Making a Partition on Hard drive

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Binxy, Aug 8, 2010.

Aug 8, 2010

Making a Partition on Hard drive by Binxy at 8:17 PM (1,502 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Binxy
    OP

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm trying to make a bigger partition for my usb hard drive yesterday, and I am told to use swiss knife.
    I get the program, run it, and go to change the NTSF to FAT. The shit program crashes, and now I can't access the hard drive.
    I can access it in device manager but it doesn't show up in "Computer" on a Windows 7 32 bit.
    Just wanted to know if there is fix to this or am I screwed?
    Thanks in advance.
    P.S Yes I did back up everything from the hard drive.
     
  2. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So when you plug it into the computer it doesn't show up?
     
  3. Binxy
    OP

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Well, pretty much.
    When I have the drive plugged in and I click on computer it takes FOREVER to access it.
     
  4. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Plug in your drive first then follow the instructions.

    1. Log on as Administrator or as a member of the Administrators group.
    2. Click Start, click Control Panel, and then click System and Maintenance.
    3. Click Administrative Tools, double-click Computer Management, and then in the left pane, click Disk Management.
    4. Right-click the drive, partition, logical drive, or volume for which you want to assign a drive letter, and then click Change Drive Letter and Paths.
    5. Click Add.
    6. Click Assign the following drive letter (if it is not already selected), either accept the default drive letter or click the drive letter that you want to use, and then click OK.
    7. Go back to Computer and check if the drive is listed there.
     
  5. Binxy
    OP

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to do what you said but I run into a problem.
    I get into my control panel, and I see a tab called "system" but not "system and maintenance".
    Unless you meant system then maintenance?
    If that being the case. I click on system and my options on the left are. Device manager, Remote settings, system protection, and advance system settings.
     
  6. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Open Computer Management by clicking the Start button, clicking Control Panel, clicking System and Security (should be there), clicking Administrative Tools, and then double-clicking Computer Management.
    2. In the Navigation pane, click Disk Management.
    3. Right-click the partition or drive that you want to change, and then click Change Drive Letter and Paths.
    4. Assign a drive letter if one has not already been assigned, click Add, click the letter that you want to use, and then click OK.

    I don't really know, I don't own Windows 7. Also I forgot you were even on Windows 7.
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed
     
  8. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks lol.

    @OP - Read my edit.
     
  9. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    No problem.
     
  10. Binxy
    OP

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Well that didn't work. I double click disk management, and it just sits at "Connecting to Virtual Disk Service".

    I think I'm pretty much screwed.
    Thanks for the help anyways.

    Think I'll throw it off the roof of my house so I can atleast get some enjoyment out of it.
     
  11. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It just sits there? So it can't even detect your C drive?
     
  12. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Wait a bit more. It could still be gathering information. You could always try GParted LivecD.
     
  13. Binxy
    OP

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Took a look at GParted LivecD, and it says something about Linux x86 computers.
    What does that mean? I am on Windows 7 ultimate 32 bit.
    Will this hurt my computer?
    I mean it is one thing to lose a hard drive but the entire computer would down right suck.
     
  14. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    On the topic of your hard drive, I think that you have damaged it or the partitions are messed up in a serious way. You also probably reverted to a RAW drive which will make your drive lose its data.

    I reread your post, thowing it off your house made me lol.
     
  15. t^2

    Newcomer t^2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    IOS36
    Country:
    Canada
    When partitioning, I find that Acronis Disk Director is one of the best. You can run it from inside Windows, or you can make a bootable USB key containing it. For your current problem, if you cannot get into Admin Tools -> Disk Management (give it some time) and assign a drive letter, it might be worth just nuking the drive since you backed up your data. I mean, there's software that could likely fix the filesystem but it would take just as long as nuking it if not longer.

    If you do manage to assign a drive letter and you can't access the filesystem, try this:
    Start -> Run -> type "cmd" without quotes and press enter
    Try the following commands, where "x" is your drive letter:
    chkdsk /i x:
    chkdsk /r x:

    A similar problem happened to me about 6 months ago, but it was more my fault. My data also was not backed up, and though I was able to run a program to recover it, the whole process took about 3 days. And that was on a pretty fast machine.

    Hope this helps.

    Edit: If you do wish to recover your partitions, you probably can. Find some recovery software, it should be able to fix your corrupt filesystem. But again, this will take a very long time and if you have your files backed up it really isn't worth it.
     
  16. Binxy
    OP

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    So I got the hard drive to show up on disc management and it was set in RAW format. Trying to format and it is sitting at 12% right now.
    Hope this works.
    Well if not I ordered a 2tb hard drive on friday.
     
  17. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, if you are formatting then it will work. But incase it didn't work, when you throw it off your house make a video of it and post it on youtube lol.
     

Share This Page