No cheats on YSMenu with patched roms

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Bloodgharm, Jan 20, 2010.

Jan 20, 2010
  1. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    i have a real dstt and am using a ysmenu/moonshell 2 combo and for some games (the ones with a patch on them) dont have any cheats listed however if i use the original ttmenu in the form of a .nds it can find their cheats

    just wondering if anyone else has encountered this problem and/or fixed it

    [​IMG]


    Henry9111 [​IMG]
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Its because the header of the .nds file is changed when it gets patched. Its pretty simple to fix for your ysmenu. Just grab the usrcheat.dat that your ysmenu uses and open it in an editor (you can use r4cce from yasu). Then just find the game you want and change the gameID to the gameID of your patched rom (I think you can just load it from the [...] button and it will work).
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It's not a problem... It's the fact that the games aren't original anymore.
    Games are identified by a Game ID... XXXX-YYYYYYYY
    XXXX = code from the start of the ROM
    YYYYYYYY = CRC32 of the first 512bytes (0x000~0x1FF) of the ROM
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=196117

    To "fix" this, open up the cheat file in a cheat editor, like R4CCE, find the game you want in the list, then edit the GameID.
    Usually there is a [ ... ] box that will let you browse for a ROM and get it's ID.
     
  4. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks for your reply guys

    but im also wondering why there is no problem with this in the original ttmenu



    also if i open up my usrcheat.dat which i got from the temp cheat database r4cce simply crashes everytime
     
  5. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    lol sorry for the double post but i a noobtard (just made it up pretty awesome name hugh) and i dont know how to edit a post


    anyway i just switched to yasu's r4cce and problem solved but when i click [...] and choose my patched rom the game code stays the same [​IMG]
     
  6. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    GAME CODE or GAME ID?

    GAME code will never change for a patched rom
    Its only the GAME ID that will change
     

Share This Page