Music Change?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by DaiKenKi, Nov 12, 2010.

Nov 12, 2010

Music Change? by DaiKenKi at 1:31 AM (733 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. DaiKenKi
    OP

    Newcomer DaiKenKi Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Chile
    There the possibility to change the music of Pokemon Platinum ? My Objective is: Put the music of Pokemon BW in Pkm Platinum. Please Help me... [​IMG]
     
  2. Supreme Dirt

    Member Supreme Dirt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Canada
    It'll require quite a bit of work, and you may have to individually recode the songs themselves, because if I recall Platinum uses the same set of instruments for all battle music, and I believe B&W might not.
     
  3. DaiKenKi
    OP

    Newcomer DaiKenKi Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Chile
    There a tutorial to do this? Because i search in Google and... Any tutorial or something else.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First just try it as you would any undub- we used to swap out sound files for smaller ones and it would usually work (if it did not chances are it was just one of the games ndstool could not rebuild properly).

    It might not totally work and you might have battle music in a pokecentre or something but from then on it is your basic music swap hack possibly with a bit of renaming if you want to do that (the DS calls it by number/ordinal I think with the names being somewhat extraneous):
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=122534
    Possible exception- if there is more music in Platinum than BW then what usually happens is a sound will fail to play. You can add sounds but it is a pain so instead I suggest you find an acceptable sound and point to the same thing (you add a new entry in the header and make it point to an existing file.

    Instruments should not be a problem as that is all internal to the SDAT file- the DS will say play song 10 (or perhaps a name which you then might have to change) and the sdat player will load up the instruments required from it using internal data.
     

Share This Page