1. NeSchn

    OP NeSchn Swag.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Country:
    United States
    Well this is whats going on. I am pirating a game for my friend and he has Vista (which is a piece of crap). I need to replace the original exe file with the No-CD patch exe file and all it keeps on saying is that I can only make a shortcut. I just don't get it, its pissing me off. Why can't it just replace that file?!?

    Can anyone help me?
     
  2. NeSchn

    OP NeSchn Swag.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind It took me an hour to figure it out but right after I wrote this topic I figured it out.

    This can be closed now!
     
  3. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I'm guessing you're not familiar with how Windows (whether it be XP or Vista) handles copying/moving/creating shorcuts. Drag the file with the right mouse button instead of the left. I'm not a big fan of dragging 'n dropping. I usually ctrl-c/x the file and ctrl-v it to where I want.
     
  4. NeSchn

    OP NeSchn Swag.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah thats how I did it. I just ctrl-c and ctrl-v it.
     
  5. gizmo_gal

    gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Country:
    United States
    Its okay, everyone needs help with Vista--even the PC Engineers who wrote the program, for surely they did 50% of the work while drunk.
     
  6. Mewgia

    Mewgia drifter
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    United States
    The only issue I have had with Vista was caused by uTorrent being stupid.

    So please, Vista haters, can you just shut up now?
     
  7. Satangel

    Satangel BEAST
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,268
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah, I have Vista too, and it thinks it's really good.
     
  8. Hiratai

    Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    How does your statement end all Vista arguments?
     
  9. SkH

    SkH GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    Algeria
    Yeah Vista rocks!! [​IMG] [​IMG]

    It's just needs a good PC not a completely piece of crap. [​IMG]
     
  10. rhyguy

    rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Country:
    I use vista cause xp x64 tends to suck
     
  11. lookout

    lookout GBAtemp Board Room
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Country:
    My vista OS run on 32bit and 64bit... no problem yet but most of xp software work well on 32bit..
     
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I'm using Vista and I *had* problems, but I've fixed them all. uTorrent was stupid long ago ... with the uPnP not working properly. They fixed it quite fast. I had problems networking my printers with an XP machine. I fixed that too. The only thing that bugs me right now is how Media Center handles muting. When you mute media center, it mutes everything. It mutes the Master Volume. The only way to mute Media Center alone is to open the volume mixer and mute it per app there. But that's too many clicks for me. [​IMG]
     
  13. squirt1000

    squirt1000 Would rather have a cup of Tea!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    842
    Country:
    Been using vista for a couple of weeks now, initially i hated it but now think its great! 8gb of ram sure helps keep things smooth [​IMG]
     
  14. Mewgia

    Mewgia drifter
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Country:
    United States
    Because it's an example of how nobody really has more problems with Vista than they have with XP anymore?
     
  15. PizzaPasta

    PizzaPasta Son of p1ngpong
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    I use Vista. It's okay. Honestly, all versions of Windows pretty much look the fucking same to me (except 3.1, of course).

    Really, I could give a shit less if I'm using Vista or XP. It has its problems but most of them are fixable.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Vista,