Nintendont

By sabykos, Jun 10, 2013 6,834,428 40,312 158

  1. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,140
    Country:
    That's not the point, the guy asked wither Nintendont is better or DM, I said that while Nintendont is basically the better option it's not perfect in running every game, it doesn't matter wither you like the game or not, besides I don't think MMAC even emulates the games, when I looked through the files I didn't find any Roms inside of it so they seem to run natively but I could be wrong.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I seriously don't know why you'd wanna do that.
     
    Margen67 and Troopage like this.
  2. uyjulian

    uyjulian Homebrewer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,440
    Country:
    United States
    The SD card is usually faster than USB, because not everybody plugs a 2TB SSD into their Wii.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  3. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,140
    Country:
    But if it's a speed issue then wouldn't it make sense to want to run the game off the SD instead?
     
  4. uyjulian

    uyjulian Homebrewer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,440
    Country:
    United States
    Big SD cards are expensive (last time I checked, anyway)
     
  5. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    925
    Country:
    Switzerland
    That is completely wrong.

    Even on a PC, SD cards are way slower than HDD on every spec minus seek time.
    On the Wii, the SD slot is capped even more than the SD card itself.

    The only reason I can think of using SD over HDD (other than initial cost) is some ppl like me won't want to risk writing anything to the HDD where they don't have another TB backup.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  6. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237
    Country:
    United States
    Some games like the intro video to Mario Kart: Double Dash have lag when running off an SD Card in the SD Slot but run flawlessly on HDD or using a USB SD Reader (even using the same SD Card).
     
    Margen67 and Gomza like this.
  7. mat128

    mat128 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    Because for some reason the save files have to be on the same storage medium as the games themselves. It'd be nice to be able to have the option to have the save files on the SD card if you have 2 Wii consoles but don't want to unplug the HDD every time you want to change console or move the save data over to the PC.

    Currently I use an old Gamecube memory card which allows me to do just that but an SD card would be more reliable. More options are always better.
     
  8. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't post there wasn't a difference, as I don't actually know, I posted there probably isn't a difference in accuracy to a noticeable degree. Unless you mean the lack of slowdowns in Nintendont, but why would you want slowdowns?

    I haven't tested any third-party games, though. For that generation I prefered my Xbox for multiplatform games and I still use it for those games. I've tested most of the first-party games, though, and I haven't noticed any difference in accuracy.
    Well, you needlessly made claims about his work that aren't true. I'd be rather annoyed as well.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2015
    Margen67 likes this.
  9. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,550
    Country:
    Portugal
    But you still need to unplug the usb device to put the games on the other wii since your isos are on usb lol so whats the point?Unless you got 2 hdds with the same exact isos connected to two diferent wiis wich is insane lol.
     
  10. Sudomage

    Sudomage Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    im having some problems with nintendont im playing all the 2 disc resident evil games and when it gets to the point where i have to swap disc its giving me a error message i named disc 1 game.iso and disc 2 disc2.iso and no improvement plz help
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2015
  11. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,550
    Country:
    Portugal
    error message what message? are you using mcemu what size of mc emu?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2015
  12. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    925
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I have heard quite a number cases of damaged SD card slots, so it is not advisable to plug/unplug the SD card too often. Plug/unplug HDD may be safer.
    You can use Wiixplorer or ftp app to transfer the save file - then it makes no different if it is on HDD or SD.
     
  13. sonictopfan

    sonictopfan GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,140
    Country:
    I didn't even know you could use the same SD card on multiple consoles, don't SD cards lock the information on one console so that you wouldn't be able to run Wiiware games on the same SD card on a different console?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    That is true
     
  14. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,550
    Country:
    Portugal
    of course you can use sd cards on other consoles ... i always took my sd card with my homebrew to my causins wii and used it there but yeah wiiware stuff might not run but homebrew of course it does lol.
     
    sonictopfan likes this.
  15. uyjulian

    uyjulian Homebrewer
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,440
    Country:
    United States
    You might be thinking of the 3DS...
     
  16. Sudomage

    Sudomage Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    the error message says An error has occured. turn the power off and refer to the nintendo gamecube instruction booklet for more information and my mc emu is 251
     
  17. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,550
    Country:
    Portugal
    the error happens when hdd/sd fail to keep up or you have alot of settings on, say all your nintendont settings if you can and version btw.
     
  18. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    Just put the "saves" folder and your apps folder on an SD card and only ROMs on the HDD. It works fine. Loading times for homebrew apps are minimal.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  19. Sudomage

    Sudomage Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    its version v3.373 and all my settings are off except mc emu [video width auto] maxpads 4 language auto and thats it
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2015
  20. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9,550
    Country:
    Portugal
    Are isos md5 checked? i played RE4 perfectly and never had any error swapping discs.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendont,