Kernel 2.0 RC2 (6-29)

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Sergio619, Jun 29, 2009.

Jun 29, 2009

Kernel 2.0 RC2 (6-29) by Sergio619 at 1:22 PM (5,857 Views / 0 Likes) 54 replies

  1. Sergio619
    OP

    Newcomer Sergio619 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Spain
    Available on Chinese Forum and firmware update v9 for EZVi

    Nice Work [​IMG]



     


  2. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks a lot for the nfo man [​IMG]
     
  3. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I haven't been keeping up with the 2.0 stuff (didn't even bother trying it yet); does it have real-time save or in-game guide yet, or should I stick with the old betas?
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Copy of the newspost:
    [​IMG] EZ5 kernel 2.0 rc2 29th June 2009 and EZ5i update
    returning features and bugfixes
    [​IMG]

    The EZTeam have released kernel 2.0 for the EZ5 (all versions) and a updated firmware for the EZ5i (more on the below), this is mainly a bugfix release albeit some major ones but it does see the return of delete, copy and move file features to the loader.




    [​IMG]Games fixed in EZ5 kernel 2.0 rc2 (anti piracy checks)
    [​IMG]DS #3872: Tago Akira no Atama no Taisou Dai 2 Shuu - Ginga Oudan Nazotoki Adventure (Japan)
    [​IMG]DS #3873: Tomodachi Collection (Japan)
    [​IMG]DS #3874: Tago Akira no Atama no Taisou Dai 1 Shuu (Japan)


    EZ5i firmware update
    The EZTeam also released an updated firmware (also known as the core loader, internal firmware and similar names) for the EZ5i bringing it up to v8, this aims to fix problems some users with the 2.0 kernels.
    Simply download the file, place it on the root of the memory card you are using and launch it from the loader before following the on screen instructions.
    The EZTeam recommend that the DS is fully charged at least, plugged into the wall is better.
    Users of older EZ5 models please ignore this.



    [​IMG]EZFlash.cn thread (Chinese)
    [​IMG]EZFlash US forums thread
    [​IMG]GBAtemp download (2.0 rc2 kernel)
    [​IMG]GBAtemp download (v8 EZ5i firmware (only for EZ5i))
    [​IMG]Discuss

    No cheats are included in the downloads but you can grab cheats from the GBAtemp cheat database.
    If you are new to this you want the ??_??_??_USRCHEAT.DAT.zip (the ?? changes with date) and once you have it extract the USRCHEAT.DAT file from the zip into the EZ5Shell folder.



    Thanks to Sergio619 for the news.
     
  5. 9600pro

    Newcomer 9600pro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Italy
    Moonshell 2.02 stable now work good. Boot time is even better. This is kernel is good.
     
  6. Rens`

    Newcomer Rens` Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    When I want to update my firmware, the EZVi says my card doesn't need an update while I never updated it before. How come?
     
  7. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    as mentioned from the chinese forum
    not all CARDS need to update their firmware

    your card is just one of those
     
  8. Rens`

    Newcomer Rens` Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oo thank you, I guess that makes things clear ^^
     
  9. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    according to the site

    some of the EZVi might have problem loading commercial games [​IMG]
    they will release another update by this week
     
  10. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    What the fuck.. they are saying it now?

    I was fucking breaking my ds(opened the housing 3 times since yesterday...), because i had other issues with it I thought it might be an issue with my DS.

    anyways at least they finally said it.

    Seriously, I expected more from the EZ-Vi..
    Game booting time is soo long, menu lags like hell, freezes every now and then..
     
  11. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    Nice update for the Vi, didn't need to use the upgrade and it seems the games I was having problems with are working now.
     
  12. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    1. Fixed Ez5i with certain SD cards (see also the firmware update below) => was Kingston 2GB one of them?

    By the way, my EZ boots up fine, not as laggy as before but I still cant load any commercial games. Freeze and White/Black screen.
     
  13. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks for the news on the portal FAST6191. [​IMG]

    Is anybody have always the freezing bug with this one ?
     
  14. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    I have yet to experience any loading errors with my Vi on these new firmwares and kernel updates yet I see a lot of complaints, where did you order yours from because I am thinking that those who are having load issues have either faulty or fake cards. My first Vi bricked and stopped loading completely so it would not at all surprise me if there are other cards with other bugs in them, it's a 20 dollar flash card after all [​IMG]
     
  15. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks DSgamer64, for your feedback. I appreciate this rather than free complain, if you know what i mean. [​IMG]

    Ok. If any EVi users are impacted by this bug, just let me know here.
     
  16. Lupigen

    Newcomer Lupigen Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
     
  17. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I'll just wait for next week's update before buying the simple edition EZ Flash Vi. Im glad they're fixing some of the issues but I can see a lot more issues for this card. Though, I'll wait for more updates before complaining
     
  18. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Normally the fixed k2.0 RC2 will be public released this week.

    @Lupigen : read your pm please.
     
  19. 9600pro

    Newcomer 9600pro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Italy
    RC3 and Firmware V9 are released. I think is a fix for some user with boot problem.
     
  20. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    1. Fixed Ez5i with certain SD cards (see also the firmware update below) => Not fixed for me. I have been trying to get it to work.. I used panasonic SD formatter and formatted the Kingston 2GB, but it still didnt work.
    After reading that yesterday I was skeptical and tried with my Sandisk 2GB, works flawlasly. Works really nice... no hang/freeze so far.

    My kingston 2GB is fine, as its working perfectly on the EDGE. So I gues kingston 2GB doesnt work on Ez-Vi? Anyone else having probs with kingston 2gb, japan?
     

Share This Page