shorter20000

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Ireland
Hello,
I'm going to attempt the the hwfly v4 install on a oled switch (HEG-001).

I've had some experience with soldering before with a 360 so I'm looking forward to this project.

Just a few questions:

• I know other switch models can be soft modded but the HEG-001 can only be hard modded, correct?
  • The oled switch I have (HEG-001) is boxed and sealed... would I face any limitations if I had a oled switch that was recently released (different motherboard layout/design or anything else)?
  • Whats best practice with the unboxed switch? just don't even turn it on and go straight to the hwfly v4 install? Does it need to go through its initial set up / introduction process?
  • the hwfly v4 mod chip seems to be the obvious and most recommended option. Is that the only option here I know tx products are tricky to find but is there anything else I should explore?
  • Any harm in updating to 0.7.1 firmware for the hwfly?

That dat0 solder point:

From what I seen, people are using the orange ribbon or adapter that comes with the kit?
Screenshot from 2022-12-04 20-37-57.png
dat0adapter.png

They then prep the solder point on the adapter then set it in place then heat up the eMMC chip with a heat gun(?) in stages (increasing the temperature each minute) to reflow the eMMC chip and joining the adapter to the dat0 point.
  • Using this method is there any cons?
  • Is the quality of the solder join to the dat0 point with the adapter not as good verses a direct join with a wire?
    • If so will it effect boot time/performance?

Which guide is best to follow for an oled switch?
I've seen the NH Switch Guide and the Switch Hacking is Easy guide. Is there one better to follow for an oled module or shoul dI just follow some yt turorial?

Thats all questions for now. Any thing else I need to keep in mind whilst doing this project please let me know.