downloaded 216GB of incompatible de-crypted games. Sorry if thread got off topic.
     
  14. AskaLangly

    AskaLangly Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    I recently got my old XL going.
    My reasons are all about backup and brick protection.
    And then there is play coin editing.
    Otherwise, I olay as normal. Now with the AK2i back in running order... Planet Puzzle League needs a remaster.
     
  15. chachmcgraw

    chachmcgraw Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Iran
    I hope you didn't delete them because I think this may solve your issue: I tried to post a link but it won't let me. Google 3dsconv 4.2

    It's on github, user ihaveamac

    Download the .exe and put it in a folder. Then put any decrypted .3ds file you want to convert to .cia in the folder as well, drag and drop said .3ds file onto the .exe and it will convert it to .cia. That simple. This worked for me at first because apparently the first few .3ds files I encountered happened to be decrypted. Later I encountered some other .3ds files and this method wasn't working anymore. After much research I found it was because the encrypted .3ds files require a little bit more involved conversion process using Xorpads or boot9.bin and ncchinfo.bin. Let me know if this works out for you. If I'm understanding things correctly then it should. All the ones that worked with this program for me at first had "decrypted" somewhere in the filename. The ones that didn't would not work using this method.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - installation, boot9strap, Performed