Microphone not detected in games

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by xtcrefugee, Feb 6, 2012.

Feb 6, 2012
  1. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a 4.3e PAL Wii, hacked using ModMii just over a month ago, and am using CFG for USB loading, from an NTFS drive. Every game I've tried so far plays fine, but I've recently bought a Polaroid mic (for Wii, PS3, Xbox, etc) and have been trying a few of the singing games. The hard drive is connected to the lower USB port (isn't detected on the other) so the mic is plugged into the upper port. I have tried a few USB hubs but don't seem to have a Wii compatible one.

    We Sing Encore plays fine, detects the mic without problems using the default options (IOS in slot 249 I guess).

    But I cannot get We Sing UK Hits to detect the mic at all. According to http://gbatemp.net/topic/318130-we-sing-uk-hits-mic-not-working/ it should work with 223 or 224 (hermes) or 250 (d2x). ModMii installed cIOS223[37-38]-v4.wad, cIOS224[57]-v5.1R.wad and cIOS250[57]-d2x-v7-final.wad so I presumably have these. I have tried all the IOS options in CFG (inc. 223 mload, 224 mload, 249 and 250) with and without IOS reload blocked, and cannot get the game to detect the mic.

    I also have the same problem with Now That's What I Call Music: Dance and Sing, which also doesn't give me the 'sing' option (so I guess it's not detecting the mic) regardless of which IOS I choose.

    Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong here, or what I can try to get these games working? As it works fine in We Sing Encore the mic can't be at fault, can it?
     
  2. fatherjack

    Member fatherjack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ModMii installed cIOS224[57]-v5.1R.wad for 224. I know there is a cIOS224[37]-v5.1 but I obviously don't want to overwrite anything MobMii has installed. So what's the solution? Install to a different slot?
     
  4. fatherjack

    Member fatherjack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, you could install Hermes cIOS to a different slot if you wanted, but I dont see no harm installing over the one in slot 224 now. You could always RE-install base 57 cIOS back if you wanted, but I fancy you wont see any adverse effects - base 57 is slightly faster but 37 improvesd compatability
     
  5. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you installed with modmii then
    hermes base 37 is installed into slot 222
    base 37 merged 38 - 223
    base 57 - 224

    I have a logitech mic and all the games work fine under 249 (d2x v7 base 56), 224 as above has to be used on a couple of games to stop microphone lag
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    223/249 will cover mics best. That doesn't apply to headsets though, they need base 57 (224/250).
     
  7. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks fatherjack, I grabbed cIOS223[37]-v5.1R.wad and cIOS249[37]-d2x-v7-final.wad with ModMii and will try those in spare slots.

    Kittymat - nope, ModMii installed hermes v4 base 38 in slot 222. So in fact ModMii does not install any rodries mod of hermes (which I believe fixes an issue where both USB ports are used at the same time - sounds relevant!) with base 37, which is (I'm hoping) the problem.

    JoostinOnline - as I understand it, the slot number isn't important. You can install any cIOS to any slot (ModMii allows you to change the slot as needed). As I mentioned, I've tried d2x with base 56 and 57 (usually slots 249 and 250) and while this works with We Sing Enore, it doesn't with others. From the sound of things it may depend on the microphone manufacturer.
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I thought you were using the recommended setup from ModMii. You shouldn't have installed base 37 in 223.
     
  9. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear. I did use the recommended ModMii setup. It doesn't install any base 37 cIOS by default (just hermes v4 37 merged 38 in 223), that's what I was saying.

    According to fatherjack and what I've read on other threads, I'll need to try a base 37 as I've had no luck with the usual cIOS's installed. So I have downloaded hermes/rodries v 5.1 and d2x, both base 37, and will give those a try. I don't want to mess with anything ModMii has done though, so I'll try installing to unused slots (248 is free think, maybe 251 - not sure it makes any difference...?)
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You want 38 merged with 37. Here is the setup I recommend:

    202[60]v5.1 rodries mod
    222[38]v4
    223[38+37]v4
    224[57]v5.1 rodries mod
    249[56] d2x v7
    250[57] d2x v7
     
  11. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I've mentioned, I've tried that and it doesn't work for my mic.
     
  12. fatherjack

    Member fatherjack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi xtcrefugee,

    either of those slots should be ok - just make sure the slot you choose is supported by the loader you want to use so you can select it in the individual game setting :)
     
  13. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks again fatherjack.

    I tried installing base 37 v5.1R (and also tried v5) to slot 247, and installed base 37 d2x v7 to 248.

    I've not been able to test with the mic yet (left it with my girlfriend) but neither 5.1R or 5 in 247 seem to work. I get a setwbfs: -128 error when loading any game in configurable usb loader, and WiiFlow doesn't give me the option to select 247 (only 248-250).

    Installing base 37 v5.1R to its usual 223 slot works fine. I guess this is something to do with "mload" as cfg uses this for 223 but I can't see how to enable it for other IOS's, such as 247...?

    d2x in 248 is also working fine.

    Sadly, it looks like I won't be getting "Now That's What I Call Music" working with this mic as it hangs on the title screen with both of these.
     
  14. xtcrefugee
    OP

    Newcomer xtcrefugee Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately, after all this I still cannot get certain games working with this mic - I think it HAS to be down to the mic itself now as I've tried every cIOS that might have worked with no success.

    So I guess the lesson here is don't cheap out and get a Polaroid mic like I did, get a Logitech instead :(
     
  15. TheOtherMii

    Newcomer TheOtherMii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    true that. i got a logitech with my guitar hero setup, works nicely. only reason I'm chiming in is I haven't seen d2x base 56 mentioned. I used to have to use hermes 224 base 37 for all my mic games... i was surprised to realize recently that d2x has the mic working just fine now, as i had all my game settings wiped and it defaulted to 249 for all my mic games. i use d2x7final base 56 in slot 249 and its been the best cios yet.... full mic support, and I can finally play my DLC from SD in Guitar Hero. I hear there's a v8 out now, but haven't tried it. give it a try... if it doesn't work after that, i would say it's most likely your brand of mic, and might not even work with the retail disc(?). I know my games specifically refer to it as a "logitech" mic.
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Then apparently you didn't read like any of the posts. :P
     
  17. FoxSky

    Newcomer FoxSky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Mauritius
    Hi, sorry if I'm reviving an old thread but I have the same issue with Sing It 2016
    I have an USB mic and when I play the game dvd it says please connect usb mic
    I'm not sure what Wii mod I have but I use Neogamma R9 b47 ISO249 Rev20
    I tried to look around but i'm not sure exactly what I need and I'm scared to brick my Wii.

    I don't know how to change base or get hermes

    Can you please help me?
     
    Last edited by FoxSky, Jun 11, 2016

Share This Page