My Mac and a M3 DS Simply

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by RadioDog, Jun 8, 2007.

Jun 8, 2007

My Mac and a M3 DS Simply by RadioDog at 5:17 AM (3,907 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. RadioDog
    OP

    Newcomer RadioDog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I recently got a DS Lite and a M3 DS Simply. I've got two Macs (PMG4 Dual450/10.3.9 & PBG41.5/10.4.8). Mac support and apps were always a bit lean with my Visoly FlashAdvance Xtreme/GBA but I'm surprised how much I can get done on my mac with my NDSL/M3DSS. This post is to help Mac users with a M3DSS (and I assume most other MicroSD/Slot-1 devices). Most apps are freeware/system/included, for all others goto macserialjunkie ;-). These are my own experiences and I'm not responsible for anything that stuffs up.

    Formatting
    ------------
    I got a Japanese 1gb Toshiba card for my M3DSS. Using the built-in Disk Utility I formatted the card, selecting "MS-DOS File System" (which is FAT32). I also unchecked "Install Mac OS 9 Disk Driver".
    If you're really finnicky and you want to format your card FAT16 you can use MacDrive [http://www.mediafour.com/].

    Installing
    ------------
    I downloaded the latest console software from M3 and copied the relevant parts to my card. You can use an app called KopyMac [http://digitol.homeip.net/kmb2.61b.sit] to copy files over to your card without all the hidden mac system files (it'll also clean out any hidden system files). But I found I could easy clean them out using the browser on the M3DSS, and the hidden files don't seem to wreak havoc with the MSDSS.

    Games
    ------------
    Running clean dumps was a no-brainer. Copy to card, play. You can use Rominator [http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=44909] to manage your roms. Works well, a couple of bugs and it crashed my aging mac trying to view all the icons. But it does a great job of trimming roms properly. I had used the M3 trimmer in VirtualPC but it did something screwy to the wi-fi games. Big thumbs up for Rominator!

    Homebrew
    ------------
    Only just getting into homebrew and it seems you get DLDI patchable stuff that works and non-DLDI stuff that probably won't work. If you can patch your piece of homebrew, I use DLDI Drop [http://www.blogadresse.de/2007/01/29/dldi-drop-dldi-patcher-the-mac-way/]. Drag-n-drop patching. Too easy. Homebrew-wise, DSOrganize, NDSmail and Comic Book DS are great places to start (but there's no .cbds creator for mac).

    Movies
    ------------
    Hurrah! You can create .dpg movies for moonshell in OS X! DPG Converter [http://homepage.mac.com/atkinson.d/DPG Converter.zip] and Mencoder [http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/mplayerosx/ffmpegXbinaries20060307.zip] (drop both unzipped files into the same folder) do this job quicky and easily.

    Thing I Haven't Done On A Mac
    ------------
    These might be able to be done (please show me!) but for now I have to launch Virtual PC or a real windoze box.
    • Patching - .bdp and .ifo
    • Getting a slot-2 adapter soon - more playing

    Thanks for reading, hope this helps someone. Hopefully, I'll be updating this post in the near future.

    Robbo
     
  2. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    dude you should have gotten a dell
     
  3. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. Mac lovers will love you now. I like the operating system and the hardware is damn fine, but EXPENSIVE. Thanks for your contrib!
     
  4. RadioDog
    OP

    Newcomer RadioDog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I wouldn't inflict a dell on my worst enemy. But please, no flaming/trolling re: mac vs pc. This post is for people who use macs and want to get started with a M3DSS (or similar)

    Robbo

    BYW, mac are much cheaper than what they used to be ... look at what you get!
     
  5. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    How do u use the video converter?
     
  6. RadioDog
    OP

    Newcomer RadioDog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Download and unzip DPG Converter and mencoder into the same folder. Then run dpgconverter. That's it!
     
  7. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    THANK YOU!
    Now I can convert my videos in to dpg...but there are somethings that need to be improved...the best level of video is no better than better.
    It can't convert most .mov files properly. Only the ones in Hi-res can, or if they don't move tom much...when I tried to encode 'The Codex, after a while, half the screen suddenly blops downwards.
    Also, could you give the option of making the screen brigher like with DPGtools?

    But other than that, THANK YOU!!! [​IMG]
     
  8. reemixx

    Newcomer reemixx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thank you for this. [​IMG]

    I own both a PC and a Mac. Currently I do everything from the PC, but soon I'll be in a position where I'll only have my Powerbook with me for a few days a week, so this has come in very handy for me. Thank you very much [​IMG]
     
  9. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    and another tip...make it more than divx and mov format...I can't run wmv through it
     
  10. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    and another tip...make it more than divx and mov format...I can't run wmv through it
     
  11. RadioDog
    OP

    Newcomer RadioDog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I have been pre-converting all my videoes to VCD mpegs using FFmpegX, Toast or Burn. A 320x240 mpeg transcodes in no time at all and the results are fairly acceptable on the tiny NDS screen.

    Robbo
     
  12. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't do it on mine for some reason...I can't dl mpeg2enc.intel properly...
     

Share This Page