Lack Of Emulator Updates?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Hansuke, Mar 20, 2009.

Mar 20, 2009

Lack Of Emulator Updates? by Hansuke at 7:25 PM (2,502 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Hansuke
    OP

    Newcomer Hansuke Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know why there has been a lack of updates with the DS emulators? It is just kinda wierd... Cause I mean it has been months and months since No$GBA has made an update or any other of the programs. Has Nintendo stepped in to try to stop them? Anyone have a clue what is going on?
     
  2. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, NO$Gba is pretty much finished as far as I'm concerned (unless you're a perfectionist and want the ability to close the DS, or resize the screens). 2.6a is what I use to test roms when they're released, and I haven't had any problems so far, all have played just fine.
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Don't have a clue, but if Nintendo stopped them, we would probably know now.
    But some of the emulators are just already very good, and don't need updates anymore (or the developer just doesn't want to perfect those tiny little problems)
    I'm thinking of Lameboy and nesDS, those are almost perfect.
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    yoshi's island ds can't be played 100% without cheats
    theres a wall that should be breakable, but in No$GBA it isn't

    Of course this is only one game of the so many available
     
  5. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    The guy behind no$gba went MIA, nobody's heard from him in months, that's why no$gba no longer gets updates. As far as I know iDeaS is still getting updates fairly frequently (last one was just over a week ago), and DeSmuME got one last month, too. So as far as DS emulators not getting updates, I have no idea what you're talking about.
     
  6. naveedy

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States
    I just really really really wish, someone would start updateing the snes emulators. They are not good enough at all. So many graphical bugs, and not very much compatibility. Snemulds was a great start. I would really hope that it is continued! I mean the DSI just came out I am sure we can do some new stuff with emulators now that the DSi is comming out!
     
  7. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Well he kind of has a point but in a different direction and I'm sure I'll get chewed out for it. No$ is fairly well complete, but likely dead. The other two big ones they seem to get betas every few weeks or whatever, and while they patch up a few things they still don't seem to much improve as if there's just some missing data out there that's needed. Also perhaps it's programming language or the plugins (both?) but the two active ones going are slow, even on the fastest of PCs while NO$ runs silky smooth.
     
  8. Mr.Mister

    Member Mr.Mister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm still pissed Archiede hasn't updated SnEmulDS in AGES. Hell I know co-porcessor chips would be tough to emulate but damn I know the Core SNES could still be emulated a hell of a lot better.

    GET ON IT ARCHIEDE.
     
  9. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    When trying to play Hotel Dusk on No$GBA, No$GBA displays a few error messages and closes anytime you walk through the hotel, making it unplayable.
     
  10. DBMONK

    Member DBMONK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you make a good point.... i dont really keep up with the emulator as much any more but my bro did say something about most new games being a bit "buggy" in his words XD [​IMG]
     
  11. naveedy

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States

    i THINK would be his slave if he would do some work on it. jesus.
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    If I was Archeide this post alone would be enough reason to never touch the source code again. Just putting that out there.
     
  13. Mr.Mister

    Member Mr.Mister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously Dan and Naveedy, there's so many graphical glitches in SNES games. I can't even play Kirby's Dream Course without having to rearrange layers. Plus some SRAM issues lock up my DS from time to time, such as Super Metroid.

    I'm just saying that Archiede has done a great job, but WE ALL know he could do better.
     
  14. naveedy

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States
    I think we need to do some kinda fund raiser or donation, to get Archiede to work on the emulator.


    He has a lot of work to do. I would do anything for him, Hell, I would pay money for the emulator to buy it

    Posts merged

    I think we need to do some kinda fund raiser or donation, to get Archiede to work on the emulator.


    He has a lot of work to do. I would do anything for him, Hell, I would pay money for the emulator to buy it
     
  15. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You guys realise this thread is about DS emulators, not emulators on DS, right?
     
  16. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Totally agree with you DanTheManMS, That post alone is a fucking insult. If you want something done do it yourself you lazy bitches. Don't bitch at us programmers when we've lost interest in a project and provide source code.
     
  17. wolfmanz51

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    well i agree that thats a insult but the latest source is most certainly not available I've requested the source for beta 6 no luck. his bounty source page is even down right now
     
  18. naveedy

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States
    Can we atleast get source code from him damn
     
  19. wildfire95

    Member wildfire95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm..
    Well, if you want reliability at the most.. make your own emulator.
    Its harder to do then you think [​IMG]

    You have to remember that people who make homebrew, and make emulators have a life as well as us ^^
     

Share This Page