Need a new AceKard

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by AniDanny, Nov 2, 2010.

Nov 2, 2010

Need a new AceKard by AniDanny at 7:15 PM (871 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. AniDanny
    OP

    Newcomer AniDanny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using an AceKard 2 for a couple years now, but it's dying. Cleaning the contacts and using the paper trick fixed it for a short while, but eventually those stopped working. So I wanted to know, is there any reason for me to get an AceKard 2i if I have no intention of ever getting a DSi? And does anyone have a recommendation on where to get a cheap, reliable AceKard? Best info I could find was on WikiTemp, where it basically said "Here's 20-30 places you could get one. Good luck."
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, no reason at all to get the 2i if you never have any intention of getting a DSi or DSi XL. There have been the odd cases on here of the some 512MB Japanese games corrupting the Acekard 2i's firmware. As the 2.1 doesn't have updateable firmware, it should be free of this issue.

    ShopTemp is the retailer most of recommended on here, as everyone loves referrals. They are affiliated with this site though, so tend to be fairly reliable.
     
  3. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    There was a batch of AK2 cards that were having problems with firmware. It's been fixed but I'd personally spend the extra $2.30 on the AK2i because of past firmware issues.
     
  4. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't have any intention of getting a DSi either when I bought my AK2i, but when the time came that my Lite was wearing down and dying, I was glad I had the 2i because my parents bought me a DSi. [​IMG]
    Sidenote: I have a little more faith in the AK2i working on the 3DS than the AK2. Don't expect it to, but it's more likely. (1% compared to 0.5%, if even)
     
  5. GMTN

    Newcomer GMTN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    The difference is not great, maybe a buck or two. I would get an ACEkard 2I just to future proof yourself.

    I have both the DSI XL and DS . I never thought about getting a DSI either but you never know.
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the dec 09 issue which was brought up was a hardware change that caused the firmwares not to save correctly. it was fixed in software and then acekard went back 1 hardware revision. even if my some very small chance you got one of those cards it would still perform correctly with akaio and the official firmware.

    i would personally advise you to stay away from the 2i if you are going to use the card on a phat/lite. the 2i has many contact issues. my 2i was rather perfect when it arrived, after about 6 months of use it has developed pcb contact issues. with the 2.1 i have never experienced these issues and i am currently looking at 9 of them in front of me.

    -another world
     

Share This Page