Nitroexplorer For Mac?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by B3astinSnipes, Feb 20, 2011.

Feb 20, 2011

Nitroexplorer For Mac? by B3astinSnipes at 6:52 PM (2,314 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. B3astinSnipes
    OP

    Member B3astinSnipes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Cant find any program that can accomplish that on a Mac computer.
     
  2. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use it on a PC, if not try using bootcamp to boot Windows

    btw wine fpr mac is called darwine
     
  3. B3astinSnipes
    OP

    Member B3astinSnipes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    i wish i still had my PC but unfortunatly i dont and i cant find the windows disk anyway to even use bootcamp
     
  4. angelXwind

    Newcomer angelXwind -angelXwind sinks back into her hiding hole-

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Inside her hiding hole.
    Country:
    United States
    You could always use WINE or CrossOver to run NitroExplorer (and most Windows applications) on your Mac.
     
  5. B3astinSnipes
    OP

    Member B3astinSnipes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    oh? i didnt know that.thanks! [​IMG]
     
  6. B3astinSnipes
    OP

    Member B3astinSnipes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i opened it with wine and x11 pops up but nothin happens [​IMG]
     
  7. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    Wine probably doesn't support vb runtimes
     
  8. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can also try to run a virtual xp on your mac if you have enough ram. A good freeware virtual pc program is virtual box . This way you have a 100% guarantee it will work, because you're running windows. However, this will impact your performance greatly if your mac doesn't have enough RAM.... Also note that you cannot access files on your hard drive unless you install extra additions. They did this because in case of a potential data loss or corruption, the only thing that would be damaged would be the virtual hard disk.

    Here's a very comprehensive guide on how to use virtual box, it also explains how virtual pc works in general: http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch01.html

    You can also use a commercial program called vmware fusion, which can boot a bootcamp partition natively within mac OSX, and run windows programs in mac OS X. But this method also needs a lot of RAM to run, but this way you can access the files on your hard drive much easier.
     
  9. gumbyx84

    Member gumbyx84 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Country:
    United States
    I believe WINE and Crossover both support VB runtimes as they support up to .NET 2.0 framework. You do have to install the runtimes environments in order to run apps that use them, just like in Windows.
     
  10. timcard30

    Newcomer timcard30 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands

Share This Page