Hardware Old 3DS XL crashes shortly after turning on

LlamaTrauma

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I recently bought an old 3DS XL from Ebay which had the black screen of death after being dropped. When I opened it up the WiFi chip was disconnected, which fixed the black screen, but now the console consistently crashes roughly 25 seconds after turning on. It seems to take the same amount of time regardless of what I do, whether it's opening an app or letting it sit on the home menu. It happens with and without an sd card in, and always shows the "An error has occurred. Hold down the power button to turn off the power..." screen. I'm very new to repairing consoles and don't want to take this apart more than I have to, so I was wondering if anybody has an idea of what could be wrong with it. The motherboard looked to be in good condition when I opened the back, and I didn't see any obvious issues. I don't plan to sell the console if I get it working, in case that makes this seem less like me trying to profit from your tech help.

Update: I just checked the bottom of the motherboard and it seems fine. The times before it crashes seem to be all within tenths of a second of each other.

And I actually hadn't tested if it could play games. It needed cleaning but I'm playing a ds cartridge in it and it's working fine. This might end up being a software issue.

IMG_4669.JPG
IMG_4668.JPG
IMG_4663.JPG

Last edited by LlamaTrauma,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Update: I just checked the bottom of the motherboard and it seems fine. The times before it crashes seem to be all within tenths of a second of each other.

And I actually hadn't tested if it could play games. It needed cleaning but I'm playing a ds cartridge in it and it's working fine. This might end up being a software issue.