no cheats..

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by rpspartin, Jul 2, 2009.

Jul 2, 2009

no cheats.. by rpspartin at 4:50 AM (1,144 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. rpspartin
    OP

    Newcomer rpspartin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    UG,shibuya,japan
    Country:
    United States
    I have both a R4 and a R4 deluxe ( yes i know it is a clone) the normal r4 has ysmenu installed on it. i have updated both of their cheat.dat files using the database, yet games that had codes before don't i have looked around and have tried using the r4 patcher that was recomended but it still won't work. I have also tried renaming them to USRCHEAT.DAT but that doesn't work either.
     
  2. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Don't rename to USRCHEAT.dat but get the real USRCHEAT.dat file at cheats.gbatemp.net
     
  3. rpspartin
    OP

    Newcomer rpspartin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    UG,shibuya,japan
    Country:
    United States
    i've tried that as well but still no luck.
     
  4. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    What is the specific problem? Are games that start with letters near the end of the alphabet missing?
    Then try this patch: http://cheats.gbatemp.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=76

    If it's games that are missing individual codes, then it's because they were purposely removed from the updated cheats lists. This usually only pertains to codes that work on WiFi.
     
  6. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    You do have the usrcheat.dat in the ttmenu folder for ysmenu? if so then I don't know what to tell you besides maybe try a format of your memory card.....
     
  7. rpspartin
    OP

    Newcomer rpspartin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    UG,shibuya,japan
    Country:
    United States
    No it is all games in general example i was able to use my cheats on elite beat agents, ff4 , sonic rush but now that i updated my database it doesn't even register the games that had cheats on them before.
     
  8. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So both original R4 and R4 Deluxe have this problem right?

    So you must have done something wrong while updating your cheat files.

    First thing you should do is delete any cheat file (cheat.dat and usrcheat.dat and anything that's got cheat written on it) from your cheat folders (TTMenu map for R4 with YSMenu and _system_ map for R4 Deluxe).

    Ok now for the original R4 with YSMenu download this and unpack the USRCHEAT.DAT file to your TTMenu folder.

    For the R4 Deluxe download this and unpack the CHEAT.DAT file to your _system_ folder.

    It should work now.

    If not, you probably have messed something up in the firmware (maybe deleted some files other than cheat files) and you'll have to reinstall the firmware on both cards (use the latest releases) and put the cheat files back on as I mentioned above.
     
  9. rpspartin
    OP

    Newcomer rpspartin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    UG,shibuya,japan
    Country:
    United States
    okay i ended up reinstallig and got it to work perfectly [​IMG] thanks.
     
  10. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Good to hear everything is up and running again.
     

Share This Page