1. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    Well my new 3DS XL arrived in the mail, I've done some searching around and my card seems to be working on other 3ds xl systems. Maybe I have the files configured incorrectly? I'm on the latest firmware, I thought that was my issue until I Read r4s message.

    I'm on kernal 1.68b with firmware 5.1.0-11U

    I seem to be getting this error

    [​IMG]

    Borrowed from thread : http://gbatemp.net/threads/updating-r4i-sdhc-3ds-with-dsi-xl-having-an-issue.333821/

    I also have this rv card

    [​IMG]

    The answer is more than likely right under my nose and I'm just having a hard time finding it or I'm just blind. Thanks for all those who can help and sorry if this is the wrong thread.

    It worked fine on my DSi xl so I know it's not knackered.
     
  2. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Did you actually RUN the firmware update? Kernel updates work by simply putting them on the MicroSD, but firmware updates do not. You need to actually launch the firmware update on the R4 while it's running...

    Which means that now, you need another DS to do the update since your 3DS will not run the R4.
     
    kenenthk likes this.
  3. xxing17
    This message by xxing17 has been removed from public view by p1ngpong, Jun 6, 2013.
    Jun 6, 2013
  4. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    Yeah I did, so this means I'm pretty much screwed? I thought the fw had to be updated to the latest then you update the r4 cart.

    Are there any other carts I can get now that'll run on my 3ds xl?

    What about
    R4I SDHC 3DS RTS Card

     
  5. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
  6. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    I tried reading that I'm just having a heard time of knowing which flast card I should get, I know it was very dumb of me to do that.

    Will it force me to update when using 3ds game?
     
  7. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    If a 3DS game need a newer firmware then your 3DS has, then it will require you to update before the game will play.
     
  8. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    The r4i sdhc 3ds rts is claiming to work with the latest update unless I'm reading it wrong.

    Thanks for being patient with me glad to see a place where people aren't total jerks to people that don't know what they're doing. :)
     
  9. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Please read the text at the bottom of the "which flash cart" so you know why we don't suggest clones and carts from certain sites/teams...
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, they are not jerks. The description was true at the time it was released. The vendors just basically copy and paste the description, without bothering to update if there is a new 3DS firmware out.
     
  11. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    Its just a bit confusing because I'm told not to buy this then you say you cant recommend any. But I understand. :)
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    DSTwo or a R4ids.cn R4i Gold are the best carts

    what sticker does you R4i SDHC currently have? does it have 1.4.1, 1.4.2 1.4.3, 1.4.4, 1.4.5, V4.5, V5.0, RTS ???
     
  13. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    I'm not seeing any numbers it just has a seal that says truth inquiry, so rts may do it? I only have $20 on my card to spend on one. :P
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Fishaman P Speedrunner
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    United States
    In case you can't see the image in the OP, it's an RTS.

    EDIT: If you're asking which card to buy, don't even consider anything but the R4i Gold from r4ids.cn, the Supercard DSTwo, or the Acekard 2i. Regrettably, I have trouble recommending the AK2i now that the team has abandoned the card.

    The R4i Gold is cheaper, but the DSTwo has an embedded processor for in-game menus, juiced-up emulators, and battery draining.
     
  15. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    i would not go for a R4i-SDHC card as they drop there cards very quickly but its up to you

    personally i would go for a R4i Gold by the R4ids.cn team
    http://www.zhuzhuchina.com/store/pr..._5_compatible_wood_rev_c_rts_max_1_piece.html

    then it supports wood so you will have less problems with games
    and has the Firmware updates released faster

    the image on the op is a gif and cycles through them
     
  16. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    Actually I Got the wrong image so I apologize for that It actually isn't a rts.
     
  17. Fishaman P

    Fishaman P Speedrunner
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    United States
    My mistake, I thought it cycled through RTS and no indicator, I didn't see the v4.5. Well, it isn't even an RTS.
     
  18. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
    It doesn't have rta on my card so I'm guessing it's a a v4.5 since it wont work with my latest updated firmware?
     
  19. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    v4.5 does work
    it should say on the card

    e.g
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  20. kenenthk

    OP kenenthk Village Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Burkina Faso
  21. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    kenenthk likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Might, Flash,