Mario Galaxy 2 4.2 Update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pokefloote, Jun 4, 2010.

Jun 4, 2010

Mario Galaxy 2 4.2 Update by pokefloote at 6:09 AM (2,940 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 4.1 currently, instead of using the update method on the retail disc, can I just manually install the 4.2 menu .wad alone without having to re-install backup loading and homebrew related things?
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The system menu isn't even what matters here. Installing IOS56 will stop the disc update.
     
  3. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    56-v5405? Coulda sworn I already updated that one.
    Thanks I will do that. [​IMG]
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I'm pretty sure it was IOS56, anyway. Either way, the easiest way to use retail discs is to have Gecko OS autoinstall the required IOS for you assuming you don't have updates blocked.
     
  5. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Yepp, 56 didn't change the need for an update.
    I guess I'll just upgrade to 4.2 and re-install everythin'.
     
  6. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Why not do the Gecko OS thing?
     
  7. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Well I read on a forum's list of required updates for specific games, and under Galaxy 2 it says system menu 4.2, while most other games are just simple IOS. Wouldn't Gecko update it the same?
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    No game actually checks the system menu version so I don't see why Galaxy 2 would be any different. Besides, it runs just fine on my 4.1 setup so yeah.
     
  9. pokefloote
    OP

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, after some searching I found I just have to block disc updates. It also needed the latest IOS56 like you said, so thank you. :]
     
  10. Pete666

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    do you think nintendo have stop making updates???

    Since november with NSMBW they didn't release one, and the one with galaxy didn't ask me to update even if im only on 4.1!!!

    they fucked up last time with 4.2...
     
  11. Kamina84

    Newcomer Kamina84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have the game personally; however, i recall NSMB Wii was trying to make you update to a newer ios file and install a newer Boot2 (Which would eliminate Nand backups for boot2, even if you already have 4.2). My recomendation, update to 4.2 from a safe updater (NOT THRU NINTENDO), and install Startpatch to block disc updates. That's my 2 cents. [​IMG]
     
  12. eldi

    Newcomer eldi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    works fine on 3.2 for me
     
  13. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Updating boot2 was a useless move on their part. If your Wii has the vulnerable boot1, then all you have to do is reinstall BootMii after the update. And in every case I've heard of the update prompt is triggered by not having the same revision or higher of a particular IOS. As long as that's installed, the game doesn't care what's going on in the system menu or at boot2. NSMB Wii worked like that the same as any other game.
     
  14. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I got asked for an update with Red Steel 2 (retail disc) and I had updated to 4.2 officially before hand.

    I wanted to know what it wanted to install. I ripped the game, looked in WiiScrubber and could find anything I didn't have.

    I did an internal scan before, updated with the disc and did another internal scan after and the results were unchanged.

    I still don't know what it installed but I did notice that with Dop-Mii, it didn't put all the IOSes in printed on screen in the .xml file. :/
     

Share This Page