1. gbazone

    OP gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    I have my switch in the proper recovery mode, but in terminal I get:

    File "./shofel2.py", line 8, in <module>
    import usb.core
    ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'usb'

    Any ideas? Same thing happens when I try Kate's exploit. My Switch is plugged into the Macbook Pro (which has USB3).
     
    Last edited by gbazone, Apr 24, 2018
  2. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,301
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    install python usb
    sudo apt-get install python3-usb
     
  3. Deathscreton

    Deathscreton GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Country:
    United States
    I remember seeing a fix for this error on the forums. Let me see if I can't help you find it.

    Nvm, guy above fixed it.
     
  4. gbazone

    OP gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    Since I'm on OSX I used easy_installer and then pip instead of apt-get. There was only pyusb and not a python3-usb in the repository. Still getting the same error in terminal shown in my first message.
     
    Last edited by gbazone, Apr 24, 2018
  5. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,301
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Only thing I can say is: Install VMWare and run proper Linux! :teach::rofl2:
    Can't help you with that otherwise :/ :(
     
    gbazone likes this.
  6. gbazone

    OP gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    I'll just boot up a USB Ubuntu. Thanks for trying.
     
  7. Pottsy292

    Pottsy292 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got this same error last night when doing this on my Mac

    Used this approach

    sudo easy_install pip
    and
    sudo pip install pyusb

    But that error means pyusb is not installed properly
     
    Last edited by Pottsy292, Apr 24, 2018
  8. gbazone

    OP gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    Someone on IRC helped me. Try this: sudo python3 -mpip install pyusb
     
    spotanjo3, NekoMichi and 0000ff like this.
  9. AnalogMan

    AnalogMan ultraSuMoFramework Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,915
    Country:
    United States
    Code:
    pip3 install pyusb
    Would have worked fine too.
     
    NekoMichi, The Real Jdbye and FahQ like this.
  10. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    on mac os this works indeed tnx:
    `
    pip3 install pyusb
    `
     
  11. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    on mac os this works indeed tnx:
    `
    pip3 install pyusb
    `
     
  12. kaygeee

    kaygeee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Netherlands
    on mac os this works indeed tnx:
    `
    pip3 install pyusb
    `
     
  13. gbazone

    OP gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    This thread is so old. Glad it's still useful.
     
  14. nando

    nando GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,264
    Country:
    United States
    i just started getting this error after an os x update. pyusb says it's installed.
     
  15. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,271
    Country:
    Norway
    Make sure you have installed it in the right python version, if you have both 2.x and 3.x installed. Python 3 uses pip3 instead of pip
     
  16. nando

    nando GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,264
    Country:
    United States

    i had both. i did a python3 reinstall and now it works again :)
     
  17. gbazone

    OP gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    I haven't upgraded to Catalina because I've read about a lot of issues. They added new security measures. I still send the payload from Terminal. My lazy one is like:

    cd Downloads
    cd fusee
    sudo ./fusee-launcher.py whatever.bin

    Same as it was the day it came out. I think I had to get Brew (https://brew.sh/) to get Python running properly.
     
  18. nando

    nando GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,264
    Country:
    United States
    damn. so now i updated firmware to 10.1 and it fails to send headers to tinfoil
     
  19. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,483
    Country:
    United States
    Try using Awoo Installer instead.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - ModuleNotFoundError, running, exploit