LAH Wii, IOS's, Downgrading, Boot 2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jackdanielchan, Jul 16, 2009.

Jul 16, 2009
  1. jackdanielchan
    OP

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    Well as said in the title, my Wii died a week ago, and I bought a new Wii, the barcode said LAH***(*other numbers), I heard that LAH Wii's, are the Australian equivelant to a LU64 Wii, I believe this is true but can somebody please correct me on this... I have installed Homebrew Channel, downgraded IOS35, installed IOS35-64-v1040, and installed Bootmii as an IOS. Is there any possible way for me to be able to install Preloader, downgrade, and install Bootmii as Boot 2, I really don't want to do anything more to my Wii, because I can't backup my Wii's NAND using Bootmii as an IOS (No GC controllers...).
     
  2. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    No, I have an LAH110 Wii, and it's fully hackable, apart from BootMii/boot2
     
  3. jackdanielchan
    OP

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    Help please....
     
  4. jackdanielchan
    OP

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    Okay, but I heard you can't downgrade anything, is this correct?
     
  5. supermodchips

    Member supermodchips GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont believe so but with the bannerbomb exploit and such, there are not many features that you cannot use.
     
  6. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Going by serial numbers isn't reliable at all to know what is an LU64 type Wii and what isn't. If you bought a new Wii this year, then treat it like an LU64 Wii regardless and don't do anything like that downgrading IOS35 you already seem to have done. If you bought one this year and downgrading something worked for you, good for you, but you basically just needlessly risked disabling your IOS35 or whatever you downgraded first possibly without any means of recovering it.

    After downgrading IOS35 were you able to use IOS35 to install cios rev13a or something? If you were able to do that, then you most likely don't have an LU64+ type Wii. If you do have an LU64+ type Wii, you most likely just killed IOS35.

    If the hackmii installer told you you can't install bootmii to boot2 and can only install as an IOS, then nothing you do will change that. That Wii cannot install bootmii to boot2 no matter what you do, downgrade or not.

    I think you should at least still be able to install preloader by using the Trucha Bug Restorer to downgrade IOS15, then use IOS15 to install an IOS36 with the trucha bug to IOS36 then restore IOS15.

    Then you should be able to install preloader. And if the IOS35 didn't work to install cIOS then if you do the above with the Trucha Bug Restorer, try running the cios rev13a installer again and use IOS36 this time and it should work. Apart from that there really isn't much anything else you should NEED to do to your Wii. The cIOS will be enough to run most anything you would need and preloader will give you enough brick protection from bad wad's and such. Any other brick can be avoided by not doing anything stupid.

    You should have just used the trucha bug restorer to begin with instead of trying to downgrade IOS35. Downgrading that is no longer required and using the trucha bug restorer is an easier and safer process anyways.
     
  7. Fat Cow

    Member Fat Cow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    can you explain why is it safe to downgrade ios15 on lu64+? and why the need to restore it after?
     
  8. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not exactly sure on how it works myself, so no I can't really explain it. WiiPower could probably tell you better, but it has been tested to work on LU64 Wii's fine.

    Here's a quote from the thread discussion on it:

     
  9. $uPeRJjS&#0

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    A bit off topic sorry, but does boot2v3 act the same as Lu64 or boot2v4 what are the differences and does downgrading brick those type of wiis?
     

Share This Page