Methods for Upscaling

asc53087

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I was just curious as to what everyone's preferred methods for upscaling textures were. Personally, I like to use ESRGAN and try to use different models depending on the art style of the game involved. I'm not really good with hand painting or redrawing textures, so batch upscaling is really the only way for me to do anything with it, though I do try my best to find a model that works the best for the particular game I'm working on.

Last edited by asc53087,
Reactions: abdulrahman19910

JuanchoTexHD

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
Argentina
I was just curious as to what everyone's preferred methods for upscaling textures were. Personally, I like to use ESRGAN and try to use different models depending on the art style of the game involved. I'm not really good with hand painting or redrawing textures, so batch upscaling is really the only way for me to do anything with it, though I do try my best to find a model that works the best for the particular game I'm working on.
I reccomend RealESRGAN with the better fit model depending the game (convert with various models and look in paint.net at same time to see best result) for the big textures 1024 gives pixelated borders, 2048 is the optimal size. After that you can take 2 ways: leave as is or improve it, from the color things to the definition/detail thing, that part is experimentation, but beware of purists and softer lovers, they hate the detail in ancient games and you need to explain the difference between detail and brute sharpness...

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom