Looking for advice for dismantling DSi.

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by zeello, Apr 16, 2013.

Apr 16, 2013
  1. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    I recently made this thread where I asked for ideas on dismantling a 3DS XL.
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/removing-top-half-of-3ds-xl-need-advice-instructions.346321/

    But I've decided to practice on my DSi first.
    (In addition, I'd like the help of anyone who has dismantled a DS system before, such as anything I should watch out for so I don't ruin the system in the process.)

    For starters, what tools do I need? I'm guess all I need is a screwdriver designed for tiny screws. But I think I should also grab a modeling knife, razor, or chisel. I used a chisel once to remove the cover of a laptop screen, as well as remove the adhesive black squares covering the screws, so it would probably be handy to do the exact same thing here.

    Has anyone here dismantled a DS system before? If so which one?
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    DS Fat, DS Lite (lots) and iirc a DSi too.

    They're really hard for a beginner and it's certain for you to break something. Only start practicing on a already broken console, imho.

    You just need a Philips screwdriver, a triwing screwdriver (you NEED one) and a little tweezer to help you with some connectors.
     
  3. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    I see. Thanks. Where will I find a triwing screwdriver?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Don't need a triwing for the DSi, but I tried opening mine to clean the L/R, and I could never get it back together just right, the screens were flickery or not working. I had to send it in for repairs.
     
  5. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    About a week ago, I tried changing the case of my gba sp and now it doesn't work anymore. :cry:

    But if you're really willing to do it, I suggest to find instructions on how to open and close your DSi/3DS... Don't try to figure things out by yourself, there's a right way and order to do these things. For example, I had many times opened my Dualshock Controller to fix some buttons, but I could never fix the L2 and R2 button, one day I decided reading a tutorial and I discovered I had to actually close the controller without the L2 and R2 buttons and just then push the buttons in their respective holes
     
  6. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Will the DSi work without a top screen attached?

    Some users are telling me the 3DS XL needs to think a top screen is attached for it to function. That seems to be the case with the DS fat as well.
     
  7. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States


    Huge thanks to geishroy for posting the above vid in another thread.

    Anyway, aside from the vid itself, the vid maker also provided this image:

    [​IMG]
    Now my question is: Where can I buy the bulb that needs to the attached to the system?
    And what kind (and/or size) of bulb is it exactly? So I know what to ask for.

    Thanks again!
     
    geishroy likes this.
  8. Chocolina

    Member Chocolina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Madness!

    I understand mutilating a DS into a botched GBA Micro, but I don't understand it being "practice" for the 3DS. Theres no GBA mode in a 3DS. What purpose could a single screen serve for games that require two screens? Say goodbye to Kingdom Hearts as they use bottom screens for maps. And any 3DS screen is going to have that game on the top screen for the 3D effect. Shiiieeeet I don't even think you could play Pokemon or Final Fantasy, which were like the main games for GBA. I mean if you can't play Pokemon on a GBA, then why bother?

    How does your brain work?!
     
  9. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,621
    Country:
    United States
    I think if you can close the circuit for the top screen the bottom one will work, but i dont know why you would want to do that.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    As I said in the thread you linked to in the first post, we're all advising you in crime, practically. You'll mutilate the system and there really isn't a whole lot of content that you could use on a single screen.
     
  11. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    If you do decide to do it yourself then be very careful with the ribbon cable for the touch screen. It is a very common occurrence that it gets muffed up when unlocked or relocking the connector since the component is very fragile. Soldering a new one back in is very hard to do even with the right tools and knowing what you are doing.
     
  12. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Try following a dismantling guide from ifixit.com
     
  13. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Aha! I just completely dismantled my DSi, and put it back together, and it still works!

    Though, I diced up one of the rubber squares covering the screws on the top screen... if that counts as breaking something. (purely cosmetic) I also stupidly peeled off the black square sticker underneath one of the speakers.. although this doesn't affect anything.

    Anyway, the system works without cameras... but it doesn't work without a top screen.

    So here comes the tricky part.. I need to figure out how this..

    [​IMG]

    ..corresponds to a DSi as opposed to a DS Lite

    As well as what to actually do once I find out.

    There was a tiny transparent black ribbon cable from the bottom screen that connects to the motherboard.. the cable is in such a position that I had to disconnect the entire motherboard just to get it in right. (I had to practically slip the motherboard into the cable rather than the other way around)

    I used consolezombie's youtube vid. (either of two vids: the DSi complete disassembly, and the DSi top screen replacement vid... the two vids are practically the same)
     
  14. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, this vid uses a different method. He attaches a resistor to the top screen ribbon cable. (edit: lol you can even see this in the preview image for the vid)

    DS Lite to GBA Tutorial Part 1 of 3

    channel: rs1n

    He cuts the ribbon cable right off the top screen, using a knife or scissors. The system actually powers on!!

    This might be the method I will have to go with, since I have no idea where else to solder the resistor to.

    edit: HE SLIMS DOWN THE RIBBON CABLE! The cable is less than half as wide after he's through with it.
     
  15. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    You can use a multimeter or continuity tester to trace the two contact on the board to connect. One line is really only needed to be found -- the line that tests for a constant 'on' signal. The other is just a power line so any 3.3v or 5v line on the motherboard will work with the right resistor value according to which you choose.
     
    zeello likes this.
  16. zeello
    OP

    Member zeello The reason we can't have nice things.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Which would you recommend, a multimeter or continuity tester? (if there is a difference) Looks like I'll be making a trip to Radio Shack....

    To be honest I have no idea how this works. Would the battery need to be inserted into the system in order to begin testing for points?
     
  17. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    A multimeter will come in handy in many situations but a continuity tester will be sufficient for this. A continuity tester can be easily homemade if you want to save money. All you need is 2 pieces of semi-rigid wire (probes), a 3v watch battery (like a cr2032, cr3032, etc.), an led or very low watt battery and some tape.

    First test the led and battery by putting the legs around the battery (try both ways) and if it lights you are good to go. Tape the leg on the positive side of the battery.

    Make it like:
    [Tape this -------------------------------------- to this together tight] [twist wire 2 and led leg together and tape tight]
    Wire on positive side -> battery -> led or lightbulb with negative leg connected -> wire 2 connected to positive side of led or lightbulb

    If the led has long legs then you can omit wire 2 and use the positive leg as a probe. Touch the probes together and if the led/bulb lights up you have successfully built a continuity tester. If not then you probably have the led/bulb backwards or have a bad connection with the wires.

    Now you just need to touch one of the 2 wires in the cable that you want to trace and poke around at the golden pads (or holes with metal surrounding them - vias) until the led lights up and then mark it. Repeat again for the other wire. Double check the connections to make sure they are the right wires and pads. Then solder in the resistor to those two points.

    The battery on the DSi doesn't need to be connected.
     
    zeello likes this.

Share This Page