1. bluedart

    OP bluedart GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    So I hacked my switch a few weeks ago and it's been working pretty well. All except one new thing. After installing Okami HD successfully with Tinfoil I can't seem to get it to create the default save file without freezing the whole system. It gets to the point after it plays the intro and asks you to press plus. After doing so it gets about 1/3 of a second into "Saving save data" and then just freezes the whole thing. I've rebooted thrice and it consistently does this. All other games seem to work properly. I was wondering if this is some new trickery with Okami HD to combat hacking since this is a new release. If this is happening to other people, then it's just some new thing we can't do anything about yet. Then again, if other people are able to use this with Tinfoil then I'm going to have to try a few things to get it working properly.

    Off the top of my head there's: different SD card, re-installing, and getting a different source for the nsp file. Is this happening to you too? If not, can you think of any method I have not already listed that I should try?

    Edit: For future reference, apparently all you have to do is disable "Layred FS". Rebooting and choosing to not use LayeredFS in your cfw is sufficient if such a method exists.
     
    Last edited by bluedart, Aug 16, 2018
  2. Robert McCoy

    Robert McCoy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Deleting the layered fs plugin got it working for me
     
    vinstage and Deathscreton like this.
  3. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    Japan
    What CFW are you using?
     
  4. Deathscreton

    Deathscreton GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    What Robert said. fs_mitm.kip under ReiNX/sysmodules/ is broken. Delete it and you'll be fine.
     
    Monkiky likes this.
  5. OperationNT

    OperationNT GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    France
    I have the same issue but I stay on FW 4.0.1 so I must run this game using LayeredFS over SMO: it starts fine but it freezes on data creation. Obviously, I cannot remove "fs_mitm.kip".
    Could someone help me by giving me an empty created savedata?
    Thank you for your help!
     
  6. Deathscreton

    Deathscreton GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    Why are you using LayeredFS to run your backups? Just use ReiNX for 4.0.1 and run your NSP that way. You're making things more difficult for yourself that way.
     
  7. OperationNT

    OperationNT GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    France
    This game release is recent. You mean it still works on 4.X?
     
  8. bluedart

    OP bluedart GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on RajNX; removing that file does not fix it. However, booting into cfw (without layeredFS support) does allow me to pass the initial save creation. Does anyone know what's actually happening here that's making it crash? Also, how did you find this out? Now I'm just curious.
     
  9. szczuru

    szczuru GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Poland
    Did you deleted fs_mitm.kip from ReiNX and rebooted whole console?
     
  10. tiliarou

    tiliarou GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    France
    It's already been proven and posted multiple time that recent layered FS kip are causing issues.
    In this case, FS mitm is interfering with some games. Loading a CFW without layeredFS fixes the issue.
     
  11. Bellebite2000

    Bellebite2000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    What a mess... 0 issue with the SX Pro...
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
  12. tiliarou

    tiliarou GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    France
    Sx Pro is a dongle. We are talking about layered FS in CFW here.
    It's not a mess at all, old layered FS works, it's just that nobody cares about it since we have Tinfoil. Same issue could have happened with SX OS if they had used the latest fs mitm kip...
     
  13. Hielkenator2

    Hielkenator2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Albania
    For everyones information, the legal Eshop game also freezes sometimes.
    I did not hack my switch and the game froze reveral times, resulting in a black screen etc.
     
    Albytrozz and tiliarou like this.
  14. Skittyusedcovet

    Skittyusedcovet Gbatemp’s Favourite Skitty
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Canada
    I havent hacked mine either, but I haven't encountered any freezing yet.
     
  15. Absintu

    Absintu GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Portugal
    no prob with SXOS
     
  16. Albytrozz

    Albytrozz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds more like a memory card problem than a game issue... especially if others (including myself) haven't had any problems with it on SX OS.

    May I just also add that NSP installing on SX OS completely changed everything for me and is by far the most useful feature of SX OS... in fact I deleted over 1TB of XCI and started over with NSP because of the updates, DLC and you can just launch any and every game from the menu. I honestly don't think I need anything else, just the time to go through the several hundred games I can try hahaha.
     
    Last edited by Albytrozz, Aug 15, 2018
  17. Huntereb

    Huntereb GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,235
    Country:
    United States
    Found the problem. Switch to ReiNX.
     
  18. comput3rus3r

    comput3rus3r GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3,568
    Country:
    United States
    Found the problem. Switch to SX-OS.
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
  19. Huntereb

    Huntereb GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,235
    Country:
    United States
    Deprecated and expensive. Found the problem!
     
  20. comput3rus3r

    comput3rus3r GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3,568
    Country:
    United States
    40 dollars is expensive? Found the peasant. lol
     
    Last edited by comput3rus3r, Aug 15, 2018
    Canna likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - freezing, Saving, Okami