Homebrew NXMP Nintendo Switch Media Player

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
581
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,560
Country
Italy
The WiiU build of NXMP can be done, with limited functions (no hevc of course) an without network support (for now)
i am facing problems with video output (GX2 port for mpv and imgui) but nothing impossible.

The problems here is that i don't have a WiiU (big problem) and i dont wont to buy one (i am a poor guy).
Maybe someone can do a crowdfunding for gettinga wiiu for devel process.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: ploggy

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
581
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,560
Country
Italy
Perhaps you could test some devel wiiu build inside cemu or decaf. Not to say, many gbatempers would happily test it.
cemu is not useful, it fails also on a test program, i need to devel a never done porting i need a trusted HW to test it, i know that many users can help with test but in the initial phase i need to do 10000000 test in no time to have some result.

So the WiiU port is in stall without an HW to continue the devel process, sorry. i can't do miracle,
I need a WiiU (also if has broken DVD i dont care) but that can just run for Homebrew for continue (and update) the port.
 
Last edited by proconsule54,

bbert

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
401
Country
Philippines
I dont think so, i'll have to test it, is the same file works on a player like VLC?
on pc it plays well. then i transfer the videos to usb and play on switch. But videos gets pixelated. 1080p Videos gets a minor pixelated in moving scene. 720p gets pixelated most of the time. just downloaded some music videos and some video game playthrough.
 
  • Like
Reactions: proconsule54

Chocola

GBAtemp Meowgular
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Neko Paradise
XP
703
Country
Korea, South
on pc it plays well. then i transfer the videos to usb and play on switch. But videos gets pixelated. 1080p Videos gets a minor pixelated in moving scene. 720p gets pixelated most of the time. just downloaded some music videos and some video game playthrough.

It's problem related with the program that you use to download and encode Youtube videos, upload one file to test.

To download videos from youtube I recomend youtube-dl.

I test NXMP on every release and I have my own media library with various formats and didn't get pixelated, including on bad wifi signal all play fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: proconsule54

bbert

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
401
Country
Philippines
It's problem related with the program that you use to download and encode Youtube videos, upload one file to test.

To download videos from youtube I recomend youtube-dl.

I test NXMP on every release and I have my own media library with various formats and didn't get pixelated, including on bad wifi signal all play fine.
I'll try to check youtube-dl. because i've been using 4kdownloader to download youtube videos.
 
  • Like
Reactions: proconsule54

Chocola

GBAtemp Meowgular
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Neko Paradise
XP
703
Country
Korea, South
I'll try to check youtube-dl. because i've been using 4kdownloader to download youtube videos.

If you need a GUI for youtube-dl, youtube-dl-gui it's a crossplatform and simple but powerfull UI.

I try a lot of converters/downloaders before and have issues like you, pixels on fast movements, low quality audio... and on some cases glitches with green squares or green bars, with youtube-dl didn't have any problem for now and you have a lot of options to download your needs.
 

proconsule54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
581
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,560
Country
Italy
i saw the video on switch and win32 port of NXMP seems a lot more pixelated than on vlc.
I think that is due to the deblocking filter used by HW decoder that makes the video looks better on pc.
The win32 port of NXMP i use is intentional without HW Decoder and wothout fileters ( so it can act just the same as the switch) and show some pixelate.

So the video IS pixelated but the filters mitigated it a bit.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbert and Chocola

Chocola

GBAtemp Meowgular
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Neko Paradise
XP
703
Country
Korea, South
i saw the video on switch and win32 port of NXMP seems a lot more pixelated than on vlc.
I think that is due to the deblocking filter used by HW decoder that makes the video looks better on pc.
The win32 port of NXMP i use is intentional without HW Decoder and wothout fileters ( so it can act just the same as the switch) and show some pixelate.

So the video IS pixelated but the filters mitigated it a bit.

Yes, because VLC have postprocessing filters that make low quality videos seems better, but if the video it's on good quality don't should be pixelated on switch.

On my own experience, the most majority of YT downloaders reduce a lot the quality of the video and have a lot of encode errors.

With the program that I say before didn't should have any problem, including on NXMP without HW postprocessing filters.
 

