Nintendont

By sabykos, Jun 10, 2013 6,830,041 40,311 158

  1. Kerpal335

    Kerpal335 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey there,
    I recently installed Nintendont but am having a few issues and was hoping that someone could help. Every time I go to start Nintendont the background will load up along with a message saying "Loading IOS58 Kernal..." and then it will just crash. I'm running the latest version of Nintendont on the Wii. The first time I tried loading it, a got a message telling me to update to 4.3, currently I'm running 4.2U. I feel like updating would probably fix any issues I'm having but I don't want to brick my console or mess with Homebrew so I'm not sure what the best thing to do is. I'm pretty new to all this so I wouldn't be surprised if I overlooked something. Again, any help is appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,546
    Country:
    Portugal
    just update ... all homebrew is compatible with 4.3.

    you probably also have a very very old homebrew channel and ios, nintendont needs the official ios58 to start and an ios58 base homebrew channel , some old instals have a modded ios58 and old homebrew channels dont use the officail ios 58.
     
    Kerpal335 and DarthDub like this.
  3. Kerpal335

    Kerpal335 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, I'll give it a try when I get a chance. Thanks for the help.
     
  4. kingholy

    kingholy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Mexico
    Will generic Gamecube controller with USB port work if I connect it in one of the front ports ? Or do I need to buy the Gamecube Wii U adapter ? Thanks.
     
  5. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,546
    Country:
    Portugal
    if its hid you will have to make your own controller.ini if its not hid it will never work.
     
  6. mat128

    mat128 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    Returning to loader using the button combination crashes my Wii when the Gamecube game's loaded from USB Loader GX with Nintendont but works perfectly when booting the Nintendont app itself in the Homebrew Chanel, is this expected?
     
  7. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have the USB Loader GX forwarder installed?
     
  8. mat128

    mat128 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    No, should I?
     
  9. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it's needed to return to the loader. You cannot return to a dol file.
     
  10. mat128

    mat128 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you that fixed it.
     
  11. softword

    softword Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Colombia
    Is there a way to change the default controller?, i am using the latest version on vwii, i can use the game cube controller(using the official adapter) and the wii classic controller pro
    through wii mote on the menu but once i start a game it uses the wii classic controller pro.
     
  12. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,546
    Country:
    Portugal
    put the gc controllers on port 1 of the adapter, or simply unplug the classic controller.
     
  13. Milenko

    Milenko GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,982
    Country:
    Australia
    Is it possible to create a return to menu button combination for the gamepad?
     
  14. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,546
    Country:
    Portugal
    no
     
    OrGoN3 likes this.
  15. Modder

    Modder Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, so today I got around to dumping more of my gamecube game discs, but I tried loading Animal Crossing on Nintendont, and when it gets to "Init DI", the console inexplicably just shuts itself off. I tried recopying the game to see if it was a problem with the game file itself, but it still shut down. Then I tried loading a different game, Resident Evil 4, and that worked. So what's the issue here? Can anyone help me?
     
  16. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237
    Country:
    United States
    When the console does that the dump is most likely bad. Do an MD5 hash check against Redump.org to make sure the dump is at least good.

    If using Windows then use this GCVerify
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017
  17. Kitasan

    Kitasan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    I always use 32GB USB memory with Nintendont to load game
    But recently when i choose usb in Nintendont says “USB FAT device could not be opened”.
    So i format my USB and boot Nintendont again, but it says same thing last time.
    How can i fix this problem?
     
  18. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,546
    Country:
    Portugal
    flashdrive? flashdrives are very very inconsistent with homebrew codding in general, if its a flashdrive there isnt much that can be done, maybe waiting afew more seconds before pressing usb on the choice screen.
     
    Kitasan likes this.
  19. robertus

    robertus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Italy
    i have Wii U and Nintendont, but i have trouble because:

    - I can't have memory card emulation.
    - If i change it in nintendont settings, when i exit, doesn't keep my settings.

    Where i wrong ? :(
     
  20. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,546
    Country:
    Portugal
    you need to start a agme after changing the settings for the settinggs to work. if you exit nintendont app no setting will be saved.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendont,