Moonshell 2.03 & YSMenu on Acekard 2i with SDHC support

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by CannonFoddr, Jul 16, 2009.

?

Let me (& others) know how good this guide was (Please post where you found it confusing if you

  1. Yes - it was perfect. Fully understood it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes - Some of it was useful

    1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  3. No - It was confusing (Please post what you found confusing)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    10) From the DSTT firmware download: Copy 'system.fon', 'system.l2u', 'system.u2l' and 'system.ank' into the '/ysmenu/' folder on the Ak2i
    11) From the Cheat Database download: Copy the 'USRCHEAT.DAT' also into the '/ysmenu/' folder on the AK2i

    Nearly there
    1) 'Safely remove' your memory card from your PC, Insert into the Ak2i & put into your DS(i)
    2) Switch on & boot into the firmware
    3) Press [Start], select 'patches' and change 'autorun' to 'Enabled'
    4) Press [A] Twice to save settings[/color]
    3) Press [Start], select 'System Options' Then press Right paddle button until you get to 'Default Patch options'
    4) Change 'Autorun' to 'Enabled' & Press [A] Twice to save settings
    5) Browse to 'Moonshell_directboot.nds' & run it
    6) Hopefully it should start. Alter your options as you like them.
    7) Now browse to a commercial ROM & Press [A] to start

    Because you changed firmware 'autorun' to 'enabled' - next time you switch on it will load the firmware and then automatically load Moonshell

    Proof that it works


    Note: IF you already have an Ak2i SAV file (usually it ends in '.nds.sav' this WILL NOT BE USED for the game and Moonshell/YSMenu will create a new SAV file.
    To use your existing AK2i sav's, backup your AK2i 'gamename.nds.sav' to your PC (for safety) & rename it to 'gamename.sav'


    If you DO happen to have a problem - when you post, can you please give as much detail of your setup combination
    [e.g. DSi + Moonshell 2.03 + YSmenu (latest) + Acekard 2i (with 4.15 firmware) + 4Gb Kingston SDHC card]
    so that I may see if I can try & replicated the fault myself - thanks
     


  2. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I'll try this one in a bit. this is the simpliest guide i ver seen unlike the previous moonshell 2 guides which are horribly disguisting to look at.

    I wonder why AKAIO is not usable here?

    I have 4GB Kingston SDHC so I may have problems with the SDHC option guide using 4.17
     
  3. Bookwormz13971

    Member Bookwormz13971 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using the other method and no matter which I kept getting 2 white screens when loading moonshell. I followed the instructions correctly (about 5 times and even tried codingtom's fix) and still nothing. I will try this later tonight and hopefully it will work.

    By the way my setup is

    DSi

    Acekard2i

    Firmware 4.17 + AKAIO AK2 Loader 5/30/09 (After I couldn't get your fix working I just formatted everything with SD formatter 2.0 and used this)

    4gb Sandisk SDHC

    I can't wait to try this tonight, hopefully it works.
     
  4. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    so you used the other method and not this so you got two white screens? be more specific on which you used. im afarid to try this now

    I got the files already and ready to put it on my acekard 2i. can i use the language select NDS instead of the EXE one?
     
  5. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could however I've read that SOMETIMES the 'nds' version doesn't save the setting right & it reverts back to japanese
     
  6. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    it's working fine and I got the selectlanguage.EXE to work. I just need to plug the card reader and edit it from there.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qieniBFg5Nw

    thanks for the simple guide unlike the other guide which are disgusting to look at.
     
  7. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dam it - you've beat me to it [​IMG] . I was going to do a video of this tomorrow

    I notice your's a little jumpy & out of focus (guess that because you were using a mobile by the looks of it [​IMG] ) so I might just do it anyway
     
  8. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    if you are a fan of my video channel, you know what I am using for my videos in youtube.

    I'll be happy to see your video so I can see what game works and what games DO NOT work.

    --

    How can I use the AKAIO loaders? is it possible?
     
  9. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't see why not - I think both firmwares use the same names (AKAIO is really just a modified AK firmware)

    UPDATE:
    F.Y.I - AKAIO firmware WILL NOT WORK on AK2i (with SDHC) if you follow my original guide (one problem is that 'akextract.exe' will not work on AKAIO 'akmenu4.nds' file).
    There IS a work around though. You need to DLDI patch with the 'ak2_sd.dldi' from firmware 4.15/4.17 instead of the one that comes with AKAIO
     
  10. Saywhatjj4

    Member Saywhatjj4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    London,United Kingdom :)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks CannonFodr [​IMG] Working fine on the Acekard 2i With A 4GB Kingston Micro SDHC!
    Also Works with 8GB AND UP!
     
  11. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Does that mean Blackiris' guides and mine are horribly disguisting? [​IMG]
     
  12. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah - I guessing what he actually means is where your's & Blackiris are 'multicards' or 'general purpose' guides & may be a little overwheming with info for a newbie - mine is only about one card & has rather specific steps [​IMG]
     
  13. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Don't take it personally, KingdomBlade. Chris_Skylock seems to have a habit of throwing insults around and complaining about everything. Your guide was essential to my getting it to work.

    By the way, I was just wondering. The Acekard 2 guides don't work for Acekard 2i?
     
  14. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope - when I tried it I kept getting 'System File Missing' on booting up the Ak2i - this only happened once you renamed Moonshell file to 'akmenu4.nds'.
    I'm guessing that the ak2i looks for a specific piece of code on booting in 'akmenu4.nds' (perhaps to allow it to work on Dsi) - but since moonshell doesn't have it - up comes the message
     
  15. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    OK, that makes sense. This guide is gonna help since I'm about to help a friend set up Moonshell on her Acekard 2i. Thanks a lot!
     
  16. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good luck on that - oh & if you're successful can you leave note here for others to find - something like 'Success using AKAIO +8Gb SDHC card' (or whatever firmware/microSD card you do use) would be handy
    It'll let them know which setup was successful - thanxs
     
  17. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hey CannonFoddr. I haven't done it yet, but I'm curious, why isn't this an official part of the commercial rom loading thread?
     
  18. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you talking about Commercial ROM Loading with MoonShell 2 & YSMenu Guide ?

    If so then sorry to say that it IS on the first post - it may not have it's own Acekard 2i instructions 'spoiler' heading like the other's but that's because (& I'm guessing here) my guide 'cheats' by loading firmware THEN Moonshell.

    The 'proper' guides on the other hand boot directly into Moonshell & I guess that if I ever find a way that does the same on an Ak2i then perhaps it will get moved up into it's own section.
    Instead you'll find my link under the Confirmed Working On Category title instead
     
  19. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I dont want to flame here but what I meant is that some guides are not-user friendly and I found one guide of Moonshell 2 to be easier for me

    What I meant for disgusting to look at is that you have two guides on the same topic. and then another different path to follow on the same guide. My eyes would just blink on which one to follow. I like a direct guide on one card and different to another card.

    When I say something like this, just pretend Simon Cowell is the one talking to you. I like your guide/s
     
  20. CannonFoddr
    OP

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I take it you don't like my 'new update additions' for AKAIO firmware (the blue lines) then & you'll prefer it if I had a separate post of virtually the same guide but with just those few lines changed in it ? [​IMG]

    A 'Moonshell 2.03 & YSMenu on Acekard 2i with SDHC support using AKAIO firmware' post perhaps ?? [​IMG]
     

Share This Page