Low level brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sunny_smiley, Oct 16, 2009.

Oct 16, 2009

Low level brick by sunny_smiley at 1:24 PM (2,214 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. sunny_smiley
    OP

    Newcomer sunny_smiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
    Hi everyone,

    I fortunately have been reading gbatemp for quite a long time, and managed to get some information already, but further assistance is required.
    Starting from the very beginning:
    1- I have a chip-modded wii.
    2- System menu was 3.3E.
    3- I installed bootmii as boot2 and made a backup.
    4- I installed CIOS36rev8(IOS249). http://www.teknoconsolas.tv/wanin/cIOS36_rev8-Installer.zip
    4- I installed IOS60 and patced it. http://sharebee.com/89fd03a1
    5- I used waninko's updater to update to 4.1. http://teknoconsolas.tv/wanin/Firmware-Updater_4.1.zip
    6- Installer succesfully downloaded everything and installed. It asked to press any button to reboot, what I did.

    This was the last action I did and see. Wii could not reset itself there was blank screen for a while. I pressed reset, it did not help, so I unplugged the cable.
    After turning wii on, no picture was on tv, it did not respond to anything. It accepts and ejects the discs, but nothing else.

    After searching for a while, I found out that savemii/savemiifrii might be a chance for me, thus I am getting a controller later today. However, I have no idea what to do next.

    Any help will be highly appreciated!!
     


  2. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    If you have bootmii as a boot2, I recommend just changing your bootmii.ini settings so it loads on startup.

    EDIT: What happened is his updater gets the latest IOS60, the stubbed one. Bootmii as a boot2 can save you here, use this code for your bootmii.ini in the bootmii folder in the root and do a nand retsore:

    Code:
    # BootMii config file
    # Created by bootmii config editor
    
    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=PROGRESSIVE
    
    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    AUTOBOOT=OFF
    There, now go to the 4th option in the first menu and the second option in the menu that pops up.

    Enjoy, unbricked. Oh and manually update to 4.0/4.1 by installing every IOS and installing the system menu WAD, don't use outdated auto updaters or them in general I find.
     
  3. ante80

    Newcomer ante80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Country:
    Sweden
    Create a bootmii.ini file if you installed it as boot2.

    Not sure, but how does wanin 4.1 upgrader work? Does it download the stub IOS60? In that case you need a older IOS60 to get you system working again.
    But the best would maybe be to start over by restoring with you old nand backup.

    Edit:
    Ah you beat me to it illinialex24
     
  4. sunny_smiley
    OP

    Newcomer sunny_smiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
    How do I get into bootmii? I still can't get any picture on TV
     
  5. ante80

    Newcomer ante80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Country:
    Sweden
    Check your SD card.

    Look in your bootmii folder and edit/create the bootmii.ini file there

    You must also have the runtime files needed, these are normally installed together with bootmii.
    Check that you have "armboot.bin" and "ppcboot.elf" in the bootmii directory.
     
  6. sunny_smiley
    OP

    Newcomer sunny_smiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
    on SD card I have following files:
    boot.elf
    nand.bin
    installer.log

    also there is bootmii folder, which has:
    armboot.bin
    ppcboot.elf
    bootmii.ini

    I have changed the settings as you said, but still no luck, no picture there. any ideas?
     
  7. sunny_smiley
    OP

    Newcomer sunny_smiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
    could get a picture finally. will try to recover.
     
  8. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    What settings have you chosen in the bootmii.ini file?
    If you are from Russia (as per your flag) then I guess it is PAL you require and autoboot should be off so you go directly to Bootmii to do NAND restore and not HBC.
     
  9. sunny_smiley
    OP

    Newcomer sunny_smiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
    thank you very very much guys!! it did help, and I could recover.

    I just changed autoboot setting, as it was SYSMENU, video setting remained the same. I suppose problem was with the AV cable, as initially it was connected through component, which I later switched back to AV.

    Now the question is, how to safely update the menu. I need to read some more on this.
     
  10. ante80

    Newcomer ante80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Country:
    Sweden
  11. FiveseveN

    Member FiveseveN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    North Philly
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Ok, so your not bricked anymore correct? Click here to use a guide to safely update the menu. Hope this works for you, since this has worked for many many many many times! gl!

    Fixed! Link is working now!
     
  12. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    So you had bootmii, you were lucky [​IMG]

    So what with this waninkoko's 4.1 updater bricks wii case? Is it really installing the stub ios?
     
  13. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Sadly yes. It is downloading the IOS from NUS and they are not hardcored so...

    EDIT: I dont know why ppl are afraid to install the needed system IOS and then the system wad of their choice. This is much safer.
     
  14. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    wow, do you mean Waninkoko Installer does not even check the IOS version and automatically put the last one in your Wii ?

    how smart [​IMG]
    btw, this means the 4.1 Updater should be removed ASAP from the internet, as it's just an useless Wii bricker now
     
  15. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
  16. sunny_smiley
    OP

    Newcomer sunny_smiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
  17. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
  18. brice08

    Newcomer brice08 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    France
    can i do something if i have the same problem and bootmii installed as ios and not boot2 (because it was impossible for me )
     
  19. brice08

    Newcomer brice08 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    France
    nobody know that?
    i think there is nothing to do ???
    my wii is bricked !!
    because of this waninkoko's 4.1!!
    how many people are going to be bricked ?
    you should diffused this news
     
  20. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    look at this:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=157757

    Hope it helps.
     

Share This Page