Metal Gear: Twin Snakes on NeoGamma R17 - Freeze and won't load

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by charleskimble, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. charleskimble
    OP

    Newcomer charleskimble Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I have NeoGamma R7 backup launcher installed but I can't seem to get my copy of Metal Gear: Twin Snakes to run!~

    I have other GC backups confirmed and working, such as Resident Evil series, Zelda Twilight Princess and such, but for whatever reason, when I try load Twin Snakes, it freezes right at the Konami logo. I've tried different clean dumps, and same problem. I've tried different types of DVD-Rs, including Taiyo Yudens, Verbatins, etc. all with the same problem.

    Can anyone offer any advice? Am I doing something wrong?

    Is there a better alternative to running GC backups? A different channel altogether? I read something about WiiGator..? If there is an alternative, does anyone have a How-to?

    Thanks in advance~!
     
  2. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Yes get Wii Gators Gamecube back up launcher
    and Patch your mios to v8
     
  3. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have mios rev 8 installed but have the same problem with this game. it freezes on intro movie which is pap.
    Tried on multi boot disc = fail, tried on single discs (disc 1 and 2 on a dvd each) = fail.

    if you figure this out can you let me know what you did, i used to love this game and it hurts not being able to play it since i sold ma cube.
     
  4. vinzanity

    Member vinzanity GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Philippines
  5. charleskimble
    OP

    Newcomer charleskimble Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    vinzanity, are you using Wii Gators backup launcher? Where do you get this from? Is there a step by step tutorial??

    I'm using NeoGamma R7, and there is no 'option' to run a game using "B", not that I've seen. Can anyone clarify?

    Thanks~
     
  6. stingray1059

    Member stingray1059 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    Philippines
    hope they REmake it for the wii, with just 1 disc and new controls, just like they did with resident evil.
     
  7. charleskimble
    OP

    Newcomer charleskimble Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Bump...
    Anyone with any help?
     
  8. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    holding 'B' to start game worked but it freezes still, does it work with multiboot dvd? ie disc 1 and 2 on one disc?
     
  9. charleskimble
    OP

    Newcomer charleskimble Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    C'mon, there must be someone who can help me out~!
     
  10. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe it is the NTSC version which causes problems correct?

    I have a real PAL version and it works. Try a PAL version. Yet again I use a modchip.
     
  11. charleskimble
    OP

    Newcomer charleskimble Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Just to update the thread, I still have not found a fix for this problem.

    I have found a PAL version and I have the exact same problem.

    PLEASE!~~ Anyone help~~~!!!
     
  12. charleskimble
    OP

    Newcomer charleskimble Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    BUMP

    Anyone?
     
  13. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cant get it to work still either... i am giving up on this one.
     
  14. Dmon84

    Member Dmon84 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Country:
    Germany

    Just use Wiigators Gamecube Backup Launcher 0.2 http://gbatemp.net/?act=module&module=...member=WiiGator. There you can press B on startup to use a patched MIOS. That should help.

    By the way i use the cMIOSv3 (MIOS v8) from Waninkoko.
     
  15. LxTrix

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    Using Neogamma r7 and cMIOSv3 Metal Gear Solid goes to konami screen and then goes black. I have pal version and force ntsc.

    I also want to get this to work.
     

Share This Page