1. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    I have tried for 2 days now to get rxTools working and i simply cannot do it. I feel like screaming. Maybe i'm just dumb or something but it simply won't work.
    Can anybody please make a FULL working guide?
    this one: https://docs.google.com/document/d/...ce7AWYmjp5Cq2LxfQ9cDr0/edit#heading=h.3j2qqm3 doesnt work

    I once got to where it launched and everything and only game me this error: NATIVE_FIRM: 4
    After that i just fucked shit up.

    I have a N3DS 9.2 EU and Cubic Ninja cartridge
     
    Last edited by pizzadk, Dec 10, 2015
    SLiV3R likes this.
  2. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,143
    Country:
    United States
  3. Deleted User
    This message by Deleted User has been removed from public view by BORTZ, Dec 11, 2015, Reason: spam.
    Dec 10, 2015
  4. andriy921

    andriy921 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Country:
    That guide is outdated. It works only for October nightlies.
    No need in cetk file. Use cake 9.5 encrypted firm instead of rei. Name it 0004013820000002.bin and put into firm folder.
    Also it's better to create backup / format emunand using gateway launcher.
    And for some reason i couldn't install fbi using HBL FBI in emunand. Had to install it to sysnand, then create emunand based on this.
     
    MelonGx likes this.
  5. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,143
    Country:
    United States
    lol did you even read the link
    first it says pasta not cakes is easier and pasta does not need cetk file either
    also
    the guide says to do this
    so if pasta is easy and the guide makes that clear and it sets up emunand properly uses a tried and tested version of rxtools
    what is so great about a newer therefore less tested cfw ? . . . also if you want to help people because the guide is outdated then make your own new and updated guide
    the fact is hundreds have used this guide
     
  6. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Is the guide linked above for the 10-2 build? i would really like to also be able to play DS games
     
  7. kennyhi123

    kennyhi123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    just use the guide worm posted
     
  8. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,453
    Country:
    United States
    The guide to install tge CFW has nothing to do with the build you use.

    And there is no way to play DS games with any CFW, you need a DS flashcart for that.
     
  9. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,143
    Country:
    United States
    it points you to the 9-11 build but if you want you can use the 10-2 (i dont have a link) but if you want ds roms then you need a ds flashcard. cfw will allow 3ds/3dsware/dsiware/gba/snes/nes/gb(c)/sega roms all in .cia format
     
    Last edited by wormdood, Dec 10, 2015
  10. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Used the guide although i used my Cubic Ninja cartridge to access HBL. Same as before. Black screen when i start rxTools and if im lucky i get the rxTools logo on the top screen.
     
  11. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,143
    Country:
    United States
    when you first boot rxtools you need to hold the "L" button
     
  12. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States

    Once on black screen press, A button, than Y button and see if emuNAND boots.
     
  13. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    As soon as i launch rxTools now i just get kicked back to HBL instantly
    EDIT: i now see the rxtools logo at the top screen. A and Y does nothing. neither does holding L
     
    Last edited by pizzadk, Dec 10, 2015
  14. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States
    I had that issue one, reinstalled RXtools and all was fine after that.
     
  15. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Which of pastaCFW and cakesCFW is best?
     
  16. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,143
    Country:
    United States
    . . .wait . . . what ? . . .how? . . .dude, rxtools comes after emunand after and choosing between cakes and pasta if you did not pick one install it then do step two then thats why rxtools wont work for you please dont skip around
     
    Last edited by wormdood, Dec 10, 2015
    Quantumcat likes this.
  17. kennyhi123

    kennyhi123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    do you have the right firmware.bin?
     
  18. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Oh shit thank you so much. I'm now on RX-E 9.2.0. Do i need to hold L every time i boot up rxTools? Also where do i go from now? I wanna install some CIA games. Also should i unlink NANDS?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Didnt skip any steps. rxTools has just been a bitch to me for 2 days straight.
     
    Last edited by pizzadk, Dec 10, 2015
  19. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States

    Yes, you need to hold L button every time on power up.
     
  20. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,143
    Country:
    United States
    k as long as you got it working and no you should not need to hold "L" each time most only need too do that once if your firmware .bin is incorrect then you may need to hold "L" each time
    and you use the cia installer you installed before you created emunand to install .cia games
     
    Last edited by wormdood, Dec 10, 2015
  21. pizzadk

    OP pizzadk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Should i not unlink my NANDS? Also do i need to be on emuNAND and then install the games?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - rxTools, idiot, proof