NeoGeo Emulator for Nintendo DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Changstalicious, Aug 20, 2007.

Aug 20, 2007
  1. Changstalicious
    OP

    Newcomer Changstalicious Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there such thing as a NeoGeo emulator for NDS? (Not Neo Geo Pocket)
     
  2. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
  3. dualscreenman

    Member dualscreenman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Rockin' the DSman Party-Van
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think the DS has a high enough power level. (It's not over 9000.)
     
  4. suprneb

    Member suprneb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    yea theres another thread about something similar i think
     
  5. clockworkvictim

    Member clockworkvictim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    That would be nice, [​IMG]
     
  6. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I don't think so. It is too powerful for NDS like that. [​IMG]
     
  7. Changstalicious
    OP

    Newcomer Changstalicious Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks. guys I thought there might be one because Neo Geo has a Metal Slug GBA and it looks like the graphics are the same... if metal slug GBA runs on a GBA I figured that Neo Geo would HAVE to work on a superior
    DS...
     
  8. reaperman@home

    Member reaperman@home GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    the neo geo's not exactly a powerhouse, or even close, but the games were much larger than on other systems of the era. There was a thread about it before, and I suspect it to be possible, but the memory storage limitations mean it would best be left alone.

    'possible' doesn't always mean 'playable' or 'worthwhile'. At minimum it would mean pulling the games apart like the gp2x emulator does, using the ram addon and I just don't see how she'd have the speed for true playability. DS doesn't even have a genesis emulator, how the heck will it do neo geo? (basically a very beefy genesis).
     
  9. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    The DS doesn't have nearly enough ram nor CPU speed to run Neo-Geo at anywhere close to a reasonable speed (there would have to be a lot of slowww VM usage).

    Honestly, the NeoGeo had a lot more Horsepower than the Sega Genesis and the DS can barely handle that (without even emulating the Z80 ^^).
     
  10. Pigwooly

    Member Pigwooly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States

    Metal Slug on the GBA is a port, so it was probably modified to work with the hardware. Obviously the DS is powerful enough to play ported NEO GEO Games, but when you are emulating a game you have to have a system many many times more powerful than the system you are emulating as the process of emulating hardware slows things down.

    In terms of a Genesis emulator, I think that would be more or less possible as there is a decent SNES emulator (although compatibility could be much better) and the SNES was significantly more powerful than Genesis.
     
  11. KaliKot

    KaliKot Newbie

    huh? no genesis emulator? You guys living under a rock or something?

    never heard of jENESIS have you? (still no sound though)

    SNES was more powerful than genesis all around but Genesis/megadrive had a more powerful CPU and it seems harder to emulate because of it
     

Share This Page