Hacking Modmii d2x-v6

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
I am trying to build v6 d2x cios with modmii, but I fail with ret -1022 at wad install. Any ideas where I have gone wrong? I just replaced to modules in modmii with the v6 modules and built the wads. Worked fine for v4, but v5 and v6 give me ret -1022. I get the error on all base ios while installing content 1/22.

1022:
Wad Install Error: Content did not match hash in TMD
 
T

TheRealVisitor

Guest
mauifrog said:
I am trying to build v6 d2x cios with modmii, but I fail with ret -1022 at wad install. Any ideas where I have gone wrong? I just replaced to modules in modmii with the v6 modules and built the wads. Worked fine for v4, but v5 and v6 give me ret -1022. I get the error on all base ios while installing content 1/22.

1022:
Wad Install Error: Content did not match hash in TMD


Make sure you have used "modules/d2x-beta" folder inside Modimii. Even if v6 is final you have to use this folder structure. Copy the content of "modules"-folder from v6 into Modmiis "modules/d2x-beta"-folder and try to build them again.
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,004
Trophies
0
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,294
Country
United States
XFlak said:
were the cIOSs marked "valid" by modmii? fyi even d2x betas should be marked as valid
Until this is resolved, I'm going to blame ModMii, and you as the creator, for this error.
tongue.gif
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
Ok, so I did put the modules in the wrong place. I deleted modmii, reinstalled modmii, made a d2x beta folder and extracted the modules there. Now I have a beta option in modmii, it creates the v6 cios but fails the hash check. Still getting ret -1022.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
11,654
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
5,080
Country
Cyprus
u bastard!
tongue.gif

edit: that was @ joostin

edit2: @mauifrog, Etheboss had the same problem, but before using his fix, can u test something for me. I think the problem can be fixed in a batch file, and thus can be added to modmii as a precautionary measure for ppl in your situation

save this code into a new text file, then rename it from *.txt to whatever.bat, then just run it (don't run as administrator, it shouldn't be required and I want it tested with normal rights first)
Code:
set PATH=%homedrive%\windows\system32;%PATH%

and that's it, so try using ModMii to build the problematic cIOSs again. If this works, let me know and I'll add that code to ModMii so it will set the environmental variable for everyone just in case they might be vulnerable to the same problem as u.

if it doesn't work, try what Etheboss did to fix the same problem HERE, basically the same thing as what I said above except using cmd line

edit3: why are so many smart people actually installing WADs that ModMii is calling "invalid"?? The ret -1022 info is helpful, but still, if ModMii says its invalid, I wouldn't install it

edit4: typical mauifrog behaviour, since I posted this solution he's helped 3 other ppl before helping himself. What a good guy, so selfless... or maybe I should bump this thread to make sure he's actually seen these edits, lol

edit5: reason for edit-->changed comma to semi-colon
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
So far no luck for me.
did-
set PATH=[c: \windows\system32];%PATH%
and
set PATH=%homedrive%\windows\system32,%PATH%
before and after loading modmii, it did not help.

Modmii is now giving a message at the very end the says this file has failed many times and will be skipped, it makes the wad and fails the hash.
I have deleted the temp folder and wad folder, but the message about the file failing to many times remains.
 
T

TheRealVisitor

Guest
Why this problem happens to some people and not to others? Didn't have this here. So whats wrong with their systems?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
5,920
Trophies
0
Website
DeadlyFoez.zzl.org
XP
2,873
Country
United States
TheRealVisitor said:
Why this problem happens to some people and not to others? Didn't have this here. So whats wrong with their systems?
Because every PC is set up differently. I'm sure with a clean vanilla install of windows that no one would run into this type of issue... at least as far as the PATH parameters. But yeah, that is a little strange. It's hard to imagine that with PATH would not ever include the system32 folder, and if it does then how does the PC not have other issues. But I guess some viruses can certainly cause that to happen, and women that click random things without having a clue of what they're doing. (Yes, I'm blaming women)
biggrin.gif
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
I have tried but it is not working. I can make the other cios without issue, but when I make the d2x cios it fails. When it builds the cios it says it has failed to many times and is skipping something. This message persists even after I uninstall modmii and reinstall it. How do I clear modmii's history?
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
11,654
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
5,080
Country
Cyprus
It has nothing to do with clearing history. The problem is signing the 00000000.app file, for some reason ModMii cannot convert the modified hexdump back into a binary on your PC, and when it tries it actually creates an empty 00000000.app file. The 0000000.app file needs to be 64bytes in order for u to be able to install it on the Wii (doesn't matter what content is in the file though). If u use ModMii v4.5.5 to build the d2x cIOSs, it won't attempt to sign them, and u'll be able to install them despite the fact that ModMii will report they're invalid because they're not signed like the d2x-beta package expects. If you install unsigned cIOSs apps won't be able to recognize what cIOS is installed since it's missing the signature.

Try running setting the environmental variable as an administrator. ie. right click the batch file u made and run it as administrator. Or right click cmd.exe and say run as administrator then type in the code manually. Also try doing a windows update.

edit:
Can you also try setting up UNEEK with switch2uneek? ModMii creates "nandslot.bin" (saved to root of USB) using the same method to create the 0000000.app file. So try setting up uneek with switch2uneek and let me know if USB:\nandslot.bin was successfully created or not. Since your having issues building the 0000000.app file I suspect it will create an empty nandslot.bin (0KB) when it should be 1KB.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    :whip: You
    forgot to apologize
    +1
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Still morning to me.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    I'm sorry lord kenethk.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Forgive me.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    You have been forgiven
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Thank you.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    School sure is fun. I have to fill out a chart with median income for certain fields of study.
  • Swagboi308 tempBOT:
    Swagboi308 has joined the room.
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    so im in multiman game section and refreshed and cant see the games off the usb help?
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    nvm i had to change the usb folders name to "GAMES"
  • torpedo_XL tempBOT:
    torpedo_XL has left the room.
  • dragonmaster @ dragonmaster:
    16 years over the gbatemp i am starting to feel ancient one :P
    +1
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    You've been here since before I was born.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    16 years and only 500 posts
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Might've been an eof shitposter.
  • hallo23 @ hallo23:
    R A T I O
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    how do i show my games on the xmb? do i need webman mod?
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    how to display games from multiman
    on the xmb?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    These are thing you should probably
    asking in the PS3 section on the forums
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    yea youre right sorry
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    We don't get new emotes with the updates forum?
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Where is my food emotes. :blink:
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: 🙄