Metroid Prime Trilogy error

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by alex.ap.pacman, Sep 13, 2010.

Sep 13, 2010
  1. alex.ap.pacman
    OP

    Member alex.ap.pacman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Country:
    United States
    Using USB Loader it gives me the following options:

    [​IMG]

    EXCEPT that when I choose to load the separate game .dols instead of the Default .dol, the savedata doesn't appear in my "wii saved data" area.

    To make it even worse Loading the regular dol lets me create save data but doesnt execute the games. I tried to load Metroid Prime 1 from the Trilogy IGM and it reloaded my IOS.
     
  2. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Either play it from disc or with Sneek
     
  3. synce

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure I understand your problem but I'll copy-paste a little txt file I created long ago to remind me how to play these games [​IMG]

    If first time playing Trilogy, launch game
    with USB Loader GX making sure to turn on
    "002 fix." After creating system save, reset.

    From now on, if you want to play a certain
    game in the trilogy you must load the boot
    menu and select the appropriate DOL.

    Note: make sure IOS 222 is always selected.


    Maybe it'll help maybe not, not sure what you're trying to do exactly...
     
  4. halofan89

    Newcomer halofan89 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey i have some really nice interesting news for all the Loading error fix's

    So let me firstly tell u my story of what problem i had.

    My wii is the first batch an its updated to 4.3E an its now Softmodded [​IMG] etc.

    i first bought MPT ages ago an it never worked for my wii only MP3 worked grrr, so i left it for a year.
    After a year wen t past i had learnt how to do stuff like wiiflow an others (easy bits).

    So this is how i fixed it.

    I came to this site can read an few stuff an found ppl talking about cISO's an corp's stuff etc. so for sum reaason i clicked an thought of course. i went straight to my wii an put disc n a bing my Mp2 an 1 an 3 are now working [​IMG].

    This is the reason why it fixe= I used a small program called PIMP MY WII to do a Full scan an Fix my cISO's [​IMG]

    i didnt buy it nore did any dol changing.

    So guys girls give it ago try PIMP MY WII [​IMG]

    EDIT:
    just use PIMP MY WII an reboot then put in wii drive an play like that no usb loader or wiiflow or neo gamma. Worked for me
     
  5. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You can play mpt without need alt dols or anything now though. Functions exactly the same as a retail disc.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Install d2xv6 with base IOS56 as IOS249. Update your usb loader to the latest version, set it to use IOS249 for MPT, enable the IOS Reload block, and then just start the game's main menu.
     
  7. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Nice going. You bumped a way outdated thread to advise a program you barely know what it does to give an answer that's not exactly what was asked in the first place.


    ...but since you're new here, I'll take it you have the best of intentions.

    Here's the thing: pimp my wii installs a bunch of cIOS on your machine (not cISO's...wich is incidentally an existing but completely different term in wii hacking). Which ones? I bet you don't even know it, and you have them on your machine.

    Does it work? Yes. Probably. I dunno. I don't keep track of pimp my wii, or darkcorp, or any other "one click to do everything" solutions...because cIOS are rarely final and are still being developed. More importantly: if nintendo comes out with a new firmware version that stubs some more of their IOS, programs like pimp my wii can become auto brick-your-wii programs (Waninkoko had a program that did that at one point: it downloaded the latest version of nintendo's server and installed that on your wii. Then a firmware update came along, and that program effectively started installing stubs on user's wiis).
    Going by your description, pimp my wii also overwrites all the standard IOS with custom counterparts that don't have the antipiracy check in them. Unfortunate for them, other homebrew developers develop their stuff to be used on REGULAR IOS (as in: the IOS you get with a nice, standard wii). It may be nice to know that you can play all sorts of backup discs, but be aware that the drawback is that if team twiizers releases another version of the HBC, it will flat out tell you that it won't install because you've got infected IOS on your machine.

    (it's kinda like manually tweaking your car. It's all nice and fun as long as the thing drives really fast...but it will also mean your local garagist won't touch your car anymore because he doesn't want to be responsible for the consequences).


    The part where your solution is most flawed is that metroid prime trilogy was only playable on disc. the OP asked for an USB solution, for which there was only a semi-one (it's even in the screenshot: you can play the individual games, not the overall thing. and only on veteran setting).

    and yes: was. A couple weeks ago, team d2x properly fixed it (as the previous posters mentioned). With a new USB loader and the correct cIOS, is now playable on USB drive.

    ...which kinda illustrates my point about it being better to learn a few things and follow this stuff yourself rather than rely on a program that hides its own flaws.
     
  8. halofan89

    Newcomer halofan89 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well i dont mind, im just happy about playing my game aslong as it loads i dont mind. i like Pimp My Wi cos it let me have my wads working. i couldnt get MMM to load any of the wads for n64 games etc. if it defaults an give problems in future no worries i got loads of cash i just get new wii or make some crappy excuse to nintendo iv already done that for a 4 friends of mine for free [​IMG].

    Thanks tho for telling me though.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Don't suggest Brick My Wii again. It's fail. It patches all of your IOS's and updates your cIOS's (latest doesn't always equal best). It's messing with way too many things at once.
     
  10. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    for vc wiiware better use mightly channel or sneek
     

Share This Page