1. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    Does it have to be from a PC? I currently have the Drastic on my phone and I'm constantly switching back and forth from my phone to my 3DS...

    Retroarch uses Desume and load the game fine but the touch screen doesn't work though if it's too much a hassle I'll only use melon on games I haven't started a game in. Sometimes pokemon freezes on melon
     
  2. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't have drastic, not even an android phone, so I can only help you so much. RetroArch desmume won't help you since the export backup memory feature is exclusive to the standalone computer version.

    Regarding the freezes in Pokemon, can you give me some more details? Do you use Atmosphere title replacement? Do they happen randomly or is there some logic to it?

    Has anybody else experienced something similar?
     
  3. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    +
    I'm playing pokemon soul silver and it randomly freezes and yes I use the atmosphere title replacement. If I use album mode the game just crashes. Well I'll just use my 3DS for DS games for now
     
  4. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Israel
    The new build works great! It seems I need to overclock much less this time. Sonic Colors is playable with 1224 MHz, and Mario 64 DS Is nearly full speed with Max OC.
    If the next update improves performance as much as this one did, I believe everything should be at least playable.
     
  5. tman708

    tman708 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Any idea of when this build might be integrated into retroarch for the switch?
     
  6. Blue_Mew

    Blue_Mew GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,574
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for the noob question but where are the latest builds being posted? All I see is main release that's September 2019 and the JIT version that's October 2019.

    Tried both, main one works fine for FPS on Black 2 but sound is very glitchy and JIT version won't find my ROM.
     
  7. angelhp

    angelhp GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Country:
    United States
    https://gbatemp.net/attachments/melonds_switch_r3_fix2-7z.197123/
     
    Last edited by angelhp, Feb 24, 2020
    Blue_Mew likes this.
  8. Blue_Mew

    Blue_Mew GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,574
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is online implemented in the Switch version of Melon or am I using it wrong? I connect to MelonAP and just get a connection error.
     
  9. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    it's unsupported on switch and can't be implemented because it requires features which aren't supported by the switch os.
     
    Broduskii and Blue_Mew like this.
  10. ayssia

    ayssia Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    "Literal Optimizations" causes black screen in Dragon Quest 6, in the casino.
     
  11. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    thanks for reporting, can you give me a save file for some further testing (they're located right next to the roms in /roms/ds)?

    I already have an idea how to make literal optimisations more reliable, but we have to see how well it'll work.
     
    Broduskii and angelhp like this.
  12. Schiit

    Schiit Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    @catlover007 did you ever get that flipgrip? I'd be happy to make that happen for you.
     
  13. Sorathehero2

    Sorathehero2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I got the proper files needed for MelonDS to run and they're all in sd/switch/melonds, but it comes up as missing. I'm running Atmosphere through Hekate via the sysNAND.
    Is there a reason why it isn't recognising the .bin files?

    There are images in my quoted message.
    edit: found out I had to make a "melonds" Folder in the sd root
     
    Last edited by Sorathehero2, Feb 26, 2020
  14. IviFdez

    IviFdez Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello @catlover007, I found a graphic error that I don't know if other users have already done so. But in 3D games like "super mario 64 DS", the touch screen slows down and its fps go down a lot but nevertheless the other screen works correctly.
    Thank you very much for your effort
    ^_^
     
    Last edited by IviFdez, Feb 26, 2020
  15. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    Germany
    yes, thanks to @uzimakiuchiha , though it will still take some time until it's arrival. Thank you anyway!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    can you be more precise, what do you mean by "the touch screen slows down"? Both the GUI and the emulation run from the main thread, which causes the GUI to slow down if the emulation does the same, is this you're describing?
     
    uzimakiuchiha likes this.
  16. Blinksidex

    Blinksidex Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Guys for people using SXOS, melonDS works perfectly fine on SXOS. I know the devs say it doesn't support SXOS but I have been using it on SXOS for a while now. I don't want misinformation being spread about melondDS not working on SXOS.

    To make sure it works on SXOS be sure to have the program NRO2NSP and just convert the NRO file into NSP and then install it on your Switch and you are good to go. Have been playing Pokemon and a few others well on my SXOS Switch.
     
    Last edited by Blinksidex, Feb 27, 2020
  17. Blinksidex

    Blinksidex Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I can upload the NSP I used if the SXOS users need it. I just made a new one from the latest one that was posted here in this thread.

    EDIT: I have included the NSP file below. You will still need to setup the roms folder and BIOS folder. Also drop the NRO below file within the BIOS folder and you are good to go! Happy gaming!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Blinksidex, Feb 27, 2020
    Purple_Shyguy likes this.
  18. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,241
    Country:
    Portugal
    Good to know but please remember to edit it instead of double posting. It is against the rules, you know. ^_^
     
  19. uzimakiuchiha

    uzimakiuchiha GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    "Not supported" is not the same as "doesn't work" it just means dev's aren't working to fix issues you encounter on that os
     
    Craftyawesome likes this.
  20. olive069

    olive069 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Nicaragua
    @catlover007 : What a great job with MelonDS!! NDS emulation near perfect!
    Can we expect a new version in a few days?
     
    Last edited by olive069, Feb 27, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - melonDS, Switch,