FFTW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
167
Country
United States
So I have been having a major issue with V0.6 that i never faced in V0.5, I thought someone else would have reported it but apparently not, so here we go:

after using it a bit it gets VERY laggy on any of its menus. like, it would wait literal seconds to move after you press a direction, and would only move one folder at a time and then pause before moving to the next one and so on. that is only solved by quitting the program and reopening it. even worse though is that it can crash the whole switch (atmosphere crash). that happened to me 4 times already this week. what happens is that it randomly and out of nowhere goes to the homebrew menu, and if you try to close the homebrew menu the whole switch crashes. Frequent crashes to the whole system is a very worrying thing, and I would really appreciate if you fixed it alongside the extreme lag (pretty sure they are related).

also
Arabic and Cyrilic font support will be in next version,
(i dont know what i wrote, sorry if is something offensive, i dont know....)

For Chinese and Japanese i need a new ttf file since the one i use don't support it.
But i am working also on it.

View attachment 288895
The thing is, unlike European languages, arabic connects the letters to make words instead of just writing one letter after another. what I mean is that letters in a word not only connect to each other but many of them have different shapes when connected. So what you did might show one letter after another of the file's name, but it is still almost unreadable to any arabic speaker. I have attached an image as an example of how words actually look like.
 

Attachments

  • 82116151_10157977198647929_5443157112446255104_n.png
    82116151_10157977198647929_5443157112446255104_n.png
    200.6 KB · Views: 31

Chocola

GBAtemp Meowgular
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Neko Paradise
XP
703
Country
Korea, South
So I have been having a major issue with V0.6 that i never faced in V0.5, I thought someone else would have reported it but apparently not, so here we go:

after using it a bit it gets VERY laggy on any of its menus. like, it would wait literal seconds to move after you press a direction, and would only move one folder at a time and then pause before moving to the next one and so on. that is only solved by quitting the program and reopening it. even worse though is that it can crash the whole switch (atmosphere crash). that happened to me 4 times already this week. what happens is that it randomly and out of nowhere goes to the homebrew menu, and if you try to close the homebrew menu the whole switch crashes. Frequent crashes to the whole system is a very worrying thing, and I would really appreciate if you fixed it alongside the extreme lag (pretty sure they are related).

also

The thing is, unlike European languages, arabic connects the letters to make words instead of just writing one letter after another. what I mean is that letters in a word not only connect to each other but many of them have different shapes when connected. So what you did might show one letter after another of the file's name, but it is still almost unreadable to any arabic speaker. I have attached an image as an example of how words actually look like.

I always use it for hours through network and didn't get the memory leak that you comment, the app it's responsive and I manage to properly exit it without crashes.

Maybe it's related with a specific scenario or versions of CFW, need more info for test.

What version of atmos and horizon you have? what media device you use to play? you have any sample file that produce this leak or ocurrs with all?

The only feature that can't test it's enigma2 because I don't have sat tv, but the rest work fine for me on last version of atmosphere and switch.
 

FFTW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
167
Country
United States
I always use it for hours through network and didn't get the memory leak that you comment, the app it's responsive and I manage to properly exit it without crashes.

Maybe it's related with a specific scenario or versions of CFW, need more info for test.

What version of atmos and horizon you have? what media device you use to play? you have any sample file that produce this leak or ocurrs with all?

The only feature that can't test it's enigma2 because I don't have sat tv, but the rest work fine for me on last version of atmosphere and switch.
I only use it through usb (128gb, pretty much full), never network. the lag and crash only happens in the menus, never happened to me while watching a video. It would be running well, I would watch a video with no issues, then when I finish it would be lagging. and the crashes happen exactly as I described.

as for the atmosphere and horizon (what is horizon?) versions, no idea how to find them.
 

Chocola

GBAtemp Meowgular
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Neko Paradise
XP
703
Country
Korea, South
Ok I gona test with a 128gb USB to try to reproduce, can be related with USB devices.

Happends with short videos or need to play a full movie to reproduce?

Yes, the crash it's a kernel panic, it's a atmosphere screen with error code and last calls before crash, happend to me on the past with some beta versions, but it's the first time that I see one of this on release.

With horizon I mean the switch firmware (that it's called HorizonOS), the version that console show on settings menu.

I gona try to reproduce this on 0.6 and if I manage to reproduce, I gona try on the current beta too that have debug info and can be usefull to detect where it's the problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: proconsule54
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/pBuB6BC6ISk