Metroid Prime Trilogies Help...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sorox, Apr 7, 2010.

Apr 7, 2010

Metroid Prime Trilogies Help... by Sorox at 1:16 AM (1,014 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Sorox
    OP

    Member Sorox Master Firo Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, So i hacked my Wii before the Backup Launcher was out, most of you know me from back then, etc, etc. I'm running Sys. Menu 3.2, but I've used many methods to have my Wii updated with everything from the other Updates (sd card menu, etc) My brother recently BOUGHT Metroid Prime Trilogies and it won't read in our wii. I've tried running it through the System menu, Gecko, even NeoGamma, but they all tell me Disc Read error. Now I know most of you are thinking "It's probably just broken..." But that's not the case here. This is the 2nd time we've bought it. The 1st time, that's what we thought, so we exchanged it for a new copy, but same scenario.
    Things I have installed on my wii:
    Cios Rev 14 (i think..)
    IOS 249 or something like that
    CIOSCORP
    Priloader
    Had Bootmii, but I lost my SD card. Most of my stuff is launched off usb these days.

    So anybody have a solution? And yes, I've already searched GBATemp. Google won't seem to load on my PC either.
     
  2. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Based on your settings, I need one more piece of information.

    Did the error happen immediately when trying to load the disc, or does it happen when trying to load Metroid prime 3?
     
  3. Sorox
    OP

    Member Sorox Master Firo Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Country:
    United States
    Immediately. Thinking it kight have been software issues, I updated to 4.2, cIOS rev17, and installed IOS 55. No changes. I'm thiniking my DVD drive just might be F'd, but my regular games and my backups still work. It's just this one game.
     
  4. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hmmm...

    First, upgrade to cIOS249 rev17, and install DARKCORP v1.0.
    And then purchase the Official Nintendo Wii Lens Cleaning Kit (I think they're about $10), and use it as per instructions.

    And then MPT should work.


    ...do you have SSBB?
    If so, are you having the same problem with it?
    If so, this should fix it too.
     
  5. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Have you tried just playing it through the disc channel, normally?

    I had problems with my retail disc too. Takes about 5 goes untill it'll read it. My Wiikey could have something to do with it but most likely the laser.
     
  6. Dispel

    Member Dispel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Latvia
    is it your only DL (DVD9) game ?
     
  7. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    I never could get my retail copy of MPT to work right with cioscorp installed. Changing rev versions never seemed to make a difference.

    MP3 would only run off the retail disc if I launched using the alt-DOL way in Neogamma. Usually MP1 and 2 would launch if I ran the game through disc channel, but not always, and sometimes with major glitches.

    After I uninstalled cisocorp, the retail disc worked just fine.

    So... my suggestion, uninstall cioscorp and see if it will run, just to rule out a dirty laser or disc. You can always reinstall cioscorp (or darkcorp, I see the new version's called) again later if you want.

    I in no way intend to bash cioscorp/darkcorp by anything I've said. I liked it while I had it installed, and probably would've kept it if not for these issues when I tried running MPT. I'll probably give darkcorp a go at some point, just to see if it makes a difference, but I mostly use USB loaders now anyway, so I'm in no rush to start experimenting.
     
  8. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I'd have to suggest the Wii lens cleaning kit.
     

Share This Page