Old saves dont work with AKAIO 1.6?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by 8ballll, Apr 17, 2010.

Apr 17, 2010
  1. 8ballll
    OP

    Newcomer 8ballll Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I've recently upgraded from AKAIO 1.5 to 1.6RC2. All my previous saves i had while using 1.5 are now not being recognized. I then rolled back to 1.5 and they all still work again, but i need 1.6RC2 for smt: strange journey to be working properly. Is there any way or a fix to get all my old saves to work with 1.6RC2?
     
  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I assume you're using a .SAV file, in that case go to start> system settings> advanced options>save extentions and then select .SAV or whatever save file you're using.
     
  3. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    There is an issue (well not really an "issue") with AKAIO1.6. If any of your saves are *.SAV you must rename them to *.sav. You can download this file, extract it, and place it on your MicroSD card wherever your saves are located. It will automatically rename all *.SAV files to *.sav. Credit for this file goes to tk_saturn. Link.
     
  4. 8ballll
    OP

    Newcomer 8ballll Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, none of that seems to have made any of the old saves work again with 1.6, plus nearly all of them were ".sav" in the first place. I compared the "properties" of the old save files from 1.5 to the newly made saves created when using 1.6, and they both seem identical.
    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  5. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Sounds really wierd... I use old saves from ACEKARD 4.16 (*.nds.sav) till today. They worked well with AKAIO 1.5 to 1.6RC2 and never had problem with them.

    There must be an error with ->
    -> chosen sav extension
    -> formated msd in wrong way

    OR

    -> you didnt tell us, what AK do you have... (I guess AK2.1, or am I wrong?)
     
  6. 8ballll
    OP

    Newcomer 8ballll Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I have an acekard2 2.1, but i also have and now use an acekard2i, but im unsure of the version(as my other AK2 says right on the label, unlike my AK2i).

    But the problem is the same on both of them.
     
  7. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    If you use the same msd, just format it.
    Dont forget to backup all your saves etc from that card.
     
  8. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try what everyone else has suggested and at a last resort do this:

    Goto My Computer
    Hold down the shift key and Right Click on your SD Card Drive.
    Select "Open Command Window Here"
    You will get a black box come up
    type
    Code:
    dir /x > dirlist.txt
    and press enter
    Double click on dirlist.txt and copy the contents to a post on here.

    It won't do anything to help you, but it may make it easier for other posters to help you.
     
  9. 8ballll
    OP

    Newcomer 8ballll Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Well, reformatting my microsd did not solve the problem.

    Here is the info from my sd card drive...

    Volume in drive F has no label.
    Volume Serial Number is 704C-13A6

    Directory of F:\

    04/17/2010 01:08 PM games
    03/24/2010 09:39 PM 614,976 akmenu4.nds
    03/24/2010 09:39 PM 14,612 LOADER~1.TXT LoaderChangelog.txt
    03/24/2010 09:39 PM 15,393 README~1.TXT readme_AKAIO.txt
    04/17/2010 09:57 AM 2,609,971 10063-~1.RAR 10063-AKAIO.1.6.RC2.rar
    03/24/2010 09:39 PM __aio
    04/17/2010 01:33 PM 0 dirlist.txt
    5 File(s) 3,254,952 bytes
    2 Dir(s) 26,476,544 bytes free




    I only had a handful of game saves with somewhat major progress that id still want, if i cant solve it, then ill buy myself another microsd card and keep those saves/games on there with AKAIO 1.5 for whenever i want to continue them.

    Thanks for all the help though
     
  10. 8ballll
    OP

    Newcomer 8ballll Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I fixed my issue. As some of you were saying about the ".sav" issue, all of my old saves were ".nds.sav". So I changed them all to ".sav", and they seem to be all working again with AKAIO 1.6rc2
     
  11. Tim 13

    Newcomer Tim 13 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I know it's an old topic, but I just wanted to stop in and say thanks. I did a crap-ton of grinding in FF IV yesterday, then I switched the standard AK firmware to AKAIO 1.6, and suddenly, it couldn't find my FF IV data anymore. I was PISSED.

    So anyway, I'm actually in the process of changing all the extensions now, but even if it doesn't work, I figure I don't really have anything to lose, so again, just stopping in to say thanks. [​IMG]

    EDIT: Worked like a charm. Thanks a lot!
     
  12. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tim, I have a batch file which will do it all for you. It will rename them all at once, even if they are in subdirectories, it will also back them up first. You can download it here Download and extract to the root directory of your MicroSD card, doubleclick on renamesav and then you're done.
     
  13. Tim 13

    Newcomer Tim 13 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    lol, I did them all individually before, I would have loved to have that thing though. Actually, you wanna hear something funny? I highlighted all the .nds.sav files, then right-clicked one, clicked "Rename," deleted the .nds extension, and hit enter. Well, wouldn't you know it, it renamed ALL the .nds.sav files to the exact same thing. So then I had to go through the entire list of saves in alphabetical order, rename them to what I thought and hoped they were, and prayed to God that I was right.

    Luckily, I was right, because the first day that I got the Acekard, I booted up all the ROMs one-by-one to get that annoying 30-second initialization period over with for all the games. I dodged a bullet there, though [​IMG]
     
  14. kaputnik

    Member kaputnik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Sweden
    Had some problems with AKAIO 1.6 RC2 all of a sudden corrupting my Glory of Heracles saves, or at least making the game think the saves were corrupted. I played it for a few sessions before it happened.

    Dont know if it helps anyone, but fixed it by switching flashcart to my M3 Zero, and it worked just fine. They both use the same save format.
     
  15. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Normally if I get SAV file from somewhere, I just rename the file to sav. Just rename it like normal. It work.
     
  16. RSK

    Newcomer RSK Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Denmark
    Yeah well and about that, akaio 1.6 just overwrote my spirit tracks.SAV with a new empty .sav.... this made me so angry I wanted to throw the devilish thing out the window [​IMG] I was at the 5. dungeon, anyone happen to have a savefile around this place? thanks.
     
  17. Tim 13

    Newcomer Tim 13 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    By the way, if anything similar to this happens to anyone else, go to your ROMs directory, which is where the .sav files are; first, clear the new .sav file, then rename the .nds.sav file to just .sav. I booted up FFIV after I thought my memory was cleared, so it created a new .sav file. Before I could restore my old one to be the default .sav, I had to clear the new one. Hope that makes sense. lol
     

Share This Page