MicroSD Reader Problem

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by snipes634, Sep 2, 2009.

Sep 2, 2009

MicroSD Reader Problem by snipes634 at 1:18 AM (1,870 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. I ordered an AceKard2i from realhotstuff.com and received it today. The cartridge and the microSD card work perfectly, no problems/complaints/questions. But the microSD reader is having some trouble. I first put the microSD card into the microSD reader, and then plugged it into my computer. It worked good. I copied a folder of 5 ROMs onto it and forgot to get the firmware for it. I took out the microSD reader and then took out the microSD card and put it into my AceKard2i cartridge, and put it into my DS. Then, of course, it told me a system file was missing, because I forgot the firmware. I went on their website, and got the firmware. I put the microSD card into my microSD reader and plugged that into the computer. I got a little notice that said that said what I plugged in was an Unknown Device, and that it may have malfunctioned. I checked the details, and it also said that the drivers weren't installed. Please help me fix, thank you! (thanks for putting up with my long message)

    P.S. : I have a Windows XP.
     


  2. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    those readers from flash cart teams is never reliable

    usually, on my side being unknown doesn't mean i can't access the microSD
    a) have you try unplug it and try it on another usb port?
    b) try restarting the PC then test the reader
     
  3. chickenmatt5

    Member chickenmatt5 3DS n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    #1-
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]


    [​IMG] NO ROM TALK ALLOWED!!! [​IMG]


    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    #2-
    The micro SD card reader I got with my AK2i was like that, too. Just buy a new one.
     
  4. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    1. Extremely sorry about talking about ROMs, I just wanted to point out thats what I did, sorry won't do it again.

    2. Is that the only solution? Because I'd rather not spend my money for another one lol
     
  5. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    When you unplugged the reader from the USB port, did you dismount it first? As in, use the "Safely remove hardware" option first? Because if you didn't, your microSD is most likely corrupt.
     
  6. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, I just unplugged it carefully...... so I guess it's corrupt?
     
  7. chickenmatt5

    Member chickenmatt5 3DS n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    Get a SD card sleeve and a SD card reader.
     
  8. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You can talk about ROMs all you like. You just can't request them or post links to where you can download them.
     
  9. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Never unplug a usb flash device without stopping it first. If you can, try another microSD in the reader.
     
  10. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's not the card, because I took out the card and put in the microSD reader WITHOUT the card, and it still didn't work. (unless that doesn't matter?)
     
  11. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    When you say it still didn't work, did it give you an error? When I plug the reader into my PC without a microSD card inside, it doesn't do anything which is expected because it has nothing to access.
     
  12. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, sorry for late response (I was out to get a new microSD reader, but of course, every store was closing >.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    yeah you can talk about roms all you like, just don't upload roms to gbatemp and don't post links where others can download roms.

    -another world
     
  14. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude you can talk about ROMs like that... don't go so mad over it. It's asking/giving ROMs that isn't allowed.

    And example that would be okay is "I patched my clean untrimmed ROM and copied it to my micro SD card to play".

    But yeah, just try a different card reader. I use a Sandisk one, work great [​IMG]
     
  15. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Which adapter did you get? I got the tiny plastic one with a string attached at the end. I've tried with two different micro SD cards and it doesn't work at all, I think it came DoA, but I don't really care, the adapter that came with my R4 SDHC also didn't work more than twice before it died out. After that I've just bought a proper SD card reader and It works really well, no card problems at all in 2 years.
     
  16. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well I got a small silver one with a black cap on the end that said MicroSD and then under it it said USB 2.0 and it had a small red light whenever I plugged it in.


    By the way, if I use the danny phantom hack, is there a high chance it's going to brick your acekard? Because I see a few people who have been bricked.
     
  17. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    There is always a chance, but if you follow the instructions it should work properly. Also, If you have another cart (any), you can even fix a bricked Ak2i by reflashing it.
     
  18. snipes634
    OP

    Newcomer snipes634 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so today I'll go to the store and get a new one. And yeah,if mine bricks I'll just get another one and unbrick it. Thanks!
     
  19. Primenay13

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    The easiest thing to do is to format your card, and don't use the windows built in format utility, use the Panasonic SD Formatter it works way better.
     
  20. Primenay13

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    The easiest thing to do is to format your card, and don't use the windows built in format utility, use the Panasonic SD Formatter it works way better.
     

Share This Page