Low level Brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hackotedelaplaqu, Jan 10, 2009.

Jan 10, 2009

Low level Brick by hackotedelaplaqu at 11:45 AM (7,004 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. hackotedelaplaqu
    OP

    Member hackotedelaplaqu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Country:
    France
    Hello,

    First post on Gbatemp but also first trouble so far...

    I accidently uninstalled the whole wii systemmenu wad with wadmanager. I was trying to install a CIOS 249 pacthed systemenu but get a ret=-2150.
    I was on 3.2(EUR) with starfall installed.
    My wii starts(it seems DVD drive is spining on boot) but only display a blackscreen.
    I had starfall installed but of course, revovery mode patch was removed with systemmenu.
    In my knoweldge, it seems to be a Low level Brick.

    I knew what I was doing (not tell me I'm a noob please, reading each gbatemp post since the early scene two years ago).
    And I'm not complaining, entire fault is mine.

    I could buy a new wii but I like the challenge to unbrick.
    If I install a chip, is this a brick savemii/savemiifree can help me to fix ?
    I already tried the savemiifree method (without chip) but original Zelda TP doesn't boot nor display 3.2[EUR] on the bottom screen (logic : system menu is needed but gone).

    [EDIT] NAND DUMPER never worked for me, so I have no backup.


    Thanks in adance for your answer.

    Regards.
     


  2. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
  3. hackotedelaplaqu
    OP

    Member hackotedelaplaqu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Country:
    France
    Already seen.
    I'm on "Branch D" Low level failure (NAND SYSTEM CORRUPTION).

    Since it's not an hardware failure, I have to wait for bootmii I guess ?

    I still don't understand the ret=-21500 error (with the 2 wad : the 249 patched and the orignal system menu I backed-up).
    I never upgraded to 23october update.

    EDIT :
    Thanks for your answer QUINCY.
    Will Infectus be on any help with a wii that can't even start and no NAND previoulsy dumped ?
     
  4. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well idk,if you use IRC you can join #WiiHelp on EFNet to ask there
     
  5. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    BootMii is entirely software based.
    How will he install it?

    To my knowledge, you need a Infectus.
    And never remove the system menu, overwrite it.
     
  6. friknfrak

    Newcomer friknfrak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't had to try this yet but have it for just in case. If this is AUTOBOOT, it just might work but I agree that it seams your SYSMENU is corrupt.

    Give it a shot anyhow. Download and burn the appropriate ISO for your region, pop it in the Wii and Power-off/Power-on.
    Never know, it might save you [​IMG]

    http://hackmii.com/2008/05/semi-brick-fix-discs/
     
  7. Skarface05

    Member Skarface05 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TO use an infectus doesent he need to have a backup of his nand tho?

    Otherwise he is fucked? Yes?
     
  8. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    There are three options,
    1. Using a healthy dump of your nand flash
    2. Using your keys to rebuild another one's dump...
    3. Flash just the boot2 portion in the nand and that way install bootmii...

    1. With your healthy dump you can directly overwrite your nand flash...
    2. With someone else's dump you need to extract the dump to a filesystem and use your keys (possibly hmac key) to build the new dump that will work in your wii...
    3. Since boot2 is in a definite place in the nand you can just overwrite it with the bootmii..

    The problems..
    1. You don't have your nand dump
    2. Possibly you don't have your keys?
    3. Bootmii isn't released...

    Still for all these you need an infectus soldered to your nand flash and have the necessary software to do all the reading/writing of the nand...

    So you basically need to found a place that can do all these low level stuff or just send it to nintendo paying the repair fee...



    No publicly known procedures for all these so they are all in theory...

    also related : http://wiicrazy.tepetaklak.com/index.php/2...nts-a-new-hack/
     
  9. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Anyone knows how to use or install the infectus, or any kind of info about it????? [​IMG]
     
  10. hackotedelaplaqu
    OP

    Member hackotedelaplaqu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Country:
    France
    IMO autoboot discs won't work with a corrupted NAND.
    No healthy dump...
    No Keys...
    See my reseller today, no second hand wii ...
    I'm f**ked !
    I'll send my wii to big N for a motherboard remplacement (at least 115 € fee).

    Anyway, thanks all for your answers.

    However, the ret=2150 error on a clean 3.2 firmware makes me sick, I want to understand why ??
     
  11. Jizmo

    Member Jizmo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Country:
    United States
    My respects to the deceased. I had a loved one die on me just a few months ago. I was lucky enough to be on my last day of warranty so N sent me a new baby boy. Something you might want to try is if you have any gamestop stores around. Talk to them becasue they buy used stutt. See if they have a Wii with a broken drive in it that they will sell, or see that if anybody tries to trade in a wii with broken drive if they will call you. There's been many times I've been in there where somebody is standing at the counter trying to trade in a psp or xbox or whatever.... probably stolen. Tell em what your problem is, cashed NAND and you just need a functional motherboard. Maybe worth the effort of a phone call or visit. Depending on the people working there. I have one of the guys that works in the local store here playing lookout for me. Hes watching to try to grab broken Wii's cheap if anybody brings any in. I figure most broken Wiis as long as not coming from the hackerz should be drive problems.
     
  12. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
  13. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever your using Wad Manager, you really need to put the original Wad file onto the SD card as well. So if your system menu wad wouldnt install, then you could just scroll down in Wad Manager and install the original one.

    Take that into precautions next time.

    Its a shame Wad Manager cannot perform a "reload" function like the Homebrew Channel's incase something goes wrong with the installation process.
     
  14. hackotedelaplaqu
    OP

    Member hackotedelaplaqu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Country:
    France
    Tichinde925>Original Systemmenu WAD file was onto the SD but no way to restore it...

    Thanks all for yours answers. My wii will be send to repair tomorrow.
    May this post be a warning for other members messing with too many IOSes and system menu.
     
  15. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah i would like that feature, [​IMG] would be ideal!
     
  16. Sid Icarus

    Newcomer Sid Icarus Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Oh great, i achieved the same thing while trying to remove a softmod from my wii.... [​IMG]
     
  17. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    What do you want us to do about it?
    You don't even tell what you exactly did
     
  18. Quincy

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Exactly,if he comes crying on GBA he needs to tell EXACTLY what he did!
     
  19. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    it seems to me from reading and my understanding o how tools and the wii itself works...
    is this..

    1. you dont have any system menu on the wii anymore
    2. you do not have the ios that runs the system menu anymore....

    so without those alot of tools wont work...
    savemiifrii does not display the numbers because guess what no system menu nor the ios to run it...
    so you kinda screwed unless you can find a tool to work off of another ios to reinstall the system menu...

    maaybe if you had the cios installed on your wii you know ios249 or hell if you had ios16 and than used the custom wadmager in an auto boot disc you could fix it or patch a disc to use ios 249...

    -kitt050383
     
  20. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    Only an infectus can solve this.
     

Share This Page