NDSL R4 Loading problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by scorpianreborn, Apr 30, 2011.

Apr 30, 2011

NDSL R4 Loading problem by scorpianreborn at 1:31 PM (4,821 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey there

    My problem is that my R4 stays on the loading screen from the kernal no the games.
    I have searched many websites and done many things like format it and use v1.18 kernal
    I keep hearing about these clones however I have had my R4 for about 4 years and its always worked.
    I was recently trying to install wood r4 and I guess I stuffed up. I just want it to get back to the way it was and run normally.
    My r4 is black and has white dots. Its exact name s "NDSL R4 Revolution 3 for DS"
    It does not say SDHC or R4 upgrade 3. I'm pretty sure its not a fake.
    Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
     


  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Have you tried the "Paper Trick"?
    And your lucky you have a real R4 DS [​IMG]
     
  3. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    I'll be honest

    I'm not a complete noob when it comes to r4 software but I have no idea what the paper trick is.
    Please explain
     
  4. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    First, you should upgrade to Wood R4, way better than the three year old v1.18. The paper trick is where you insert a piece of paper under the connectors in-between the r4 card, and the Ds connectors on the R4. It pushes up the connectors so they reach the DS's connectors better.
     
  5. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    but wouldn't I first have to fix the loading screen problem
     
  6. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    You do use Panasonic SD Formatter, right?
     
  7. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    What is a Panasonic SD Formatter?
     
  8. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Well it might not be caused by contact issues. And the name Revolution 3 means it is a clone, there is no official Revolution 3. You will most likely have to use Wood R4 (well at least I think it is a clone.) Try Wood R4 v1.29 and report your findings. And not all loading problems are because of contact issues.

    EDIT: Panasoic SD formatter is a tool for formatting SD cards. Google is your friend. Download it, format your SD and try Wood R4.
     
  9. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Its a formatter that formats your SD card.
    Its better than the Windows formatter since the windows formatter formats it as a disk, but Panasonic SD formatter formats it as a SD card.
     
  10. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Generally when an R4 card is stuck on Loading it has the wrong kernel on the SD card. Does your card have any web address on the front of it?
     
  11. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia

    Remember that the r4 has worked for a long time and that was without wood r4.
    I'll just give wood r4 a go. I'm gonna try "Wood v1.29 for R4 Original/M3 Simply" but if my r4 is a clone then which one do I download?
     
  12. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia

    Yes "www.ndslr4.com" but I'm directed to a search website so the website is fake. Does that mean my r4 is fake?
     
  13. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It means that your card is a clone and may not work with Wood R4.
     
  14. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    And this is the bad part. I can't exactly remember ans stupidly I didn't backup the files before I tried to change them. However I can say that I'm 100% sure I didn't use wood r4 and I think it was something for an original r4 like kernal 1.18. I'm now trying wood r4 just give me a minute and I'll format it with the pasonic sd formatter.If my r4 worked for so long then there has got to be a way to get it working again, right?
     
  15. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    You lost the firmware of it [​IMG] .
    But its from 2007 so it can be a 1:1 clone and wood can work.
     
  16. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia

    I think I had it in 2007 but I could be a bit wrong.
     
  17. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a bit of a bugger that you got rid of the old kernel as I'm having a look to see if you could use RetroGameFan multiple cart file and there are various R4-III cards on there but they only work as a dual boot so you would need the original kernel but I can't find any entry for that particular web address.

    I'm having a google at the moment but I don't think that Wood R4 will work for you and I'm struggling to find your old kernel.
     
  18. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Perhaps try YSMenu, might work. Otherwise you'll probably have to find your original kernel, or get Wood R4 to work.
     
  19. scorpianreborn
    OP

    Newcomer scorpianreborn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    My r4 doesn't actually say R4-III though it does say revolution 3 for DS.
    Panasonic SD formatter won't install it says "error installing ikernal.exe"
    Also do I format to FAT 32 or FAT?
     
  20. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Im not sure it matters, but format to FAT32.
     

Share This Page