Need help getting back into R4/Adding Cheats for Roms

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by uanaka, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys!

    Anyways, my mom had previously taken away my DS for quite some time (approx 1.5 years) and after doing well in school this year she's finally given it back to me.

    So thus I ask, can someone please tell me how to load cheats onto my R4, for a game again? I've completely forgotten and thus I'm looking for help.

    Also I have the real R4, and I was wondering how do I check what version WoodR4 I have? And lastly where could I possibly find some cheats for Pokemon White? I'm not looking for like everything, just the simple Money/Items and I'd prefer like a liberty pass if that's possible? (I want Victini)

    I guess that's all!


    Anyways,

    Thanks!
     
  2. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    R4cce. Download the program, open the .dat cheatfile, find the game, you will know what's, next!
    Find the AR on google.
     
  3. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Excuse me but could you please explain? I'm really out of date, and I thought you didnt need R4cce anymore? I read you could just use the USRCHEAT.DAT. and drag it onto the Cheats folder on my R4, and in game you could select the cheats? Does it not work like that anymore? ANd does that work with WoodR4?

    Thanks~
     
  4. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    Well you use usrcheat.dat for adding cheats, like if there isn't a black pikachu cheat in there, you find the cheat by a source, use that r4cce to update cheats with the AR code. And yep it works with the wood r4.
     
  5. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Ahhh thank you. So let me sum it up and could you correct it if I'm wrong.

    But we still need the usercheat.dat, however we input it into the R4cce and we look for the cheats that are in it... however if there are no hacks that I want, I need to go find the AR code ... but where I get confused is how do I update the cheats with the AR code.

    Thanks!
     
  6. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    You basically save it, by the top left. Its a pleasure helping!
     
  7. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Alright looking at the usercheat.dat I see that most of the cheats that I want are there. Does that mean I don't need the R4cce? I have it but I can just store it away am I correct... also is it still the same process with WoodR4, where we go to the game and then Press Y followed by X?

    Thanks
     
  8. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, if that's the case, you won't need it. You can store it if you want, but you don't have to keep it.
    Download Flashcart Helper on filetrip.net, to help you with firmware, and other stuff.
    Yup to the rest of the question.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the commonly-used cheat databases are a conglomeration of codes from all over the place, so for many games the available codes are well fleshed-out. I've only found myself needing to edit the database once or twice in over two years.

    And yeah for most flash cart software (including Wood) you go to the ROM's properties and there's a "cheats" button.
     
  10. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks so much everybody for your help!

    I'm happy to be back into the business and now it's time to start looking for more!

    Thanks!
     
  11. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    @[member='Rydian']

    One thing I noticed about when I use the latest WoodR4 is that I can toggle the AR Cheats to "ON", however how do I toggle which cheats I want to use, and how do I know what key combination is to be used for the cheats?

    Thanks
     
  12. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    A pleasure it was! anytime you need help just PM me! On r4cce it gives you options to select which cheats you want. If cheats are already provided, it should say on r4cce on the description of the cheat
     
  13. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    Just get the updated usrcheat from the dc scene rom tool. The people whoa re working on the cheats are awesome.
     
  14. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, remember to update your flashcart, and catchup using Flashcart Helper!
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The ROM's properties is where you go to turn individual cheats on and off. If a code needs button activators, the description will usually mention it.
     
  16. uanaka
    OP

    Newcomer uanaka Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded it, but I didn't see a "catchup" function?


     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have my DS around me to test right now, but are you sure it's the wood from here?

    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/flashcart-files/download-wood-r4-150-f30096.html
     

Share This Page