?
  1. Yes.

    130 vote(s)
    91.5%
  2. No.

    12 vote(s)
    8.5%
  3. 142 voter(s)
  1. EeZeEpEe

    EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted everyone to know I hacked my fourth Wii with this guide. No problems all four times. [​IMG]
     
  2. jo11yr0ger

    jo11yr0ger Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    I can't get ios 70 patched using dop ios. I am on on version 4.2e and its just freezing when i try. I've been trying to get hackmii to run but its not having it due to an earlier install of cioscorp 3.5. i upgraded my firmware by accident and homebrew disappeared so i am trying to get all back to the way it was. I can only launch programs with bannerbomb but nothings working usb loader black screen. So i'm guessing its ios 70 problem.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  3. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,501
    Country:
    Canada
    use banner bomb to launch wad manager and use IOS250 to install a non-fakesigned IOS30 v1040 (u can get it from nus downloader). If it errors, try uninstalling the wad, then reinstalling after, don't worry, IOS30 is not used by the wii anymore, it has been stubbed, so there is nothing u can do to ios30 that will harm your wii. You may also want to install a non-fakesigned IOS61 (to avoid upside-down homebrew channel later)

    Then use bannerbomb to run the hackmii installer and it should work this time. If it doesn't work, repeat the process above except this time install a non-fakesigned IOS36 (available via nus downloader) instead of ios30 (but ios30 should work, so try that first).
     
  4. Swakoo

    Swakoo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Senegal
    hi there, the stickies are proving to be very neatly compiled and I would like to say thanks!
    am using a d2ckey hardmod set, and have not been following with the scene until NSMB came along...

    anyway, unknown to me, I just realised someone updated my wii to 4.2u already through the official update channel...

    I read on the other sticky: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890 and the steps provided are for upgrading wii to 4.2 that were already previously hacked. It mentioned "virgin 4.2" steps will follow eventually. I don't see any there. does that mean the steps are not out yet?

    Over here, it starts off by guiding on updating to 4.2 the homebrew way it seems, not the official update channel, only to start teaching how to hack the wii for 4.2 only. which leads me to believe this guide is 4.2 ready.

    my one big question: can this work on an already official 4.2u wii? there's not softmod whatsoever existing in my set. only hardmod.

    thanks!
     
  5. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,501
    Country:
    Canada
    yup, xzxero's guide can softmod ANY wii, as long as its is not korean
     
  6. Swakoo

    Swakoo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Senegal
    hi xflak40,

    thanks for the assurance [​IMG]
    Just to re-iterate, I just jump straight to "Modify 4.2 wii" since I am already on 4.2 (though 'virgin'). yeah? cos reading the "Update to 4.2" section it just seems to suggest the wii should have already been be soft-modded before.

    am looking at this too to cross-reference
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-faqs-g...stem-menus.html

    Doing some serious reading here haha

    btw, a 2nd question: My aim is to play the NSMB, and i read occassionally about using a certain v15 of CIOS. This guide does not address that issue yeah?

    gone are the days where i can just pop in my backups to play directly with my modchip hahaha...
     
  7. Devante

    Devante Crescent fresh at best.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the guide.

    I followed it exactly to upgrade from 4.0U to 4.2U and it worked great.
    Now NSMB works from disc channel using retail disk and from USB Loader GX off the hard drive.

    One thing though.
    Now when I try to ue bannerbomb to load up hackmii installer, it freezes my wii as soon as I select Data Management > Channels > SD Card.

    I've tried with two SD cards.


    The only steps I didn't do were under Modify 4.2 > Delete Stubs >
    Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS223 & press A to delete.

    ... because they weren't there.

    Any idea on why I can't use bannerbomb now?

    Thanks for the guide again!
     
  8. EeZeEpEe

    EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    That's the old way to install bannerbomb. Use the SD Menu in the System Menu. The one next to the settings button.
     
  9. Devante

    Devante Crescent fresh at best.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah. Good to know. Worked like a charm. Thanks EeZeEpEe!
     
  10. MysticX

    MysticX Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    When I´m using the Priiloader, what am I exactly to do so that I can restore a Wii when I can only make an IOS backup of my nand?

    And, if something like that would occur, how would I do it? I feel that a guide should be included in this awesome guide.
     
  11. Swakoo

    Swakoo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Senegal
    another thing, would i still need zelda twightlight princess for this?
     
  12. longtom1

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Country:
    no zelda hasn't been needed for a while now use a different method called bannerbomb no disks needed
     
  13. Doft

    Doft Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Brazil
    I sent an email to [email protected], but haven't received a response... is it normal to take so long?

    Also, do I have to format my SD card to use it in my Wii?
     
  14. Swakoo

    Swakoo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Senegal
    are the files hosted somewhere independently?

    if my set is hardmodded, after successfully soft-modding the set, i will retain the option to load games either through the usual way (bypass using modchip) or use the softmod method?

    i read conflicting claims that soft-modding won't brick the set, but without preloader it will... haha paranoia lol
     
  15. Mr. Shizzy

    Mr. Shizzy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States

    Just curious, why is it necessary to remove/rename those files?
     
  16. EeZeEpEe

    EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    They're backup files that you don't need on the SD card. NAND backups also take up 500+ MBs of space which could be used for something more useful.
     
  17. razorback78

    razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    just look into this link: http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/unbricking. this is a modify any wii guide and not an unbricking guide that's why xzxero did not include what you are asking for. anyways the link i shared with you is an unbricking guide made by gbatemp tut makers crew including xzxero.
     
  18. kT0wNk1ll@H

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Jamaica
    GREAT WORK!!!

    Thanks for this guide, it helped me downgrade my 4.2e wii to 4.1e so that I can play US games. Really concise and easy to follow, thank you so much for your work on this and keep the guides coming.

    One comment, be sure to download the latest version of PriiLoader, the version that came with the zip file was old and didn't work correctly on my Wii, but I downloaded the newest version and it worked like a charm, thanks again.
     
  19. harroxelas

    harroxelas Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can anyone help me out?
     
  20. razorback78

    razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    cios38rev15 have some issues with neogamma. read this: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=190800. might as well install rev14. though rev14's DIP does not support dual layer discs. however, the easiest way to fix this issue is to burn the game into a dvd+r then BOOKTYPE it to DVD-ROM.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Modify, below,