1. Inja

    OP Inja Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi

    I just recently bought a broken Switch with a broken USB port and with a 3rd party battery installed.
    Replaced the USB port and it started charging with 5v, 0.4A

    Left it for couple of hours as the battery read 3.7v

    Once charged it turns on but only shows Nintendo Logo and turns off. Battery now reads 4.2V
    I have checked all the capacitors around PI3USB, BQ24193 and M92T36 chip, they are all OK.

    Tried resetting it by holding + and - button but nothing
    Tried to connect it to PC to see if it is autorcm: nope
    When I connect it to the dock, It only blinks green

    What can I do? What should I check for?

    Thanks in advance for all the assistance
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2020
  2. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Germany
    Blinking green sounds like M92T36
     
  3. Agilato

    Agilato GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    Bad USB can kill at least M92T36 and PI3USB.
    What voltage you read on 5th and 6th pins of M92T36, with charger plugged in?
     
    FXDX likes this.
  4. Inja

    OP Inja Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Will check when I get home today
     
  5. Inja

    OP Inja Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Pin 5 = 5v
    Pin 6 = 0v

    Guess it has to be changed
     
  6. seidolino

    seidolino Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Austria
    hey!

    I've got a switch with the same issue and another one without this issue. both mainboards have on pin 5 = 5V and on pin 6= 0V. So I guess that's ok. but let's wait for the answer from @Agilato
     
  7. Agilato

    Agilato GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
    FXDX likes this.
  8. FXDX

    FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Then you need to change the M92T36 with a new one.
     
  9. seidolino

    seidolino Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Austria
    what's the correct output for those two pins? each 5V?
     
  10. FXDX

    FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    You must have at least 3.3V and maximum 6V, on pin 5 and 6 with the charger connected
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
    seidolino and Agilato like this.
  11. Agilato
    This message by Agilato has been removed from public view by osaka35, Jan 30, 2020, Reason: single character.
    Jan 29, 2020 Show
  12. seidolino

    seidolino Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Austria
  13. Inja

    OP Inja Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Checked again on pin6 with pressing on power button.
    I get 3.3v
     
  14. FXDX

    FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    And without pressing the power button as you have on pins 5 and 6 ?
    Does the console go into rcm ?
    Switch won't past switch logo, power off after switch logo, suspect is BQ24193 !
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
  15. Agilato

    Agilato GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    I am not 100% agree with that. There is videos on YouTube point on M92T36 with this issue.
     
    FXDX likes this.
  16. FXDX

    FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    It is true, but when it is M92T36 it should be after the log to give error .... I do not remember the error code now. I also had one that had this problem and i solved with the replacement of the M92T36, but i repeat after the log displayed error and the screen was locked on that error.
     
    Agilato likes this.
  17. Agilato

    Agilato GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States

    Again i had switches with failed BQ but in this case you have short on Cap near BQ

    Check this one:
     
    FXDX likes this.
  18. FXDX

    FXDX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Then it's perfect bro.Thx:)
     
    Agilato likes this.
  19. Inja

    OP Inja Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Issue I have is that I dont get to the Nintendo Switch logo. It only shows the little Nintendo Logo.

    Have ordered M92T36 chip and will replace it once I get it. Have also ordered Pi3USB chip just in case replacing M92T36 doesnt do anything

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
    FXDX likes this.
  20. Agilato

    Agilato GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    Try to load hekate? is it unpatched unit?
     
    FXDX likes this.
  21. Inja

    OP Inja Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Norway
    Installed rcm and driver, nothing shows up when connecting to the pc.

    New to the game, so have no clue if I did it right

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, showing,