Gaming LOZ: A Link Between Worlds

mashers

Stubborn ape
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
I grabbed LOZ: ALBW from Argos for just £15.99 yesterday morning. I couldn't sleep so I started playing through. So far I absolutely love it. It feels just like ALTTP - I love that the map and music are the same. The improvements are really fun as well. So far they don't seem to have made unnecessary, gimmicky use of the touch screen, and the 3D feels really nice in this game.

I realise this game has been out for a while and this information isn't really very helpful - I just wanted to share how much I'm enjoying it :)

BORTZ

DO NOT SCREENSHOT
Supervisor
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I think for a lot of us, it tugs at old nostalgia strings, and not necessarily anything new and interesting. I finished the game in 7 hours, albeit I did the least needed to reach the ending. It has a lot of interesting issues that can make or break the game, depending on how you feel about them. Ravio is completely unnecessary as a character and quite annoying actually. The world of LTTP is a dark one, and he brightens to mood to something almost comical and out of place. His shop is another issue. Why make all the weapons available right away? Sure you can pick and choose which dungeon you go to, but why in such a blatant manner? Items could have been side-quests, randomized within dungoens, or found elsewhere. Buying them and losing them if/when you run out of hearts is really gimmicky.

I didn't hate the game that much, I just found myself doing things like saving a lot, and reloading if I happened to die. Trekking all the way back to Ravio is a real pain, and his prices are even worse. I found myself saving and one-shotting dungoens to avoid the same thing. It wasnt so much bad, but weird.

Muffins

Banned
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Mr. Bortz, you do realize that later in the game you can actually make the choice to purchase (not merely rent) the items so you don't lose them when you die?