1. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    So i removed my sd sd card to put in some cia files but now when I try to boot it up it gives me an error of "Failed to apply 1 firm patch(es)" and from what i i looked at its a luma thing but i tried changing the boot.firm file but no success. I am running luma 8.1.1
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,261
    Country:
    United States
    Update to Luma3DS 10.0.1
     
  3. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    How exactly do I do that?
     
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,261
    Country:
    United States
    alexander1970 likes this.
  5. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
  6. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,261
    Country:
    United States
    Nope u didnt
     
  7. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Bruh what. I literally did that unless i i am doing something wrong??
     
  8. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,261
    Country:
    United States
    Def doing it wrong
     
  9. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Explain
     
  10. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,261
    Country:
    United States
    If u did it as I said ud be on 10.0.1
     
  11. squee666

    squee666 Advanced Tech Pleb
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,752
    Country:
    If you correctly copied the boot.firm it would say luma 10.1

    Unless you didnt reboot the console and left it on the boot menu.

    Either way copy and pasting drag/drop is hard
     
    Last edited by squee666, Feb 19, 2020
  12. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,540
    Country:
    Germany
    @Owaishakir What is the exact size of the boot.firm on your SD?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  13. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,880
    Country:
    Canada
    Im going to guess that they copied the entire .7z folder to sd card and didnt extract the contents.
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  14. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,261
    Country:
    United States
    LOL sounds like it
     
  15. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    I did extract it and its still nothing that changed
     
  16. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,540
    Country:
    Germany
    Again: Please tell us the size and possibly checksum of the boot.firm file on your SD.
     
    lone_wolf323 likes this.
  17. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,880
    Country:
    Canada
    It should of had a boot.firm file that your pc would ask to copy replace or rename.
     
  18. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    227 kb

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yep. Replaced it still no success
     
  19. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,540
    Country:
    Germany
    That is Luma 10. I thought as much when you mentioned having replaced the file in your original post of this thread.


    Worked before adding files to SD, tried changing boot.firm…
    ============

    If it worked before removing the SD, you had at least Luma v9.1. For whatever reason (contact issues, dying SD, file system corruption…) boot.firm is not found on SD and B9S falls back to the (outdated) copy on CTRNAND.

    The fastest thing you can do is trying another FAT32 formatted SD with only Luma3DS boot.firm (v9.1 or v10.0.1) on it to see if the console boots with that.

    I recommend checking the SD(s) in question for defects and fake:
    1. Copy all your data from the SD to a computer. Reformat the SD to FAT32, 32kb cluster size, if bigger than 32GB and using Windows with guiformat.
    2. Check your SD Windows, Linux, OS X.
      • If you get any errors replace the SD.
      • If you get no errors copy your files back on the SD and try again.
     
    Last edited by KleinesSinchen, Feb 19, 2020
  20. Owaishakir

    OP Owaishakir Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
     
Draft saved Draft deleted