Hacking Missing 1 step.

JE78

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
I'm on system 4.2, I installed the Home Brew Channel, DVDX and BootMii Boot2, I did a backup of my NAND to my SD card successfully. My next step was to beable to play some backup games so I followed steps 1-5 for the Restoring the Trucha Bug (4.2) guide, then installed Waninkokos cIOS (249 and 250) I went back to step 6 in the Restoring the Trucha Bug but when I scroll over to IOS70 its not there. I was able to get NeoGamma to run in my HBC but wasn't able to load a backup game on DVD. I've only tried 1 game so far (Mario Bros Wii) and it was from DVD not a USB loader as I don't have a USB drive big enough yet. My main question is how do I complete step 6 for Restoring the Trucha Bug??
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
if you are already at 4.2, definitely you have ios70. it is stated in the guide to use dop-ios then locate the ios70 for it to be patched.

if your are ONLY softmodded then you cannot run NSMB wii off the disc channel. you HAVE to have a modchip to run it off the disc channel using neogamma FOR NOW. try using other backup disc that you have.
 

JE78

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
I did what the guide said.
QUOTE said:
Run DOP-IOS. Go right till you see IOS70. Choose yes for every option and let it install. Reboot your wii.
but when I scroll right ios70 isn't an option. All the other steps worked fine so I'm not sure why ios70 is missing. Is there a way to get it back?
 

JE78

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
So all I need to do is run DOP-IOS Mod and select IOS70 to install, then go back to step 6 of the Trucha Bug?
 

Dmon84

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Stuttgart
XP
40
Country
Gambia, The
You can also try PimpMyWii (1.3 not 1.31) to install IOS70 and patch it.
Step 6 is the installation of IOS70, so if you have success with DopIOS or PimpMyWii, that point is done.
 

Dmon84

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Stuttgart
XP
40
Country
Gambia, The
Take care while installing IOS70. If anything goes wrong your Wii is bricked.
But usually there should be no problems. So just select IOS70 to install and patch it (Trucha, Es_Identify...).
As mentioned above you can use DopIOS, DopIOSMod, PimpMyWii or just download IOS70 to your PC using NUSD. If you use the last one then you should patch the IOS using FreeTheBug and install it using a wad manager.
My personal favorite is PimpMyWii because it has an option to install all needed IOS (Option 1).
 

JE78

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
I downloaded IOS70 and patched it using FreeTheBug and installed it using WAD Manager, everything was successful. I then went back to step 6 in Restoring the Trucha Bug and IOS70 still wasn't showing up.

Now the biggest n00b question of all. The game i'm trying to load is Mario Bros Wii from a disc, I know it won't load from a disc according to all the posts i've read. Whats the best route to go for playing backup games? External Hard Drive, USB Flash Drive or SD Card? I have a 2gb SD card and a 2GB USB flash drive. Do I need to get more storage? Also is there a program that will compress the ISO's? Mario Wii is 4.5gb unpacked but packed it was 350mb. Is there a way to play the games packed?? Any information here would be very helpful, thanks.
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,064
Trophies
2
Location
This planet
XP
2,937
Country
Belgium
well, if you say you already installed it, then whats the problem?
No need to patch it again

I think USB loading is the best option for NSMB Wii
2GB is enough for that game
 

dai-a

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
351
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Springville Utah
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
115
Country
United States
If you installed IOS70 freethebug wad then you don't need to trucha bug it.

Trucha bug restorer is only for IOS15 and 36.

After you have the trucha on 36 (which you do), You can use DOP IOS MOD to install other IOS' with Truchabug.
 

Dmon84

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
129
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Stuttgart
XP
40
Country
Gambia, The
Use your USB flash drive. Format it to wbfs and copy your game. I use USBLoader_cfg or Uloader to launch. If you save your game on a wbfs partition it shrinks it automatically. So your USB drive should be large enough to save your game.
 

JE78

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
Thanks! Are there any games that are easy to run so I can test to see if my system is working properly?
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,064
Trophies
2
Location
This planet
XP
2,937
Country
Belgium
almost all games are easy to run
tongue.gif

some just need that 002fix thing, others the alt dol thing (which is a little harder)

they should run from DVD (and USB if you have an usb loader)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The mechs of mw2 really don't feel that bad
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Neither do the mechs of mech warrior 2. Much better game.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    People would say different if cod Gundam was a thing
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Omg do you know how much money I would spend if that was a thing? Especially if you get to assemble the gundams somewhat like those old model toy kits. The answer is zero dollars. I would spend zero dollars. It would still be so good, though.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Liar
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    $118.49
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    I bought 1-2 switch, imagine my pain
    +2
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    for full price at launch
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Full price at launch for full exploitability without modchips. Or so I hear.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You should like buy a 3rd one and ship it to my address
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    No no lads, the game called 1-2 switch
    +1
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Where you feel the controller vibrate and guess how many virtual ice cubes are inside of it
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You should still buy me a switch so I don't have to pay for it
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    best game on the switch amirite
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i just saw a video yesterday that mentioned how it's a good thing 1-2-switch wasn't a pack in title because it would've made everyone lose faith in the switch immediately and they might have a point
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    It was this one, The "video" Jdbye watched this one. :P
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    What no The Real video Jdbye?
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, Quake is great.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    QUAKER OATS! :P
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Remember to eat your oats
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I prefer to nuke my oats. At quake.
    +1
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/as489gU7sLo?feature=share