Homebrew Minicraft: 3DS Homebrew Edition

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
I agree with people mentionning a way to select items with the touchscreen though.
Maybe set 4 "quick select slots" on the bottom screen and when you press them, the item that is bound to that slot is equipped (if in your inventory) ?
And to bind items to these slots, press these slots while in the inventory when the desired item is selected ?

(Also, in my opinion, the B button should exit the Pause menu and return to game).

Not entierly sure about how to arrange the bottom screen for that.
My first idea was something like this, but it might be too confusing:
bottombg.png


edit: Idea 2:
The bar would show like "Quickselect Slots"
The eight slots would only show the symbol of the Item:
bottombg.png
 
Last edited by andre111,

Coleman_C18

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
429
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
345
Country
United States
Not entierly sure about how to arrange the bottom screen for that.
My first idea was something like this, but it might be too confusing:
View attachment 33777

edit: Idea 2:
The bar would show like "Quickselect Slots"
The eight slots would only show the symbol of the Item:
View attachment 33779
the second one for sure, symbols are really all we need :)
 

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
Ok, so the quickslots show the eight latest used items(only changed by menus/power glove, using the slots themselves will not change the item order) and you can switch to them by touching them as long as no menu/inventory/... is currently opened:
Screenshot.png


edit: Closing the Pausemenu with the "decline" button(default: B) will of course also be in the next release

edit 2:
I'm sorry but I don't understand what you want exactly:
You should make map markers, that would be pretty cool.
 
Last edited by andre111,

Davideesk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
395
Country
United States
This new rendering method sadly is a bit more complex to perform, so the o3DS performace is a bit lowered. I'm doing my best to improve it, but I might not be able to guarantee a stable 60 FPS under all circumstances on o3DS. Pretty much all natural occuring things render with 60 FPS, but with the right tileplacement it can drop to 50 right now. n3DS of course is unaffected

From looking at your sprite sheet, it seems you got rid of the look-up tables that I had for those tiles. The reason why the rock-tile took up 3 entire rows was for the sake of performance, since trying to dynamically figure it out is CPU intensive. If you need more space you can just make the tile-sheet bigger since the GPU can support up to 1024x1024 textures (Just make sure that the width and height are both powers of 2).

And sorry guys that I haven't updated in a while. I was finishing up finals a few weeks ago and currently enjoying the holidays. I'll try to have a 1.0 version out soon with updated libraries.
 
Last edited by Davideesk,
  • Like
Reactions: hobbledehoy899

catlover007

Developer
Developer
Joined
Oct 23, 2015
Messages
722
Trophies
1
XP
3,945
Country
Germany
maybe assembling the sprite sheet from seperate images at runtime would be a better option because then the texture packs stay compatible, even in forks with more features
 

Davideesk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
395
Country
United States
So version 1.0 is now released, and the game is officially out of beta now. This version doesn't really add anything besides updated libraries and bug fixes, since the game was technically complete in beta build 5. There will be no future content updates from me except for bug fixes, as I want to focus on other homebrew projects that I'm currently working on. You can look forward to what other people, like andre111, are doing with the game.

Change Log:
Version 1.0:
* The game is finally out of beta.
+ Updated libraries (Now works with latest version of ctrulib and sf2dlib)
+ Updated .smdh file
+ Lava lighting no longer pops in and out of existence. (thanks andre111)
+ Fixed some minor bugs
 

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
From looking at your sprite sheet, it seems you got rid of the look-up tables that I had for those tiles. The reason why the rock-tile took up 3 entire rows was for the sake of performance, since trying to dynamically figure it out is CPU intensive.

Actually the checks needed are allready present in your code and by doing it in the right way it isn't much more work for the CPU.
But actually doing draw calls seems to be the most expensive thing.
Once I added a simple check to draw tiles connected to all sides as one 16x16 piece it ran a smooth 60 FPS on the o3DS again.
 
Last edited by andre111,

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
So because Davideesk released Version 1.0 I'm calling my next Version 1.1.
(Davideesk if you don't want me to number my Versions after yours just tell me what I should do instead :) )

So here is my Version 1.1: https://github.com/andre111/Minicraft3DS/releases/tag/v1.1
Short changelog:

  • Quickslots
  • Reworked Tilerendering
  • Placeable Sand

edit: Next update will take a while as I have a lot planed
 
Last edited by andre111,

The Minish LAN

Bisexual Socialism
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
551
Trophies
0
XP
698
Country
United Kingdom
currently making an Undertale Texture Pack
the font is 70% finished
i haven't started on anything else yet actually

btw i didn't read the entire thread yet so if someone already did this i'm going to be salty
 

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
So here I present Version 1.2.
It has a lot of stuff that has to be extended in the future, but I have to start my University work again tomorrow so I'm releasing it now.

Download: https://github.com/andre111/Minicraft3DS/releases/tag/v1.2

Changelog:
  • Added 3 passive mobs: Sheep, Pig, Cow
  • Added 2 aggressive mobs: Skeleton, Knight
  • Added mob drops: Wool, String, Raw Pork, Cooked Pork, Raw Beef, Steak, Leather, Bones(more uses for the items are planned)
  • Added Loom and Enchanter Craftingstations(more recipies will folow)
  • Added more Walltypes: Stone, Iron, Gold and Gem
  • Added Bow and Arrows
  • Air Wizard can be resummoned and drops Dungeon Keys
  • Added Dungeon
    • Can only be entered using a Dungeon Key
    • Saving is disabled in the Dungeon
    • Once you leave it it dissappears and when you enter it again it will be a new Dungeon
    • Right now it sadly doesn't contain anything really worth it(but it does give access to renewable Ores)
  • Added Day and Night Cycle
    • Added Fireflies
    • No real impact on Gameplay(yet)
  • Added footprints on sand
  • Added Inventory/Crafting Titles
  • Added small speedhack to lava lighting(o3DS still drops when there is a lot of lava on screen, n3DS stays on 60 FPS now)
  • Fixed Light on lava being of center
  • Fixed Air Wizard Projectiles sometimes breaking like everything

(Some of the Mob Sprites have been taken from Minicraft+, but I'm not sure who the original Author is as they also appear in a lot of other mods for the original Game)

edit: Attached updated Default Texturepack
 

Attachments

  • data.zip
    27 KB · Views: 178
Last edited by andre111,

Hayleia

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
1,485
Trophies
0
XP
1,294
Country
France
Great, I love the idea of dungeons, can't wait to see what you can come up with for them in a next update :D
But do I need to make a new world to get a dungeon door ?
 

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
Great, I love the idea of dungeons, can't wait to see what you can come up with for them in a next update :D
But do I need to make a new world to get a dungeon door ?

No the Door will appear at the center of the lava level.
I made sure all new additions work with old worlds.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hayleia

andre111

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
184
Country
Germany
For all people that allready downloaded Version 1.2:
Please redownload and install it again as I found a bug which could break the game in weired ways.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Meta what's @Psionic Roshambo onlyfans password