New Acekard 2i problem

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by frogger55thom, May 3, 2011.

May 3, 2011

New Acekard 2i problem by frogger55thom at 11:41 AM (5,653 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. frogger55thom
    OP

    Newcomer frogger55thom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    Just got a new AK2i and very few games are loading - i just get a white screen. I've tried multiple usd cards with same result.

    I am using akaio 1.8.6a

    When i boot the dsi i see a 'Dorasu' icon in the start menu, it boots into akaio fine, but the games won't launch. From the noob guide i figure i should see the alex rider icon as my fw is 1.4.1. I thought it was to be set to the 'latest' fw when i bought it, but the dorasu icon appears to be wrong.



    thank you for any help.
     
  2. AvengerAkashi

    Newcomer AvengerAkashi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Brazil
    the fact you see a "dorasu" icon is because this card is up to date to work on a 3ds...is the new firmware
    and some advice now try to format the micro sd whith panasonic formater
     
  3. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    The noob guide hasn't been updated for a while.
    Just because you are on 1.4.1 doesn't mean the cart is.
    The cart is updated for the 3DS ergo the Dorasu.

    Now, format your micro SD with the Panasonic Formatter ( Find 'SD Formatter' on FileTrip.net)
    Then copy AKAIO back on with a good mSD reader, not a piece of shit that came with the cart.
    Then try copying Electroplankton on and playing it, if it doesn't work, post.
    Try the paper trick.

    Oh and btw, it's nowhere near a new problem.
     
  4. frogger55thom
    OP

    Newcomer frogger55thom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for your quick reply and heads up re Dorasu.

    Have been using sd formatter between trys and retrys and using a good msd reader.

    Tried Electroplankton - rom boots sometimes to first screen and then freezes if i choose an option, or freezes on boot (most common of a few tries)

    So paper trick is next, or is the symptomatic of other problem?

    cheers,
     
  5. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Both, actually.

    Electroplankton is a really small game, so if it fails to work, then there's one of two issues.

    You've either got a really really really really really really (I could go on for an hour) bad micro SD.
    Or there's a contact issue. A bad one. So try the paper trick first.
     
  6. frogger55thom
    OP

    Newcomer frogger55thom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    OK thanks.

    will try paper trick, but can't now, and let you know.

    msd should be fine - works well with m3i and for other purposes.

    cheers,
     
  7. SlickGate

    Newcomer SlickGate Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    China
    Country:
    China
    Maybe just the quality issue with your acekard 2i.
    Try contacting your retailer.
     
  8. frogger55thom
    OP

    Newcomer frogger55thom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States

    Hi,

    Yes i have contacted them. They suggested i try on another dsi, which i have with the same result. I really don't want to have to use the 'paper trick' as both these dsi's can use regular games, m3i zero and idege without a problem.

    The way i see it - the paper trick can surely only potentially damage the slot in the long run and particularly if there are no problems with other games & cards why should i have to do this?

    As the second poster eluded - this seems pretty common (sorry, should have searched better) and should have gone for another card. I wanted this as m3 team seem to be slowly disappearing. Any suggestions??

    Thanks,
     
  9. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    No, it wont damage the slot if done right. There are two versions, one where the paper goes on the side with the label in the slot, and one where the paper goes between the contacts and the card. Try the second option, put the paper between the contacts, and the card and see if it works. If not try the first.
     
  10. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Because of patent issues and shiz like that the Acekard has a thinner PCB (printed circuit board) than normal. There is ONE type of Acekard without contact issues because it has a chip sticking out of it (and before the noobs rage at me this design was once a real Acekard design, not just a fake) but it's risky since it's usually fake. Paper trick is pretty easy to do and doesn't need much skill.
     
  11. frogger55thom
    OP

    Newcomer frogger55thom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks guys - will give it a go.

    cheers,
     
  12. guinness86

    Newcomer guinness86 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I am having the same/similar problem with a new Acekard 2i cart I just got. I can boot up but when I try to play a game, it locks up just after the credits or at the start of the game. I am wondering if it has to do with when a save file gets created. I tried 4 or 5 games and get a message "The DS card has been removed". On a couple of othger ones I just get the blank white screen. I tried the paper trick but it didn't help (both ways). I tried it with two different mcsd cards and two different DSi XL units (firmware 1.4). The cart came preset up with the Dorasu. I tried downgrading the cart's firmware to Alex Rider but had the same result. I used AKAIO 1.8.6a. Any other ideas? I have contacted the retailer.
     
  13. frogger55thom
    OP

    Newcomer frogger55thom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Paper trick was a no go - this thing is going back. lol - it will cost me almost as much as i bought it for to send it back but feel the need to do it.

    The shop has been good and reminded me that all cards are tested prior to shipping. Acekard just isn't for me, it seems.
     
  14. Lynne

    Newcomer Lynne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    If you wanna know your Acekards are fake or not, you can use the Anti-Counterfeit code to verify

    Here is the method with complete steps
    AK team now is using Anti-Counterfei code to make sure that our users buy genuine Acekard. Please beware that the Acekard you’re buying has a not-tear-up Anti-Counterfei sticker.

    You’ll find the Anti-Counterfei code after tear up the Anti-Counterfei sticker. You can input the code at [check page] to verify your Acekard whether it is genuine or fake.

    The Anti-Counterfei code on every Acekard is unique. If the result shows that Anti-Counterfei code is correct but had been checked for many times then you maybe bought a fake card. Please ask your vendor for refund.
     
  15. SpiralTrance

    Newcomer SpiralTrance Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm wondering if it's the save settings on mine. When I change NSMB to auto from 64k the game boots. What settings are you using?
     
  16. miguelbolas

    Newcomer miguelbolas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have the same problem too.
     
  17. xnomadxx420

    Newcomer xnomadxx420 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Country:
    United States
    My problem is pretty close to these, I got a new acekard a couple days ago. I have a 2gb scandisk sd card, formatted and followed the noob guide. The card was already upto date as far as the firmware. My problem is that some games show up as nds program files and won't load, no game icon. I tried NSMB it works fine but not Mario 64. The roms work I use them on my other acekard. I have the new loaders, I tried using the same memory card in the acekard 2i and its the same thing, some games just aren't recognized.
     
  18. guinness86

    Newcomer guinness86 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry about taking so long to get back to you. I tried a variety of settings including the save mode. Nothing helped. Someone suggested that there was a problem with the MSDC slot in the card. The retailer is replacing the card (it is in transit).
     
  19. leelouch

    Newcomer leelouch Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France
    I have the same problem
    ACEKARD 2i
    with last AKAIO 1.8.6a
    firmware 1.4.1

    I have two ACEKARD
    the first works prefectly
    the second give this message after starting the game : The DS Card has been removed . Please turn the power off and reinsert the DS Card.
    OR black screen on some other game

    help please ! whats going on ?
     
  20. molh394

    Member molh394 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore

Share This Page