May get a supercard ds2 got some questions

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by haddad, Aug 26, 2010.

Aug 26, 2010
  1. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    1-Is it true I can play mp4, avi files without any special homebrew program?
    2-Is it true we dont need to download any OS (example: akaio for acekard) and drag it into the root of the mmc to make it work?
    3-Is it true that we dont need to download a gba emulator file to play gba games, cuz the gba feature is already IN THE supercard? We just drag and drop .gba files to play em?
    4-Is it true that whenever there is a new update for an OS (if needed) it download's it automatacally and updates?
    5-And so far I have seen the main menu for the supercard ds2, and it is always pink, can u change that?
     


  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    1. IIRC, that feature's coming
    2. No
    3. Yes
    4. No
    5. Yes
     
  3. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    How about the 1.4 update for the dsi? Is there a fix to make it work for the supercard ds2? Do I need a ds lite to make it work?

    So bascially the insallation is I drag and drop the OS like akaio right?
     
  4. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    While the GBA emulator comes with the EOS package (operating system), when it needs updating you will have to manually drop the plugin in the correct folder. They also have a homebrew which allows you to update the EOS, GBA emulator, probably some other things too soon.
     
  5. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    K, so the installation is pretty easy right? Cuz I want to order a supercard ds2 soon. My first flash card was the acekard 2i (as u can see lol) and I heard the ds2 is the best of them all cuz faster processing, and gba emulation without a slot-2 [​IMG]
     
  6. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    And also, is there no need for dldi patch like the acekard? does this card have that feature?
     
  7. 1Player

    Member 1Player GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    dark corners of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    okay, the EOS for the dstwo, comes with the GBA emulator, and moonshell
    if you want other plugins you can download as needed and install is very easy, just drag and drop into "_dstwoplug" folder

    there's a folder in the NDSGBA called gamepak, that's where you drag and drop gba roms,
    if you want to save space on your memory card you can leave the gba roms unzip and and the GBA emulator can still play them

    the OS won't update automatacally, but there is a plugin called "DS2Tool" it will let you download and udate OS, NDSGBA, patch, and even skins via wep wifi...kinda like the acekard/akaio
    link for DS2tool
    http://forum.supercard.sc/thread-6268-1-1.html

    and yes you can change the skin
    http://gbatemp.net/t228211-dstwo-skins?
    there's plenty to choose from
    and remember you can always change skins using the DS2tool as well

    After I got my dstwo I sold my acekard and bought 2 more...dstwo isn't even fully complete and it's already the best flash cart for the DS
     
  8. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    What do u mean its not complete? Are u talking about the IIRC feature which allows u to play music and video files?
     
  9. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    They promised snes emulation and video playback, yeah.
    It has good NDS game compatibility though.
     
  10. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its not fully complete, because all the features mentioned as selling points for the supercard dstwo aren't fully working at the moment! although they are being heavily worked upon! new updates come out very frequently! just today the beta for the snes emulator was released for reviews, which is huge news!

    i used to have an acekard2i also, and i'd have to say the supercard is one hell of an upgrade! order up sonny!!!
     
  11. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    So all there is left is the SNES emulator and video playback? Any more features to be released?
     
  12. 1Player

    Member 1Player GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    dark corners of the internet
    Country:
    United States

    Yep, and it looks like the snes emulator might be out very soon..
    you should go and buy this flash cart..
     
  13. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1- That will be here in the future sometime.
    2- No, you need to download the EOS from the supercard DSTWO website LINKY
    3- No, you also have to download this also on the DSTWO website.
    4- No you have to download it manually from the supercard forums LINKY
    5- DSTWO-Skins, nope you can change it [​IMG]
     
  14. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your DSTWO won't need to be pudated for FW 1.4, however if there is a futher update by Nintendo which blocks flashcarts you will need to update it.

    Updating the DSTWO's firmware is easy, you simply place the firmware update onto the MicroSD card. When you power on the DSTWO, it will detect the firmware update and start updating.

    This is all independant of the DS, it's just using it for power. If for example Nintendo released FW 1.5 which blocked flashcarts and you updated the DSi, the Supercard would be able to update via the same DSi once a firmware update was released.
     
  15. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    So once I get it from ShopTemp (for example) I dont need to use it on a DS Lite first and update it like I did with my acekard?
     
  16. 1Player

    Member 1Player GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    dark corners of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    Nope...the dstwo don't even udate that way
     
  17. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    K, thanks
     
  18. Sterling

    Member Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Also, Supercard has made the SDK open to developers, so you'll see more features for the DS TWO. One example is the DOS emu for the DS, is being ported over the DS TWO.
     
  19. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Also this may be a stupid question but it does have cheats enabled for all nds games like the acekard 2i right? >_
     
  20. 1Player

    Member 1Player GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    dark corners of the internet
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page